Chinese New Year!

Every year that we’ve been married (and even a couple when we were dating), Christopher and I have celebrated the Chinese New Year. It’s the one time of year that we really feast on foods that remind me of my old home. Pretty much every year we eat my same favorites because… well, they’re my favorites. I shared those recipes in 2012 if you are interested. This year, however, I decided to try something new. I have a cookbook called The Chinese Takeout Cookbook that I had been wanting to try out so I sorted through it until I found a recipe that looked tasty!

chicken chow mein by diana kuanYeah, that gorgeous photo… not mine. This was taken by Diana KuanΒ who wrote the cookbook (and found here). It was so late at night by the time we got around to eating dinner that this dish photographed terribly! And I wanted you guys to give it a chance so I thought I’d show you what it’sΒ supposed to look like. My goodness, I am ready for the days to be longer so I can actually photograph food after 5pm, haha! Also, you should know: this was delicious. So yummy!

chicken chow meinClick Recipe Card to see it larger. Original Recipe from The Chinese Takeout Cookbook. I doubled the amount of marinade and took out the mushrooms & bean sprouts. Other than that, the recipe is nearly the same as found in the book.

chinese new yearLike every year we had jiao zi (dumplings) and man tou (steamed bread), but a new addition this year was this little package of “egg muffins.” When I saw them I first thought that they were the same as the “egg bread” I used to eat in China, but sadly they weren’t. Maybe next year I’ll make my own! That was one of my favorite street food snacks!

the birds (china)In honor of Chinese New Year I went through some old photos from China that I hadn’t seen in ages. I came across this gem and just really felt like I should share it with you guys. Oh you know, just my sister and I being attacked by some birds in China… nbd. πŸ˜‰

bestiesMy best friends when I lived in China (I’m squeezed in the very middle back of this shot).Β DaiYin, Mandy, Me, Beth, DingJing, JingJing, XiaXia and Jing. πŸ™‚

family great wall of chinaAnd I will leave you with this shot of my parents, younger sister, and I on the Great Wall of China. {my older siblings had all moved out by the time my parents moved our family overseas hence why they aren’t in the China photos}.

Xin Nian Kuai Le (happy new year), friends!
Love Rach

36 responses to “Chinese New Year!

  1. First of all, I am in love with that ‘attacking birds’ photo. Ha, ha. πŸ™‚ Secondly, I definitely will be trying that chicken chow mein recipe! I LOVE it but don’t have a very good recipe for it. πŸ™‚

  2. THAT BIRD ON YOUR HEAD..I died. I think it’s seriously so cool you lived in China!!! Perfect way to remember your past!

  3. I love this! I love the tradition and the pictures from when you were younger!!

  4. Your family is amazing. Happy Chinese New Year!

  5. I love your tradition! I looks so fun! Happy New Year! I am definitely trying out the recipe! We have a great Asian market down the street from my house. I have never tried egg bread from the market. I will have to look for it. πŸ™‚

  6. this looks so good! i love dumplings too. πŸ™‚

  7. I love that you guys celebrate Chinese New Year every year! I am not much of an exotic cook, but Justin really enjoys trying to replicate some of the Chinese dishes that we ate. We’re still trying to figure out how to make eggplant the way they made it in China (it doesn’t help that we don’t have the long skinny kind in our grocery store here)…until then, we just order it from the Thai take-out place down the street! I love your family portrait on The Great Wall! I can’t show it to Justin because it will make him want to go back, haha… πŸ™‚

    • Oh man, I haven’t even tried to replicate eggplant the way we had it there. My favorite was the breaded, pan fried eggplant that we would eat. Oh yum! I haven’t had that since I lived there! Now you’re making me miss China, haha!

  8. I can only imagine how amazing of an experience that is to look back on! Happy New Year!!

  9. Um how did I NOT know you lived in China?! That’s so cool. And all that food looks and sounds amazing! My sister’s husband’s family is from China and his dad owns a Chinese restaurant so my Asian cooking has improved, but I am always looking for yummy recipes. Yay!

  10. I forgot that you lived in China! I need that cookbook – especially because my orange chicken cravings have been cah-razy as of late!!

  11. How amazing that you had the chance to live in China!

  12. I love this tradition of yours! I think it’s so awesome that you still celebrate the culture of the place that you once called home!

  13. What awesome memories. I somehow missed the fact that you lived in China (?!). Loved reading a little about it and seeing your photos! And I will definitely be trying that recipe. Yum!

  14. All of the food looks so delicious and what an adventure it must have been to get to live in China!

  15. I didn’t know you lived in China!!! I lived in Taiwan for 6 years!!! πŸ™‚

  16. The ‘Birds’ picture is GREAT! Scary. But great. Mmm, street food. I could use that as a snack now.

    • Haha! It is kind of scary! But until I saw the picture, I didn’t even remember that day so obviously it didn’t scar me for life. πŸ˜‰ Have you found any Chinese places close to you that have authentic Chinese food? I haven’t found many in Memphis, but I probably need to look a little more.

  17. Happy (belated) Chinese New Year! Those pictures are so cute…I can’t even imagine how scary it would be to be attacked by birds. You guys look pretty calm…props for that; I would have been screaming haha.

Leave a Reply

