Getting Crafty for Valentine’s Day

A couple of my girlfriends and I decided to get crafty this past week with Valentine’s Day as our theme! We started by making homemade Valentine cards to hand out at a nursing home near our church (which we did this past Sunday after service).

homemade valentinesIt was so sweet to see how excited the residents of the home were as we walked through the halls handing out cards and chatting with them. šŸ™‚

Next up we hit Hobby Lobby over the weekend to pick up frames, burlap, and buttons. We made these precious little heart button frames. Look how cute this is:

valentines day craft: heart button frameAh, I just love how this turned out! I just hot glued buttons onto burlap in the shape of a heart and then put it in a frame. Easy peasy lemon squeezy!

valentines craft: button heart frameThe frame sits on our mantle (in our fireplace room that has no natural lighting so forgive the color of these photos) in front of the photo of us from Rome. Ah, romance. Love this! šŸ™‚

valentine's mantleMy mantle all decorated for Valentine’s Day. Isn’t that banner precious, by the way?! I’m going to do a whole blog post on it later this week, but for now just know that Allison is super talented and super sweet! šŸ˜€

Love Rach

46 responses to “Getting Crafty for Valentine’s Day

  1. Your Valentine’s stuff is SO cute! How sweet that you guys made Valentine’s cards to hand out to the elderly! I always get those little Valentine’s that come in a box (Spongebob, Spiderman, etc) and hand them out to my students (yes, even the high school students) with candy on Valentine’s Day. I let them get all sugared up and then send them to the next teacher, muahahaha! šŸ˜‰

    On Tue, Feb 11, 2014 at 8:35 AM, WordPress.com

    • Awww, I bet your students just LOVE that!! You are such a great teacher. šŸ™‚ Well, the teacher of the next class may not think so, but I know the kids love it, haha! I am actually stopping by my teens’ school tomorrow during lunch to hand out Valentines to the girls I mentor. I should bring them some candy too. I bet they’d like that!

  2. that is so sweet that ya’ll handed out cards!! i bet they appreciated that so much!! love the button/burlap decor too!!

  3. That is so nice that you handed out Valentine’s Day cards! So sweet! šŸ™‚ I love that frame. It’s so pretty!

  4. Your mantle is precious! And yes, Allison is VERY talented! I love that banner!

  5. Your V-Day mantle is TOO cute!!

  6. Love Allison’s homemade banner! And that button heart – precious! I have a bunch of buttons – I should attempt to make one of those.

    • Oh, you should!! If you do, I want to see pictures! I’ve seen a couple done with red buttons too and I thought that was just as precious. I ended up deciding on the white because I want to leave it out a little longer than just Valentines. šŸ™‚

  7. How fun! I love your projects! That button heart is so cute. Now I want to have a craft day!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  8. awww look at that cute heart- such a great festive idea.

  9. I… love…that…button…frame!!!!!! I LOVE it SO much!!!!!!! Ha, ha. šŸ™‚ I might have to make it (and then give all the credit to my absolutely amazing bloggy friend)! Thank you so much for sharing! It’s such an easy thing to do but it’s absolutely adorable!

    • Yeeees! You should make it! It’s SO easy and so adorable! Definitely blog about it so I can see how adorable yours turns out! šŸ™‚ Also, just so you know, your blog address came up wrong in this comment. The P and the D in wordpress got mixed up so when I tried to click on your blog link it didn’t come up. Obviously I have your blog saved in my Feedly so it’s not a problem for me, but I just wanted to let you know in case it was mixed up when you comment on other blogs too in case someone needs to click on your website from the comments. Just letting you know. šŸ™‚

  10. So cute!! I love your whole mantle!

  11. Love these craft ideas! Seriously obsessed with anything that let’s me get a little crafty. Also just found your blog and am so excited to keep reading along!

  12. Your mantle is so pretty! I love the big picture from Rome and the frame it is in!

  13. aww, everything about this post is lovely – so sweet that you gave out the valentine’s, and i love love love the simplicity of that button heart ā¤

  14. Aw your mantle looks great and so festive. šŸ™‚ That button heart is seriously adorable! I’ve made some cards, but haven’t gotten to do any valentine crafts yet. Boo hoo! Thanks for the shout out friend.

  15. AHH I LOVE that burlap photo framed heart..LOVE LOVE LOVE. Also, the cards at the nursing home is the sweetest thing ever..EVER!

  16. Oh my gosh your crafts are so cute!

  17. These crafts are SO cute! I love your mantle. Someday, when we have a mantle, I’m totally going to decorate for Valentines Day. And so sweet that you guys took your cards to a seniors home. I’ll bet they loved getting them!

  18. The banner is precious!!! Haven’t checked in on you for a little bit. Hope everything is going well. Happy Valentine’s Day. I think it’s great that you visited the nursing home. I worked in one when I was in high school and sometimes the littlest thing means the world to the residents. šŸ™‚

    • Hey lady! Definitely haven’t heard from you in a while! Thanks for checking in! Hope you guys have been doing well. šŸ™‚ I love that you used to work in a nursing home. I really think it takes such special people to work in fields like that. šŸ™‚

  19. love it! and now i wanna get all crafty!!

  20. Gorgeous mantle! Wish I was the least bit creative!

  21. That button frame is so damn cute!!!! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

