DIY Christmas Card Books

It’s nearly February. Which means that if I were to talk about a holiday I should probably be talking about Valentine’s Day. However, I just realized that I never shared with you guys what I decided to do with all of our Christmas cards. So pretend it’s still Christmas with me for a minute and let’s pull up a picture of what we do with our Christmas cards every year:

christmas cards displayed on christmas treeChristopher’s family always put their Christmas cards on the tree when he was growing up so that’s a tradition we’ve adopted into our family as well. Except that we have two Christmas trees. One for all of our travel/unique decorations and one for that year’s Christmas cards. By the way, you guys might recognize a few faces on that tree! Like Allison, AmyRachel, Janna and Katie. 🙂

Christmas CardsAll our cards from years past just sit in a little basket on the hearth which is just fine, but I wanted to organize them a little better after Christmas this year. So when I came across this idea for a Christmas Card Book from Eighteen25, I knew it was perfect!

christmas card bookSo I bought these adorable binders from Target, got my hole puncher out, and went to town!

Christmas CardsSince I have cards saved since 2008 (our first married Christmas), I needed two binders. And I really crammed that second binder full, haha! I’ll need a third binder for next year for sure.

Christmas Cards I kept the cards separated by years with these little dividers that I printed off from Eighteen25. The first binder has 2008, 2009, 2010 in it and the second binder has 2011, 2012, and 2013.

christmas cardsThis is what the cards look like inside the binder

photos i took!And as a fun bonus… I TOOK THESE PICTURES! 😀 You guys, it makes me smile so much to get Christmas cards (or really any mail in general), but when I get a Christmas card that hosts a photo I took I feel so honored. 🙂

So, that’s what I did with the past 6 years of Christmas cards! It is so fun flipping through the books and seeing how much kids have changed over the years and watching our friends’ families grow in yearly photos. 🙂 Merry Christmas a month later. 😉
Love Rach

32 responses to “DIY Christmas Card Books

  1. Love it!!! Such a good idea for keeping and storing cards each year. I’ll have to find some binders and keep the cards from this first married Christmas. They would be fun coffee table books to bring out with the Christmas stuff.

    • Yeah! That’s exactly my plan! I think the binders will be great to set out on the coffee table during Christmas. 🙂 I think our kids will really love looking through them one day. When I was a kid, I always loved stuff like that.

  2. I DO see my Christmas card on your tree–yay! It’s a really nice thought to keep all the Christmas cards together in a binder like that. I always just end up throwing them away (minus the pictures, which I hang on my fridge for the rest of the year).

  3. how cute is that idea.. my daughter loves the christmas cards still on the fridge but I like putting them in a little notebook.

  4. What a fun and amazing idea!!! I’ll have to try that for next year! 🙂

  5. I love the idea of keeping Christmas cards in a binder! I bet it’s so fun to flip through them later — especially the cards with pictures!

  6. Such a cute idea! Ours are such a mess…I have one box, which has literally every card from every occasion since we got married. I might have to fix that someday haha.

    • Haha! I hear you! Our cards were definitely a mess before this too. I do have a box of cards and letters that I call my “little box of sunshine.” Any meaningful note or letter that I’ve received over the years is in that box. I love opening it up and going through it all. 🙂

  7. You are so good to keep all your Christmas cards. I’ve got to admit, I toss mine.

    • That’s totally okay too. I’m that way with birthday cards (unless they have a personal note inside). I think I just love it because most of them are picture cards so it’s fun to see how everyone changes over the years! 🙂

  8. AHH that is SO awesome that your photos were used for the Christmas cards!! LOVE this.

  9. Love it – such a great idea! 🙂

  10. ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS IDEA! I will be stealing it. Thank you 🙂

  11. That is such a cute idea! You are so creative!

    • I like to think I’m creative, but in reality I’m pretty sure it’s just the wonderful-ness that is Pinterest that gives me all these great ideas, haha! ​

  12. This is a really great idea! I always save cards that I recieve and I think it would be really special to put them in a binder so I can go back and look at them anytime I want to! Definitely going to do this 🙂

  13. This is such an awesome idea!!

  14. Such a great idea! You are so very creative! =)

  15. I really love this idea!!, I think this is the best way to restore and compile our received Christmas cards. Your so creative !!
    good job and keep it up.!
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

