In Sickness and in Health

According to Christopher I have been the sickest he’s ever seen me this past week. I started to get sick Tuesday afternoon and by Wednesday I was miserably ill. When I was still not showing any signs of improvement by Friday Christopher decided it was time to get medical help (I wasn’t really in a condition to make decisions which is probably part of what was so scary for him). Got an arsenal of drugs from the pharmacy (prescribed obviously, haha) and started trying to choke them down.

oreo rach snuggle{ This shot from December 2012, but essentially this is what I did all week: snuggled/napped on the couch with Oreo. Except that I wasn’t smiling quite so much. 😉 }

Saturday was the first day I had actually been able to eat something other than a couple of crackers so that was a huge success. I ate 1/4th of a potato and you should’ve seen us rejoicing. Saturday was also the first day that my fever lowered enough for me to actually look at myself in the mirror. My crazy hair, pale gaunt face, and chapped lips stared back at me. I shuddered a little and wondered how it is that my sweet husband had been able to look at me so tenderly all week. That’s what love does, I think. They say love is blind and sometimes I think there’s truth to that statement. I may have been appalled by what I saw in the mirror, but Christopher wasn’t. He just saw his bride.

fairytale

This weekend Christopher and I watched the video from our wedding. I teared up over and over again as I watched us pledging our lives to each other. We laughed at how incredibly nervous Christopher was throughout all the footage (it was his first time to really be up in front of a crowd that big). We gasped at how much our niece and nephew have grown up since then. We couldn’t believe how much five years has weathered our faces and aged us. Not in a bad way. Just in a time-moves-on sort of way. Our wedding day was beautiful. I was floating on cloud 9 all day. And while if I were to plan a wedding today, I would change pretty much every detail (other than the groom!), it was such a great reflection of who we were at that the tender ages of 21 and 22.

fairytale10083 (us listening to my sister’s maid of honor speech)

We wrote our own vows and part of them went like this: “I will laugh with you in good times, struggle by your side in hard times, rejoice in the good and wipe away your tears in the bad.” That was sort of our version of “in sickness or in health.” 🙂 Well this week has been one of those “sickness” weeks. And you guys, he definitely held up his end of the deal. He may not have shared my illness, but he has shared the burden (and all the worry because I was too sick to notice how sick I was). He literally wiped away tears from my face this week when I was in so much pain that I couldn’t stop them from coming. This is love. And he is my lover.

fever free!The good news is that my fever broke yesterday morning! I was so happy when I saw 98.6 on that thermometer that I cried. We both heaved a huge sigh of relief. Sadly I’m dealing with some not so pleasant side effects from the penicillin I’m on, but at least I can eat again and that’s huge news! I am indeed on the road to recovery!

Thanks to everyone for your concern and prayers. You guys are a blessing to me and I’m so grateful!
Love Rach

42 responses to “In Sickness and in Health

  1. Glad to hear you’re feeling better!! Being sick is never fun!

  2. so glad you are better, what sweet photos. We have been wanting to watch our wedding video again…it’s on VHS tape LOL…praying the side effects from the penicillin wane soon!

  3. Y’all look like babies! Yay for a normal temp and feeling better!

  4. Glad you are feeling better. Being sick is never any fun! Ya’ll look so young in your wedding photos! How long ya married?

  5. I am so glad you are feeling better. You poor thing. What a wonderful husband you have. I am glad that the silver lining of the being sick part comes in the love and devotion that your husband showed you – this past week and every day. 🙂

    Continue on the recovery road, friend!

  6. Only you can turn sickness into a romance novel. 🙂 Love that you are feeling better, and love the pics from your wedding day.

  7. SO GLAD you are feeling better and on the road to recovery!
    Did you have the flu? everyone I know that has gotten it this season has been down and out for a few days!
    I loved hearing your side of this – your marriage is beautiful

    • Nope, I was tested for the flu and strep and both came back negative. They were fresh out of the plague tests, but I’m pretty sure I would’ve tested positive for that. 😉 Seriously, though, I was diagnosed with severe sinusitis and pharyngitis which lead to dehydration. Basically I had the most sore throat and pain/pressure in my ears that I’ve ever had. Coupled with a 103 temp. And since it hurt so much to swallow, I didn’t eat and apparently didn’t drink enough fluids (even though I drank over 50 oz a day which I thought was pretty ballin’!) so I got terribly dehydrated which is a whole other beast in of itself. So basically I just felt like I was dying for a few days until I got drugs. Then of course all the bad side effects of the drugs kicked in which made me different kinds of sick. So that’s been a fun adventure, haha! But as of today I am feeling MUCH better! And I’m eating so that’s a huge win! 🙂

  8. So happy to hear you are feeling better! That sounds awful… But so happy you had someone to take care of you! 🙂 husbands are just the best, in sickness and in health.

  9. oh man, i hate that everyone has been so sick!! it hit us, too, over the holidays. soooo not fun! i hope you’re feeling better!

  10. I am so glad you are feeling better and I think puppies are the best cuddlers when your sick.

  11. This was so beautiful! Marriage is a lovely thing to watch in action! I got super duper sick in Nepal, and was so gross, but Kev just loved me so well and stayed by my side! Gotta love GREAT men:) love you, hope you start feeling better love! xxoo Katie

  12. Hope you are feeling better!! This was such a sweet post!!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  13. So glad your fever has come down, that is scary stuff!! I would expect nothing less from Christopher, and I know you’d do the same for him!

  14. What a sweet guy that he took care of you so well! I feel like my husband and I are both super-hypochondriac, so we avoid each other when we’re sick. Of course, if one of us was in need of medical attention, we might need to make an exception…

    It seems like everyone I know is getting some sort of deathface lately! I hope I can avoid it! (I’m also glad that you’re feeling bettter and off the couch!)

    • Haha! I understand that. We do a lot of hand washing and not touching our faces. We definitely don’t want to get each other sick! Though typically by the time one of us shows symptoms, the other was already infected. Thankfully we seldom both get the same thing! 🙂 I really hope you stay well this winter! I can’t imagine being sick while being pregnant!

  15. I’m glad that you are feeling better! I’m still getting over my sinus infection. This was the worst that I’ve felt in a really long time too. Hopefully we will both feel 100% soon! Feel better love! 🙂

  16. I’m so glad you’re feeling better!!!! You definitely married a wonderful man!

  17. yayy! so sorry you felt so crummy all week! hope you’re still feeling well 🙂

  18. Thank goodness you’re feeling better! Being down and out with a fever is an absolute zap of time and energy, but maybe the sick-imposed rest was just what you needed (you all are so busy, after all)!

    I have never watched my wedding video. I cannot bear to see photos or videos of myself. Silly, right???

    • Whaaat?! You’ve never watched your own wedding video?! Why don’t you like videos/photos of yourself? Has this been a long time thing? Haha, sorry for all the questions, but you’ve got me curious! And you’re right, I definitely let myself get too busy. All this rest has been really good for me. 🙂

  19. SO glad you’re feeling better now! Being sick is the worst. So good that you have a wonderful husband to take care of you 🙂

  20. Sorry to hear you were sick. I’m glad to hear you are all better now.

  21. Pingback: So sick of being sick |

  22. Pingback: I love you more |

Leave a Reply

