Young Avenue Deli

We have heard so much hype about Young Avenue Deli from Memphians so Christopher and I decided to check it out for ourselves.

young ave deliYoung Avenue Deli in Midtown

young ave deliDecor inside. Very Midtown-esque.

young ave deliYou get to bring your cups home. πŸ™‚

young ave deli fried picklesWe started with an appetizer of fried pickles because weΒ loveΒ fried pickles. However, we didn’t love these. The batter was SO thick that it was like eating major fried batter with a little pickle inside. They were heavy and greasy. Not something either of us would order again.

young ave deli sam i amWe ordered the Sam I Am pita which is turkey, bacon, bbq sauce, and gouda cheese. We had heard rave reviews about it. To be honest, it was okay. The pita was a little soggy, but the flavors were good. I wouldn’t order it again. We were definitely disappointed by this one since we’d heard such great things about it.

young ave deli philly cheesesteakWe also ordered the Philly Cheesesteak (we split both of the sandwiches so we could try them both). It was much better than the Sam I Am, but still not spectacular.

young ave deli friesTheir fries claim to be “award winning” and they really were delicious. Some of the better fries I’ve had here in Memphis.

Over all, the food wasn’t spectacular. If a friend wanted to meet there for a meal, I’d still go. It wasn’t terrible. I just think Memphis has many better things to offer. We did love the Midtown vibe. We ate on the patio and a guy we knew happened to be jogging by so he stopped and chatted with us for a bit. We enjoyed watching the hipster scene and seeing all the college students milling about. There was a bar crawl happening while we were there, but it didn’t affect our service. I’ve heard lots of complaints about the service at Young Ave, but we actually had great service so that’s a big bonus. πŸ™‚

Young Avenue Deli on Urbanspoon

Love Rach

17 responses to “Young Avenue Deli

  1. Sad that you didn’t like it! Greasy food doesn’t sound too appealing. The pictures are fabulous though!

  2. You write great reviews! Really honest evaluations. Glad the fries lived up to their award winning status. Yum!

  3. Yum! I’m glad that things went well despite the bad reviews… I am always so happy when that happens!

  4. YUM! This looks delicious…you can’t go wrong with fried pickles!!

  5. I always love reading your reviews!! I hope that someday, I’ll get to try out some of your favorite restaurants for myself! πŸ™‚

  6. That deli looks good espcially those fries! I love that you get to take your cup home. πŸ™‚

  7. It’s lunch time and I’m hungry so this looks and sounds really good – soggy pita and all!

  8. I absolutely love the fried pickles here. They are the first I ever tried and so far no one has topped them.
    The service is always good, but not always friendly. It’s kind of a gimmick they offer.
    That being said, the pickles were brought to our tbleaccidently during trivia one night.
    We decided to try them since no one with me had had them before.
    About 15 minutes after they were completely devoured our waitress came over . She berated us for eating them, and informed us we would be charged for the appetizer.
    We laughed at the attitude and ordered more.
    Still one of my favorite places. =)

  9. Pingback: Bayou Bar and Grill |

Leave a Reply

