Christopher’s Birthday Recap

You guys, I am so behind in blogging about pretty much everything, haha! It’s just that time of year when everything is SO busy! So the next couple of posts will be a smorgasbord of fun. πŸ™‚

Yesterday was Christopher’s birthday so I thought I’d start by filling you in on all the birthday fun! We both worked yesterday and over lunch Christopher was actually out delivering gifts to children who wouldn’t have gifts otherwise. I just love that he volunteered to do that on his birthday. That’s just how he is. He came home with some sweet stories. We “adopted a kid for Christmas” through our church and have had a lot of fun filling up the tote with toys and clothes for him, but we won’t get to see him open his gifts so it was cool that Christopher got to be there to see the kids open their presents. Since he gave up his lunch hour, I swung by Lenny’s to buy him a sweet tea (it’s his favorite sweet tea!) and left it for him at work.

lennysWhen he got back to work he texted me this picture and said: ‘This should say “I heart Rach.” Thank you so much sweetie! You are such a blessing and the best friend anyone could hope for.’ I just love him. πŸ™‚

DSC_0514My parents and nephew were in town Thursday and Friday last week so on Friday night we celebrated Christopher’s birthday during our Christmas celebration with my mom’s side of the family. Check out all the food everyone brought! I made a couple of things, but most importantly I brought the meatballs that are so popular among my friends (Whitney calls them “Rach’s Magical Meatballs”).

slow cooker meatballsSlow Cooker Meatballs: Β 18oz grape jelly whisked together with 18oz bbq sauce and then poured over frozen meatballs in slow cooker. Cook on high for 3-4 hours or low for 6. Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

DSC_0534My grandfather has always been such a good example of what being a servant looks like. Despite being raised in a time when women were expected to be the ones busy in the kitchen, I’ve never seen him step away from cleaning up after a meal. I never thought about it when I was growing up, but as an adult, I’m thankful for the example he set for me.

I’m not sure how this tradition began, but my family never singsΒ “Happy Birthday” in a normal way. Sometimes it’s as loud and offkey as possible, sometimes we make animal sounds, sometimes we sing it in languages we don’t know. It’s certainly a unique tradition. πŸ˜‰ That evening was no different. Christopher requested a Gregorian chant so that’s exactly what he got. πŸ˜‰ By the way, please enjoy Wesley “playing” the piano in the background of this video, haha!

red lobsterLast Saturday night we went to Red Lobster with Brodie and Lyndal to celebrate both Christopher’s and Brodie’s birthdays. They are both December babies so we were excited to celebrate together. By the way, Red Lobster’s food is good and all, but their biscuits are ah-mazing! Β πŸ™‚

So by last night Christopher felt pretty well celebrated (especially since we will celebrate his birthday two more times with family in the next week). He’s an introvert at heart so his two wishes were for a steak dinner out and an evening at home. So we went out and ate delicious steaks and came home and had a great night in just snuggling together and being totally non productive. I’m not sure about you guys, but it’s hard for us to set aside all the things that need to be done (especially this time of year!) and just chill. So it was a great night in. πŸ™‚

Love Rach

23 responses to “Christopher’s Birthday Recap

  1. I love how compassionate and generous your husband is! You are a lucky lady!

  2. So much fun in one little post. πŸ™‚ Glad your husband felt so celebrated and how sweet of him to be out serving others on his birthday. Love that! And I’ve always wanted to try those meatballs, now I definitely have to!

    • Oh girl, they are great. It’s hilarious because people ALWAYS want the recipe and are shocked when I tell them how simple it is. It’s almost embarrassing, haha! They aren’t PW’s or anything, but they also take a grand total of 5 minutes of actual work. πŸ˜‰

  3. Sounds like Christopher had a great birthday! The biscuits are really good at Red Lobster πŸ™‚

  4. I love so much about this. First, that he delivered presents during his lunch hour on his birthday. Second, that you brought him sweet tea. I love sweet tea too. Those meatballs look delicious. And the Red Lobster biscuits really are the best!

    It sounds like it was a birthday worthy of your sweet husband!

    • Aww, if you lived close by, I would’ve brought you sweet tea for our monthly friendiversary today! I don’t know if you guys have Lenny’s anywhere near you, but apparently their sweet tea is like sugar and it is his absolute favorite. So if you like it that sweet, you should totally give it a try!

  5. Sounds like absolutely fabulous birthday celebrations!!! πŸ™‚ Happy (belated) birthday to your love.

  6. Yay! Sounds like everyone had a great day!! πŸ˜€

  7. I can tell you watch a lot of Mickey Mouse, “easy peasy lemon squeezy!” Haha! Your family singing is so funny and great! I’m glad he had a good day!

  8. Pingback: Celebrating Christmas with Friends |

  9. Wow, I think it is so amazing that Christopher was giving out gifts on his birthday. He is one special guy! I am so glad his birthday was well celebrated, as he definitely deserves it!

    Also, those meatballs? YUM.

  10. Happy Belated Christopher!

  11. the happy birthday version cracked me up! i’m going to request my family start doing that. i’m still requesting that my bday be an entire month, and they still haven’t gotten that memo! πŸ˜‰

  12. You guys are so sweet for giving gifts to less privileged kids. And so nice of Christopher to deliver them on his birthday! Also, the Gregorian chant is HILARIOUS! I especially love the fun piano in the background of your serious song. Haha.

Leave a Reply

