Welcoming November with Recipes!

Well, it’s officially November! I say this pretty much all the time, but it’s hard to believe how quickly time flies! Next thing you know, CHRISTMAS will be here! πŸ˜€ But I know some of you don’t like to talk about Christmas until after Thanksgiving so I will do my best to restrain myself. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, to welcome the chillier months, I thought I’d share a couple of things I’ve been cooking lately!

veggie soup

veggie soupThis is my mom’s vegetable soup recipe! It’s a great base recipe that is meant for adjustment. Veggie soup is all about using up whatever vegetables you happen to have on hand. So this time around, I used carrots, peas, sweet potatoes, and lima beans because that’s what I had. Also, I’m not one who has to have meat in my veggie soup, but Christopher loves it so I cooked up the rest of a half pound of ground beef that I had leftover and put it in this soup. But again, super adaptable – use stew meat or ground beef or none! πŸ™‚

pork and rice (4)

pork and riceI had to ask my mom about the history of this recipe because I’ve never heard of it outside our family. Here’s what she had to say, “[Pork and rice is] something mother concocted when I was growing up. It was a way for a cheaper piece of meat to go further when feeding the family. Rice has always been pretty cheap too. After all, Daddy was a barber in the 60’s when men/boys began to ‘let their hair hang down.’ The late 60s and 70s were a lean time in our family.” So since my mom grew up eating it, she made it for us when we were growing up too. Truly comfort food at its finest. Our first year of marriage, we probably ate this nearly once a week just because it really is such an inexpensive meal (and so good!). We don’t eat it as often now, but every time I make it, there is an audible sigh of joy with my first bite (much like with chicken ‘n dumplin’s).

momma billie and daddy kenA shot of my mom’s parents in the mid 1970s. Aren’t they a handsome couple? πŸ™‚

double banana bread (2)

double banana breadI got this recipe from Christina over at Hungry Meets Healthy. I tweaked it just a little (more vanilla and cinnamon, less sugar), so for the original recipe go here! This bread is absolutely delightful! Fresh from the oven with a little melted butter… delightful!

Typing up this post is making me all kinds of hungry for comfort food. We had chicken ‘n dumplin’s earlier this week and it was THE BEST. I love to cook and try new things, but there’s nothing like those tried and true favorite family recipes. πŸ™‚
Love Rach

25 responses to “Welcoming November with Recipes!

  1. ALWAYS add more vanilla and cinnamon! I do this too! I am sooo excited now for Thanksgiving, but yes..please wait until after for the Christmas talk!! HA! Starbucks already had their Christmas cups and decorations (hidden from the public of course) but I was like OH MY ! So soon!

    • Yes!! I love vanilla and cinnamon so I pretty much always double it in recipes, haha! And garlic too. I probably triple garlic ’cause it’s so delicious. πŸ˜€

      I will try my hardest to not be obnoxious with my Christmas love until after Thanksgiving. I love both holidays, I just love Christmas decor more. It’s like a magical time for me. πŸ˜€

  2. Your recipes always look and sound so good, and I love how you incorporate family stories. I never thought about hard times for barbers. Very interesting.

    • I wouldn’t have thought about it either. I’m glad my mom mentioned it when I asked about the recipe. It’s just such a strange sounding recipe to anyone who hasn’t grown up with it that I knew there had to be some sort of story behind it. πŸ™‚

  3. Yum!! These all look delicious! This banana bread recipe looks a lot like the muffin recipe I just posted. So good!!

  4. all of those look so tasty! yum yum!

  5. I’ve been wanting a really good vegetable soup recipe, so I’ll have to try this one for sure! Such a great picture of your parents!

  6. These recipes look really great and are making me hungry! πŸ™‚

  7. Love soup recipes, they definitely are a great way to have an awesome comforting meal and use up ingredients left in the kitchen!!

    • Sooo true! I am all about using up all the leftover veggies! I remember when we were growing up that whatever random bit of peas or green beans or carrots or etc were leftover after a meal, she would put it in a Ziplock in the freezer. Even if it was only a few spoonfulls, she’d add it to that bag until the bag was all the way full. Then the whole big of frozen veggies would go in a pot and VIOLA! We would have soup. No waste! πŸ™‚

  8. Oh man, these all sound REALLY good! I might have to give them a try!

  9. Mmm, comfort food! And your parents are a very attractive couple!

    • My parents are an attractive couple, but that’s actually my mom’s parents. πŸ˜‰ She looks just like her mom, though, so an easy mistake! It doesn’t help that I was talking about both my mom and my grandmother in the same paragraph. Sorry to be confusing! πŸ™‚

  10. These all look so good! And such a sweet story about the pork πŸ™‚

  11. I can’t wait to make soups and stews!

  12. Pingback: 13 of the Best Freezer Meals |

  13. Pingback: 18 Favorite Go-To Healthy Recipes |

  14. Pingback: The Nesting… |

Leave a Reply

