Spaghetti with Tomato and Basil {Taste of Italy}

Today I have another recipe for you from our time in Italy! When we were in Rome, we ate the best spaghetti with tomato and basil at a place called Miscellanea.

miscellanea rome italyI know it may not look like much, but it was delightful! We ate this dish all over Italy, but our favorite was this one from Rome. It had a bit of a bite to the sauce which we loved.

When we got back home, I played around with a couple of different recipes starting with this one from Real Simple, but it just wasn’t quite right. Then I came across this recipe from Serious Eats that had an essential step I had been missing. Infusing oil with garlic, basil, and red pepper was a brilliant idea! So using those two recipes as a base, I came up with this:

spaghetti with fresh tomato, basil and garlic

spaghetti with tomato and basil{Click Recipe Card to see larger}

garlic and basil infused olive oilIn case the whole olive-oil-infusion thing is confusing, hopefully these photos help a bit. 🙂

tomato-basil spaghetti

Love Rach

18 responses to “Spaghetti with Tomato and Basil {Taste of Italy}

  1. Mmmmm any type of pasta dish wins in my book! That looks so tasty 🙂

  2. Wow, I never thought of infusing the oil but I am definitely going to do this! Thanks so much for sharing, girl!

  3. Looks delightful! Simple dishes are sometimes the very best!

  4. Why are Italian flavors just so goooood??

  5. This looks amazing!! I am loving all of these Taste of Italy posts! Keep them coming!!

  6. Yummy! I LOVE Italian food SO MUCH!!!

  7. Okay this looks so delicious that I am going to make this for us in the next few days! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

  8. This sounds so good! I’m always looking for new pasta recipes, so I’m definitely going to have to try this!

Leave a Reply

