Christmas at the Beach!

After a wonderful Christmas at my parents’ house we all headed down to Gulf Shores to celebrate with my dad’s side of the family.

gulf shores decemberGulf Shores in December. I love the beach in the summer, but it’s still beautiful even in the winter. And I especially love how free of people it is during the colder months. It’s lovely just to sit and bask in the sound of the ocean without hundreds of people surrounding you. πŸ™‚

bocce ball on the beachChristopher and I brought our bocce ball set and played a couple of rounds on the beach. I won the first and last rounds, but I won’t tell you how many he beat me at in between those wins. πŸ˜‰

holly kenzie meMy sister, Holly, and I with her daughter, Makenzie (my little lookalike!). Makenzie started cheesing for the camera so Holly and I attempted to mimic her moves resulting in this ridiculous photo to the right. πŸ˜‰

sisters and kenzieThings to notice in these photos: (1) the height difference between my sister, Holly, and I. (2) Holly trying to pull me closer to her which makes it look like she is attempting the Heimlich maneuver on me. (3) the adorableness of my niece. πŸ™‚

mom and sistersOkay, a normal shot now: my mom and two of my sisters. πŸ™‚

pepawΒ My grandfather, Pepaw, stylin’ with his Santa hat! πŸ™‚

dad's familyMy dad’s family (minus my oldest sister’s family and my brother’s family). 19 of 27 members present. πŸ™‚

shrimp boilEvery time our family gets together at the beach we always do a big shrimp boil! It’s SO delicious! Christopher and I look forward to it every time!

us with kenzieAs we were walking out the door to drive home, Makenzie asked for just one more picture with me and Uncle Christopher (anything to delay her favorite Uncle Christopher from leaving). She is such a cutie. πŸ™‚

us at the beachAnd I know I already shared this shot, but I love it so I’m sharing again. πŸ™‚

Love Rach

43 responses to “Christmas at the Beach!

  1. What a wonderful Christmas celebration!

  2. So fun! And that shrimp boil – yummm!

  3. Oh my goodness. This looks perfect. An empty beach, family, SHRIMP boil…so much goodness! I love the photo of you with two of your sisters and your mom.

  4. I can just feel the joy y’all have to be with one another and eat delicious food! Looks like a perfect trip and time after Christmas, as to forget it is even passed πŸ˜‰

  5. New Year blessings to you and your family. Looks like a wonderful celebration! Such sweet pictures. Peace. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. stopping by from Beka’s blog! (sunshine to the square inch) that looks like a fun (and delicious) Christmas! πŸ™‚ love your blog!

  7. Gorgeous beach pictures! You have such great photos to document your life. Love ❀

    • Thanks, Nikki! πŸ™‚ My mom was big into taking photos to document our life while we were in China (during my teen years) so I got used to taking photos any where we went. It’s just rolled over into daily life even if it’s not quite as unique as living in China anymore. πŸ˜‰

  8. Ahh, I love that your Christmas looks so warm! πŸ™‚ Christmas at the beach sounds pretty much perfect to me!

  9. What a beautiful and magical christmas!

  10. It sure looks like you all are having a GREAT start to the new year!
    Thanks for stopping by my little space.

    xoxo
    B’s

  11. The sky is so beautiful! You really are a natural at taking pictures! I thought you were sitting in your sisters lap. I had no idea y’all were standing up. How tall is she? I bet she is taller than me!

  12. Looks like you had a great Christmas with family! Those are the best moments πŸ™‚ Happy New Year!

  13. Love that last shot! Family time is the best!

  14. gorgeous photos of the ocean! the food looks great!

    lifeisashoe.blogspot.com

  15. gorgeous place! i’ve always wanted to visit there

  16. bocce ball for the win!!!
    and girl yes – the beach in the winter is fantastic. you’re actually able to fully enjoy the sounds and really reflect!
    your family looks like so much fun – and you can tell that y’all obviously love each other! ❀

  17. I love the idea of having Christmas at the beach! Lucky you! And I love that you do photo sessions with your family every time you visit with them! πŸ™‚

  18. Great photos of the beach and of your family! I think you should have your own TV show! I’d watch every episode!!

  19. Looks like a wonderful time!!! I love Bocce ball!!! Happy New Year to you sweet bella, I wish you blessing upon blessings this coming year. I have finally gotten back in the saddle and started posting again, woohoo! Amazing how life can side track us at times πŸ˜‰ stop by and visit anytime, and keep shining sweet bellas!

  20. I love boccee ball!! I’ve never played it on the beach before though…I feel like that could be even more fun. And I died laughing at the picture where your sister is giving you the heimlich. I never would have thought that until you said it haha.

    • Oooh it’s so much fun on the beach! When we meet up someday we will meet at a beach so we can play bocce ball together! πŸ™‚ And good! I’m glad I could give you a laugh for the day. That picture cracks me up too! πŸ™‚

  21. Oooohlala I love Shrimp/Crawfish boils!! Definitely looks like fun!

  22. I just love the skies in the first photo!! Breathtaking!!! And Makenzie sure does seem to love you both incredibly much!!!!

Leave a Reply

