A few things I’m excited about

Last night after devo and dinner with our teens, we hurried home to greet out-of-town friends who would be staying with us. Doug and Debbie (who I’ve blogged about before here) mean the world to Christopher and I. So anytime they are in Memphis, we LOVE getting to see them and having them stay with us!Β They came with their best friends Charles and Mitzi who brought their son, Sean, along as well. Sean was in the youth group that I worked with when I was an intern and it was so cool to see the young man he has grown into (literally grown… he’s like 6’6 haha). Also, he couldn’t say enough nice things about our house and how amazing he thought it was so that definitely won him some serious bonus points. πŸ˜‰

doug and debbieUs with Doug and Debbie from earlier this summer. We just love them! So glad we got to see them and catch up! πŸ™‚

Something else I’m pretty stoked about… I got retweeted by Swanky’s!

swanky's retweetI don’t use Twitter much (aka mostly it just auto-tweets when I update the blog haha) so I was pretty surprised when I got an email telling me that I’d been retweeted. I was probably more excited about it than necessary. πŸ˜›

christopher concreteSome of you probably saw this on Instagram over the weekend, but I am SUPER excited that we are finally getting around to this project. In this shot my sweet husband is laying concrete in one of the bonus rooms in our house. πŸ˜€Β I need to do a full blog post on it at some point to fill you guys in.

I am also kind of amazed about the fact that I can put an entire chicken in my slow cooker, add some fresh herbs and lemon, toss in some potatoes, turn it on low, and come home to a delicious dinner.

lemon romsemary chicken and potatoes

rosemary lemon chicken
I know it’s not the prettiest looking chicken because it was cooked in the slow cooker the whole time. You could pop it in the oven for a few minutes on broil to crisp up and brown the skin a bit before serving to give it more eye appeal. I couldn’t believe how simple it was to cook an entire chicken. I felt pretty accomplished, haha!

Happy Thursday, friends!
Love Rach

29 responses to “A few things I’m excited about

  1. I hate touching raw chicken so the fact that it can be tossed in a slow cooker straight from the butcher packaging is ideal to me! I’ve done the whole chicken with lemon and rosemary recently too! I want to try a spicy chicken at some point with some chile peppers and seasonings.

    Then the best part of a whole chicken is leftovers for homemade soup or wraps or anything!

    That’s great that you got to catch up with your friends! And I’m excited to hear about the bonus room.

    • I’m with you! I hate touching raw chicken so I love being able to toss it in the slow cooker! The less I have to handle it, the better. πŸ™‚ And yes, the leftovers are great too. We normally just do sandwiches, but soups and wraps are great ideas too! I’ll need to try that next time. πŸ™‚

  2. i’ve never actually cooked a whole chicken. i would totally do it your way! ummm i am still dying to know the status of your tummy if you know what i mean… i am convinced it’s happening. xoxo

  3. I get pretty excited when I get special retweets or favorites. One of my favorite broadways stars favorited a tweet I did about him and it pretty much made my life.

  4. My husband’s favorite thing is doing a whole chicken in the slow cooker! It’s so easy and sooo good! πŸ™‚ I’M excited about reading your blog because it’s been awhile, and I miss catching up with all of my blog-friends! I really want to know what you’re doing with your bonus room, too….I love watching (but not necessarily DOING) home improvement projects!

  5. Wow to that dinner! It is beautiful and looks delicious! Definitely going to have to try that one!! And yes…we want to know more about your house project!

  6. I want to try this chicken! Yes, please do a post on the rooms! We need to see before and after pics!

  7. loving all the updates–how fun!! and that dish looks delish!

  8. That is awesome that they retweeted you!! I get so excited when things like that happen on Twitter! I’m such a nerd πŸ˜‰

  9. Slow cooker chicken w/ lemon and rosemary is one of my favorrrrrite things, so incredibly easy and so so good!!!

  10. You are seriously the cutest I know! I just love your posts…you exude so much JOY for the small and large things in life! I too wish you could come over so we could share clothes and just be together!!! Love Katie

    • Oh goodness, you say that, but wait until you see my most recent post where I out myself as a completely ridiculous. πŸ˜› Seriously though, we would have the best time hanging out and sharing clothes and all of that good stuff. πŸ™‚

  11. That chicken looks so good!

  12. I LOVE when a company tweets me like that! That’s the best about Twitter…you can potentially get in contact with ANYONE. Good luck with the room update!

  13. SO exciting that Swanky’s tweeted you!! Way to go, girl! And that chicken looks amazing! The slow cooker is the best way to cook chicken, in my opinion πŸ™‚

  14. Pingback: Bonus Room Renovation |

Leave a Reply

