Prosciutto and Rocket Sandwiches {Taste of Italy}

How is it that I am only just now sharing this recipe with you guys?! It’s one of the simplest things we learned to make when we came back from Italy and oh-so-delicious! We have made these sandwiches so often that I guess I just let this post get shuffled to the side while we worked at perfecting other recipes. Anyway, I will keep you waiting no longer, I give you: Prosciutto and Rocket Sandwiches!

Prosciutto and Rocket SandwichesWe ate these sandwiches ALL over Italy, but our favorites were from Sergiobar in Florence and Cottini in Rome. I know you can’t see the “rocket” on the sandwich from Cottini, but it’s there!

Oh, you don’t know what “rocket” is? Well, it’s “rocket salad,” does that help? No? Oh, well look at the picture closely – it’s arugula! So why am I calling it “rocket”? Well, you see, when we were in Italy we kept seeing sandwiches or pizzas that had “rocket” or “rocket salad” listed in the name on the menu. At first we only wanted to order things we knew we’d love (like the ridiculous amount of bolognese and marinara pizza we ate, haha), but then we decided to get adventurous and order a sandwich with “rocket” on it. When it came out, we discovered that “rocket” was actually the British English word for “arugula” and that it is crazy delicious combined with prosciutto and fresh Β mozzarella! We ended up eating these sandwiches ALL OVER Italy! We thought the name was so unique that we still call them “prosciutto and rocket sandwiches” or sometimes we just shorten it to “rocket sandwiches.” πŸ™‚

prosciutto and rocket sandwiches (3)You lay out your bread of choice on a pan (we usually use an 11×13 dish because it keeps the sandwiches from sliding around, but we’ve also used cookie sheets). Top one side with fresh mozzarella and the other side with a couple of thin slices of prosciutto.

prosciutto and rocket sandwiches (4)Pop in oven on broil for just a few minutes until the cheese is melted and bubbly and the prosciutto has crisped up around the edges.

prosciutto and rocket sandwiches (2)Add rocket (aka arugula) to your sandwich and enjoy the incredible flavors of Italy! We used ciabatta bread in these photos, but we have also used focacciaΒ bread with equally delicious results!

prosciutto and rocket sandwiches{click recipe to see it larger}

One of the things we loved about Italy was the way they took simple, fresh, whole ingredients and put them together to Β make amazing things. This sandwich is so simple, but the flavors come together just right. You should try it! Plus, it’s fun to say that you ate “rocket” for lunch. πŸ˜‰
Love Rach

 

38 responses to “Prosciutto and Rocket Sandwiches {Taste of Italy}

  1. Those look delicious!! I’ll definitely have to dine on some rocket soon.

  2. Yum!! Looks so delicious… and so funny about “rocket” who knew?!

  3. Adorbs. Yep, here in Canada, rocket and arugula are interchangeable. Jamie Oliver uses it a lot too. I love your photos of the ‘wiches in Italy and your tutorial here!

  4. Beautiful photography & it looks so tasty!

  5. Sandwiches are one of the best foods ever created. They are so versatile! That and burritos! HAA.

  6. ROCKET! I love ROCKET! It’s so scarce in the US though, seriously! I remember I ate a ton of it when I visited TURKEY and really didn’t have a clue what it was until the last day I was there. Then I went to the store when I came back to the states and WOMP WOMP – NONE 😦 The people working at the store hardly even knew what it was either!

    • Oh sad day! I’ve found a lot of arugula & spinach packaged together in stores, but not much arugula just on its own. I hope you can find some soon because it’s such a tasty green and it’s fun to say you are eating rocket! πŸ™‚

  7. I think arugala is the best! I love how spicy it is and it lasts a long time in the fridge.

  8. Oh my word…this looks divine. I am pinning these right now to try later!! So glad you tried a rocket sandwich so you could share it with me. YUM!

  9. These look amazing!!! I love quick lunches like this, but broiling them definitely gives it a little something extra!

  10. I heart prosciutto!

  11. ❀ prosciutto….so great and so Italian πŸ™‚

  12. I’ve never heard of that, but it looks and sounds delicious! And it looks pretty easy too!

  13. Oh my gosh, I had a sandwich like this in Ireland and LOVED it but forgot the ingredients. Thanks so much for sharing! Can’t wait to make it!

  14. Love simple fresh ideas like this, and that bread looks delicious!!

  15. I love sandwiches. My favorite part is the melty cheese. Yum πŸ™‚

  16. these look delicious! I love italian inspired food

  17. This sounds so good!! I love that you guys were able to recreate the things you loved in Italy. I’ve never tried prosciutto before…I might have to now πŸ™‚

  18. Pingback: Remaking our favorite pizza from Vegas! |

  19. Pingback: 18 Favorite Go-To Healthy Recipes |

Leave a Reply

