Valentine’s Recap

Christopher and I have never been huge on Valentine’s Day. When we were dating, it usually consisted of homemade cards and hanging out together. We got engaged February 7th so from then on, we have celebrated our engagement anniversary instead of Valentine’s Day. This is not to say that I think going all out for Valentine’s day is bad. Lots of my close friends do just that. I can’t tell you how many people I knew in college who got engaged on Valentine’s Day. In fact, my grandfather got married on Valentine’s Day a couple of years ago (my grandmother passed away while I was in college). So obviously, I am not one to judge anyone else for how much they love the holiday. πŸ™‚ But, since we don’t go all out for Valentine’s Day we thought we’d give some of our friends a chance to go out instead. So we actually spent our Valentine’s evening baby sitting. πŸ™‚

babysittingBaby sitting Madeleine and Cadence Β πŸ™‚

After the girls went to sleep, Christopher and I ordered a pizza and snuggled together on the couch and watched a documentary about pitbulls on Netflix. Yuuup, we know romance. πŸ˜‰ Β Buuut if you rewind to my Valentine’s morning, it did start off with quite a surprise and my kind of romance. Christopher went to Starbucks at 5:30am to get me a drink (I get up at 5:45am and head out the door by 6:10 for work) and I was totally surprised by his sweet thoughtfulness. Well, let the surprises keep coming because… Last week my laptop died so Valentine’s morning he surprised me with a new laptop (that he’d scored from his work for $50!!) with all of my stuff from my old hard drive on my new computer! He also bought me a web domain for my photography business!

photography website!D’aaaw! He’s the sweetest! I actually haven’t had much of a chance to work on the website, but once it’s ready I will definitely share it with you guys! πŸ™‚ Anyway, for a couple who doesn’t really celebrate Valentine’s Day, this guy shocked my socks off. πŸ™‚ We actually went out the next night to celebrate our proposal anniversary (which we couldn’t actually celebrate on the 7th because my in-laws were in town). We went out to dinner at Pete & Sam’s which I will review later this week (spoiler alert: it was great!) aaaand we saw a movie that I’m almost embarrassed to tell you that we watched. We went to see Vampire Academy.

vampire academy{source}

You guys, I LOVED this series of books. I know, I know, vampire stuff is so overdone right now. But, the story line in these books is just great. The first book is okay, but as I kept reading through the series, I just loved it. So naturally I was exstatic that they were making a movie about it. But then I totally forgot that there was a movie coming out until Saturday when we were eating lunch and talking about how we hadn’t been to the movies in months so we decided to see what was playing. I nearly flipped my lid when Christopher read this title off to me. Haha! And to tell you the truth, it wasn’t as bad as I was expecting it to be considering the budget. Even Christopher enjoyed it which is saying a lot since he is picky about movies.Β You can see the trailer for it here.

So there you have it, I have outed myself. I love teen fiction. I love the Vampire Academy series. And the movie wasn’t terrible. Okay, I’ll be honest, I still really liked it despite the cheesy parts. Whatever, I loved it. There, I said it. HA! Anyway, if you enjoy teen fiction, then I think you’ll enjoy the books. And if you don’t mind somewhat cheesy moments, watch the movie! πŸ˜€

Love Rach

29 responses to “Valentine’s Recap

  1. Now I want to try out the Vampire Academy series!! Have you read Blue Bloods? Really good vampire series with interesting storylines. Also, if you love teen fiction The Luxe series is amazing. It’s about eight or so years old because I read it back in high school, but they were SO good. Like..now I wish I had them here so I could re-read them!

  2. I love YA fiction so I’ll have to check out the Vampire Academy series. And that is TOOOOO sweet that Christopher surprised you and spoiled you like crazy on Valentine’s Day. I’d say it was completely deserved. πŸ™‚

  3. awww what a good husband.. laptop and domain.. a keeper.

  4. Your secret is out! I would never have paired you with the Vampire Academy books, because I was thrown off at times by how much more scandalous they are than Twilight. But they also have so much more going on plot-wise than Twilight–there are actually big events going on other than vampire romance! πŸ™‚ I semi-forced/begged my husband to go see the movie with me because I was too embarrassed to ask any of my girl friends (they are not into YA lit at all). He didn’t love it, but he did say he liked it better than the Twilight movies, so that’s a recommendation!

    • AHHH! I am so glad to hear that you went and saw the movie too! I’m not the only one, haha! πŸ™‚ And you can tell Justin that he’s not the only husband who ended up having to see it with his wife. πŸ˜‰ I hear you on none of your friends being into YA fiction. I have a couple of friends who read some YA fiction, but they definitely don’t do any of the vampire stuff. They are more into the dystopian stuff (Hunger Games, Divergent, Maze Runner, etc). So yeah, I definitely hear you on going with your husband instead of with friends. πŸ˜‰

  5. For not making a big deal for Valentine’s day your sweetie sure did spoil you. So thoughtful!!

  6. Baha, love the teen fiction! You do (read) what you want, girl. And aww y’all are so cute! And so sweet for babysitting!!!

  7. First of all, Pete & Sams is one of my all time favorite restaurants!! We have been eating there for as long as I remember. They have such good pizza and delicious salads… yummmmmmm. Second, we aren’t Valentine’s people either, but I did get flowers this year. Your husband did such thoughtful, wonderful things for you for Valentines! Starbucks is the key to my heart πŸ™‚ And that is so nice that y’all babysat! Sounds like you had a great day!

    Oh, and I like teen-ish type books too. You should read the Lunar Chronicle books, if you haven’t already!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

    • Oh my goodness, their pizza is SO good!! I am so glad we got a pizza this time around! πŸ™‚ So sweet of your husband to get you flowers. What a keeper. πŸ™‚ And I haven’t read that series yet! I am checking it out right now. πŸ™‚

  8. So sweet of you guys to babysit!! I would say if my husband surprised me with delicious coffee, it would be the best day ever! He definitely knows the way to my heart. πŸ™‚

  9. Haha you are so funny! I don’t mind cheesy, so maybe I will watch the movie when it comes out on DVD. We rarely are able to go to the movies. It’s been over a year since we went to movie 😳! Christopher did a great job! I think it is wonderful that y’all babysat for friends so they could have a special date night! Have I mentioned I love y’all!

    • That’s exactly why we went to a movie! We were talking about how our friends with little kids always say that they seldom get to see movies in the theater with their spouse because it requires a babysitter. We were like “we should probably enjoy that freedom while we can!” It’s funny how even though we don’t have kids, we live our lifestyle sort of like we do just because all of our friends have kids, haha! Anyway, I think you should see the movie if you don’t mind cheesy. The story line of the book is GREAT and the movie follows it pretty closely. So just imagine it with better acting, haha!

  10. aww, this is so sweet — i love how genuine your valentine’s day is – just the two of you doing what you always do, and then 100 times better because you babysit for your friends.. so thoughtful πŸ™‚ and how supportive is your husband to get you the photography domain? excited to see what you do with it πŸ™‚

  11. Aww! Chris is so sweet! That was so nice of him to get you Starbucks, a laptop and your own domain for your photography business! πŸ™‚

  12. This is so cute! You guys are so thoughtful to babysit for your friends on Valentines day! And my goodness, the laptop and the coffee…what a sweet husband πŸ™‚ Also, I may or may not want to see that movie too…I’m just waiting for it to make it’s way to the cheap theatre!

    • YES! I am so glad I’m not the only one, haha! Did you read the books? Even if not, you’ll still enjoy the movie if you don’t mind a bit of cheesiness. I want to see it again now that I’m prepared for how different Dmitri is from how I expected him to be. I might judge it a bit less, haha! πŸ™‚

  13. That’s a great gift of a domain! You definitely need it with how awesome your pictures are πŸ™‚

  14. Pingback: Let’s talk young adult fiction |

  15. I think he wins the award for best hubby this year for Valentine’s Day! Just the coffee was sweet, but the computer and domain are icing on the cake!!

Leave a Reply

