Martha vs. Ree

In searching for the best meatball recipe, I pitted Martha Stewart and Ree Drummond against each other. I have friends who claim Martha has the best meatball recipe, but I love the Pioneer Woman and just knew her recipe had to be delicious as well. So I made them both to find out for myself! 🙂

martha stewart meatballs

martha stewart's meatballs{The original recipe can be found here}

pioneer woman's meatballs

pioneer woman's comfort meatballs{the original recipe can be found here}

So what was my conclusion? Without question, I liked Ree’s recipe better. Martha’s were delicious and easy to make, but the Pioneer Woman just knows what’s up when it comes to comfort food. I took the PW’s meatballs to a dinner with friends and they were gone in a heartbeat. They are just that good. 🙂

Totally unrelated to this post about delicious food…

20131102_101338On Saturday we got back from running errands and I noticed that my flower bed was in desperate need of weeding. Instead of changing into yard work clothes like a normal person, I just walked over and started pulling weeds while wearing my cute boots and scarf. Christopher thought that was pretty hilarious so he snapped this shot of me on his cellphone which I am now naturally sharing with you guys. 🙂 By the way, it’s November and I still have three gerbera daisies blooming! I love it! 😀

As another aside, Christopher just told me that there is a $5 Groupon for a $10 Starbucks card!

starbucksThis is like gold for us. 😀 Unfortunately there is a limit to only 1 per person, but still! So click here and type “Starbucks” and for the next two days it should show up. Buy yourself that giftcard (or you can buy it for me, that’s fine too 😉 ) and think fondly of me as you enjoy your Starbucks! 🙂

Love Rach

39 responses to “Martha vs. Ree

  1. Comparing recipes is such a cool idea! And I was totally rooting for the Pioneer Woman, so I’m glad her meatballs won haha. And thanks for alerting me to the Starbucks card groupon! I’ll have to see if it’s available in my area!

  2. I love the PW’s meatballs and based on this comparison, I’ll stick with them rather than trying Martha’s. Not that Martha’s are bad…it’s just, you know, if it’s not broke, why fix it?

  3. girl meatballs….YUM. the PW’s meatballs just looked more tasty than marthas haha.

  4. Thanks for sharing that deal!! I went and bought one right away–loving my peppermint white mochas. 🙂

  5. Love that you compared the recipes! You need to read this article: http://www.slate.com/articles/life/food/2010/04/the_pioneer_woman_vs_thomas_keller.html

    And I love those PW meatballs! They’re a staple in our home 🙂

    • Oh wow, that article is really interesting. I fully expected it to be all about singing the Pioneer Woman’s praises, haha! But I understand what the author means. Other recipes might be more involved and elegant and delightful, but when it comes to comfort food, we like what we’re used to. And if it’s easier to make and get on the table then it’s all the better. 🙂 Also, I’m glad you’ve had Ree’s meatballs. You know just how good they are! That article kind of makes me wonder if Thomas Keller has a meatball recipe…

  6. Good idea to compare them! They both look good but the PW’s looks amazing! Yum! Now you’ve made me hungry…

  7. You are so so cute!!! Love that you made those meatballs!!!

  8. Of course PW won! I wouldn’t have thought it would end any other way. 😉

  9. I have not tried either recipe (I use my grandmother’s), but I will definitely put these on the list.

    My begonias lasted the longest. Sadly, we’ve gotten some pretty cold weather this last week (29 degrees on Monday), so everything is wilted and brown. Such a bummer.

    • Oooh… is your grandmother’s recipe a secret?? It’s totally okay if it is, but if not, I’d love to try it out! I love old family recipes. 🙂

      Sad day about all the cold weather! High 30’s is the lowest we’ve gotten here (mostly we’re still in the 40’s/50’s). On the bright side, at least it’s the time of year when all the leaves are so pretty! 🙂

  10. Yum! I’ll have to check out Ree’s recipe. Looks delish. I’m hosting a handbag giveaway on the blog today. If you get a sec, I’d love if you could enter. 🙂 Thanks, love. xo

    http://www.fashboulevard.com

  11. Ree’s recipe looks SO good! I definitely would like to try it with maybe ground turkey instead of ground beef. 🙂

  12. I had meatballs this week too! Only I went lazy route and bought the spicy pre-made ones at Whole Foods that I’m kinda obsessed w/ thanks so whatever smokey sauce they use in there haha. Both these recipes look great, I would have devoured them too! 🙂

  13. I LOVE that you got down and dirty in the garden with no second thoughts to what you were wearing. You are too cute. I have only seen one person come in when I was working with that Groupon deal..WHAT’S UP WITH THAT!?!?! Get on it people! It’s like free GOLD!

  14. The PW meatballs are soooo good!! I love them!

  15. yum!! i should make those – my husband would love them!

  16. I love the you did a comparison of the two meatballs! I totally trust both Martha & PW recipes, but it’s nice to know which one is better 😉

    I love the picture of you weeding your garden, haha!! You’re so lucky your flowers are alive. That’s awesome!

  17. i still say my italian mama makes the best ones. i think every italian girl says that! haha. i would probably like martha’s better because i don’t really like other kinds of meatballs, but i know PW’s version is the better choice to serve at a party. those always go fast!

  18. Man, if I lived near you, I would be TOTALLY up for “testing” out your cooking “experiments.” 😛

  19. Yeah…I like some of Martha Stewart’s recipes, but they don’t qualify as soul food to me!

  20. Pingback: 13 of the Best Freezer Meals |

Leave a Reply

