Rach, the Photographer

I love to capture moments in time. To press the button and hear the shutter close and know that I just recorded a precious moment in history. Maybe not the most important moment in World history, but an important moment in someone’s life. I love how photos tell a story. Stories of friendships and family and love and new places and new life and passions and adventure and on and on. I just love them all. I never would have imagined that I would actually get to do this and get paid for it. It was always just a hobby that I loved. 

In November of 2012 I bought my very first DSLR camera. We were planning a trip to Italy the following year and I wanted to have a good idea of how to use my camera by then. So I started practicing and learning everything I could. It’s incredible how much you can learn from the internet (ps. I have a lot of great tutorials that have helped me pinned to my DSLR 101 board on Pinterest if you are interested)!

People began seeing photos I would post of the kids I nanny and started asking if I would take photos of them. (Remember my very first paid photoshoot with people I didn’t know? I was so stoked about that!) I was pretty shocked, but very honored. A bit incredulous that anyone would want to pay me for clicking a button. As my skill and confidence grew, my photo guru friend really encouraged me to stop selling myself short. Thanks to encouragement from him, from Christopher, and from my mom I decided in October to officially start a Facebook page and my very own business. 🙂

{if you’d like a link to the Facebook page let me know – it has my last name on it which is why I didn’t link it here}

Things sort of exploded after that. Mostly because it was the holiday season and people were wanting family photos for Christmas cards, but still, it was amazing! Christopher came with me on a couple of the shoots (especially the ones with kids) so he actually took some pictures of me in action on his cellphone that I had no idea he was taking at the time, haha!

rach photographerPhoto shoot with Brodie and Lyndal (photos coming soon!)

rach photographer1Showing Brodie and Lyndal the shot I got of them (I usually show a couple of the pictures to my clients  to be sure we are getting shots they love).

rach photographer2Photo shoot with my sister and her boyfriend (I shared those photos here).

rach photographer4Things you probably don’t think about when looking at a beautiful photograph of a couple: the strange way the photographer had to contort her body in order to get that shot. 😉

rach photographer5Yup, I’m standing over my sister’s boyfriend in order to get the perfect shot. Hey, sometimes when there isn’t a chair to stand on, you just have to improvise. Sure this was the first time he’d met me, but what better way to get acquainted? 😉

rach photographerThis was a fun photo shoot – three babies under 18 months all at once! We got some gorgeous shots (and some hilarious ones) that I’ll share with you guys in an upcoming post. 🙂

So in the coming weeks I’ll be sharing some of my favorite photos from shoots with you guys! I’m excited to share all the fun I’ve been having!
Love Rach

54 responses to “Rach, the Photographer

  1. GAH! I am SO proud of you Rach!!! This is seriously so inspiring!! Keep doing what you’re doing!!

  2. This is so exciting! YES I want the facebook link!

  3. Congrats my friend! Proud of you for chasing your dreams. 🙂 And can’t wait to see the 3 babies shoot! 🙂

  4. This is so fun and so exciting!!! I can’t wait to see more of your work. And I already like your facebook page…duh. Love what you are doing. 🙂

  5. Wow. Awesome!! Fun action shots too. I bet the baby pics are crazy cute!

  6. WOW! That’s amazing, Rachel! I cannot wait to see more of your photos, and I would love a link to your FB page. Congrats!!

  7. Starting your own business–what an amazing accomplishment! So many people are getting into photography these days (as evidenced on Facebook and Instagram), but…ahem…not everyone is very good at it. After looking through your photos, I would attest that YOU are the real deal. Doing fancy photos is a lot harder than it looks! I got a fancy camera about a year ago, but that doesn’t mean I know how to work the software that came with it…or that I know what I should take a picture of in the first place (at what camera angle, etc.). If I get a good picture, it is usually just by chance! But your photos are amazing EVERY time! 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Rachel! I have definitely learned a lot over the past year! If you ever need tips on anything, feel free to ask. I’m still learning myself, but I’m all about helping other photographers. 🙂 And really, my Pinterest is full of DSLR tutorials that have helped me a ton so feel free to browse those if they might help you out. 🙂

  8. Oh my gosh!! Wow!!! So excited for you!! Yes, please send me the FB page. I’d love to “like” it 🙂 !!

  9. I’m so glad you’ve made your passion your job. Looks like you love what you do-that’s the best!

  10. The passion you have for photography completely shines out of this blog post, as does your excitement. I am SO happy for you, and I know that this is JUST the beginning!! You are SO talented! 🙂

  11. This is so great! Congratulations! I can’t wait to see some of your photos!!

  12. You are amazing! I love the shots of you in action.
    I can’t wait to see more of your photo shoots.
    Hugs!

  13. I love the action shots!!! You are so good, friend. Keep up the excellent work – you have serious talent!

  14. I LOVE your photography (as you already know haha), so I think it’s so awesome that you have your own business now! And I never would have imagined the things you have to do to get a good shot; too funny! 🙂

    • Haha! It was hilarious for me to see these photos too! I know that I feel kind of ridiculous with some of the positions I have to put myself into to get the shot I want, but this officially confirms that I LOOK just as ridiculous as I feel. 😉 But hey, at least I get the shot, right?!

  15. This is so cool! Yay! And hehe—I lam loving the behind the scenes shots.

  16. This is just so awesome! Your photos are great. I got my first 35mm camera when I was sixteen and you are so right we will get into some unusual positions for a good shot! Congratulations on this becoming more than a hobby. I pray that the Lord bless you abundantly in this endeavor.

  17. It’s so great to read about your new business venture! How awesome!! Your photography skills are amazing, and you are so creative with different shots and angles!

    Love the picture of you standing over your sister’s boyfriend. That’s too funny!!

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement, Allie! I appreciate it so much! 🙂 And yeah, that shot of me standing over Dan cracks me up. He’s so shy and quiet so if there is ever anyone who I would make uncomfortable by doing that, it’s him! But hey! I got a great shot of them together and that’s what matters, right? 😉

  18. So happy to see your pursuing something you love so much 😀

  19. How exciting that you’re pursuing something you’re loving!!! I can’t wait to see some of the pictures you’re taking!!! 🙂

  20. What an exciting opportunity for you to pursue!!! Send me the link t your FB page, would love to see some of your work 🙂 Congrats girl!!

  21. Pingback: Twinkle Lights |

  22. What a freaking gorgeous post! Have you read Ayn Rand’s ‘Atlas Shrugged’? It was my total inspiration for taking ahold of my life and doing ONLY what I love… for fun, for work, for anything! I think we are so similar, especially after reading this! I own a dog walking / pet sitting / charm school company. In business just short of 2 years. Very fulfilling. Very fun. Very hard! Very personal. And btw, I bought a DSLR Nikon (something) in January 2011. And I’m still using it on automatic! Just started following your board on Pinterest, so perhaps I’ll learn a thing or two and better compliment my business and blog. Merci beaucoup, mademoiselle! 😉

  23. Congrats!!! Your pictures are so beautiful! I wish you lived near me because I would totally have you take pictures 🙂

  24. Love getting the behind the scenes view 🙂

  25. You are doing amazing girl, and you are only going to get better and better! So proud of you!

  26. All the best for your new endeavor Rach!! From all the photos I saw in your page, I’m so sure, you are gonna do GREAT!!!!

  27. I’m so very excited for you to start this journey! It’s so nice to have someone here in blog land that I know that is also persuing Photography. You are very talented and I enjoy seeing your work! Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

