Napoli Pizza {Taste of Italy}

Ever since we got back from Italy, Christopher and I have been working on perfecting a pizza like the ones we ate in Naples. We’ve had the recipe at the point we have it now since mid-September, but I’ve put off sharing it because it’s still notΒ exactly right. But since I shared the recipe with family over Christmas and it was a huge hit, I’ve decided to share it with you guys now. For purists, here’s what I think I’m lacking: We don’t have 00 flour so I used All Purpose. I think if I had 00 flour, the texture would be just slightly less chewy. Also, we don’t have a brick oven so we lack the charred bits on the dough that you get in Naples. But other than those two things – this recipe really is almost exactly what it was like in Italy! πŸ™‚

pizza dough recipe {taste of Italy}The pizzas on top were our make-your-own ones that we let family decorate. Some of them are more traditional than others (we didn’t have any pineapple pizza in Italy, haha!). The pizzas on the bottom are the two we ate from Trianon which was our favorite pizza in Italy. πŸ™‚

napoli pizza{click recipe to make it larger. Our starting point for this recipe was the Pizza Pilgrims’ recipe fond here}

pizza3My family decorating pizzas behind me while I’m about to put mine in! πŸ™‚

I knew the adults would like them, but I figured the kids wouldn’t like the pizzas since they are so different than American-style pizza, but they loved them and ate every bite! So a definite hit with my family! And when Christopher and I are missing Italy, these pizzas are a great little reminder of our time there. πŸ™‚
Love Rach

32 responses to “Napoli Pizza {Taste of Italy}

  1. We love pizza and make it at home all the time! Possibilities are endless!

  2. Delicious- can’t wait to try these! We’ve been craving pizza like crazy too!

  3. Yummy! I feel such POWER when I get to decorate my own pizza.

  4. Oh my goodness. I am so excited to try this. I ate the best pizza in Italy, and I never dreamed I could make it at home. Yours looks amazing, and I can’t wait to make it!

    • Well this was based on the pizza we ate in Naples. It’s not quite as cracker-thin as the pizza we had in Rome, but it’s thicker than we had in Milan. Haha! Hope that’s not too confusing. Either way, I hope you LOVE it! πŸ™‚

  5. I love making pizza with family like this!! While in AZ my family and I made grilled pizza and it was so fun letting everyone decorate their own!! YUM!

  6. Homemade pizza is the best, these sound fantastic!! Always fun to bring back memories this way, it’s one of the best things about food I think! πŸ™‚

  7. We are pizza freaks at our house (Friday night is pizza night), and we just got our first pizza stone so we are going to have to try this recipe! My husband used to doctor up a frozen cheese pizza, but it is so much more fun making the dough!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  8. Yum! How can i get the invite for pizza night? lol πŸ™‚

  9. That pizza looks so good!!! I love myself a really good homemade pizza!

  10. That pizza looks so good. I love fresh mozzarella on a pizza. There is nothing like it πŸ™‚

  11. looks amazing. Maybe try grilling the pizzas on the grill to get those charred bits? still believing my trip to Italy is in the near future xoxo

  12. Yum!! Now I am seriously craving some pizza!

  13. Ahh I can’t wait to try this. My family has a pizzeria in Naples (Torre del Greco) and nothing beats the pizza! My nonna used to make it and it was damn close, but ever since she passed no one has really tried. I’d love to give this a go- plus I think it would bring my family back a lot of memories of her.

  14. Italian is my favorite, and pizza is my #1! YUM.

  15. Wow it looks AMAZING πŸ™‚ I hope you had a great weekend dear.

    Check out my new post….Lovely HM decor πŸ™‚

    Have a fab week

    LOVE Maria at inredningsvis – inredning it’s, Swedish for decor πŸ™‚

  16. You look very pretty in the last photo Rach!

Leave a Reply

