Let’s talk young adult fiction

So earlier this week I shared one of my favorite young adult book series that I am somewhat embarrassed that I love. Since then I have had conversations with several of you about favorite book series. Now that my most embarrassing favorite is already out in the open for all to see, I thought I might as well share some of my other favorites I’ve read recently.

I should begin by telling you that after making this list I realized that while I do read some normal grown up stuff, I apparently really love young adult fiction. Haha! And nearly all of it is dystopian. Which I guess is mostly because that’s what is popular right now so that’s what people are writing. This post will be forever long if I tell you the story line for each series so instead I am going to link to the first book of each series on GoodReads so you can check out the summary and reviews! Anyway, without further ado…

vampire academy2{all images in this post are from GoodReads.com}

I might as well start with Vampire Academy again. Like I mentioned earlier this week, the first book was okay, Β but the rest of them just really pulled me into the story. I actually listened to these books (audiobook rental from our library) while I worked at my old job and they made the time FLY by. I got so wrapped up in this story and was so sad when I finished the last book and the series ended. But, since Richelle Mead (the author) is amazing, she actually wrote another series using some of the secondary characters from VA. Um, yes, sign me up!

bloodlines

Bloodlines is the follow up series to Vampire Academy and I love it just as much! Well, it’s actually still being written so hopefully I will continue to love it, haha! But considering how much I like the characters and Mead’s writing, I’m pretty sure I will continue to love it. πŸ™‚

selection series

The Selection trilogy is actually still being written, but I got so wrapped up in the first two books (and loved them!) that I am super excited to read the third as well!

trylle trilogy

I really enjoyed the Trylle trilogy! I haven’t heard many other people talk about this series which makes me wonder if the reason I liked it so much was because I read them while I was laying out on the beach. πŸ˜‰ It was a light read and perfect for the beach.

birthmarked series

The Birth Marked series is another one I enjoyed. A lot of people compared this series to the Hunger Games (and either hated it or loved it because of that comparison), but I wouldn’t go that far. The societal splits are similar, but the story is its own. Definitely worth reading.

divergent

Ah, the Divergent trilogy… I loved this series. I had such a hard time putting down the books. I didn’t like how the third book ended, but I hate to give spoilers so I’ll just leave it at that. These books are still worth reading, though!

hunger games

Okay, so I haven’t read the Hunger Games trilogy recently, but I can’t make a list like this without mentioning the very first trilogy that introduced me to dystopian YA fiction. I couldn’t put these books down. Parts of it made me slightly squeamish so I just skimmed those parts, haha! But other than that – I loved these books!

twilight

Oooookay, so pretty much every time I admit this, I take some hate for it, but here’s the truth: I really liked the Twilight books. This was my very first introduction to the whole vampire/werewolf stuff and while those parts were weird for me at first, I was so drawn into the story. I hated the beginning of the second book (literally threw it across the room) when Edward was all “I am breaking up with you because it’s what is best for you…” blah blah blah. Drives me crazy every time I see this in literature or the media. When people don’t communicate and try to make decisions for other people because they are “protecting them”… ugh. Drives me crazy. But, I did eventually finish the second book and I’m glad I did because I loved the rest of the series. πŸ™‚

harry potter

And best of all! I LOVE Harry Potter! I don’t own many books because I don’t often re-read books (however, the librarians know me by name because they see me so often, haha), but I do own this series. I have always loved to read, but the Harry Potter series is one of the few series that I loved reading as a teenager and also as an adult.

So like I said earlier, I know that I didn’t explain what these series are about, but I knew this post would be super long already so here’s my theory: If you enjoy YA fiction and/or have read any of these series and liked them, then check out the others! GoodReads.com is my favorite source for reading reviews on books so I definitely recommend checking that out! And if you have a GoodReads account and want to be my “friend” there let me know and I can add you! πŸ™‚
Love Rach

34 responses to “Let’s talk young adult fiction

  1. I love every single thing about this post!!!! I’m halfway through Allegiant right now and am really afraid about this ending everyone seems to hate. I love HP, re-read them pretty often. Hunger Games is great, too! I haven’t re-read them, but I think I might before Mockingjay comes out.

    • Oh good! I’m glad I’m not the only one who didn’t like the ending of that book! None of my friends were bothered by it and I was all like “AHHHHHHH! NOOOOOOO!” haha! Maybe the ending won’t bother you as much as it did me. You can let me know when you get there! So since you always give me such great tv show recommendations… what ya fiction books should I be reading?

  2. I loved the Hunger Games trilogy, and right now I’m working on the Divergent series! I’m about halfway through Allegiant, so thank you for not giving any spoilers! Haha Are you excited about the movie coming out next month?

    -Tia

  3. Loved, loved, LOVED Hunger Games! AND I just finished the Divergent trilogy and absolutely loved that as well (although I too hated the ending). I’m really looking forward to the first movie, which comes out in March. πŸ™‚ (I have to agree with you that I usually feel guilty if I read a teen novel, but I think that we adults have so much busy stuff going on that it’s fun to read a book that isn’t going to take a ton of brain power. Sometimes it’s nice to just be entertained by a good store line. And honestly, some of these series have better plots than the adult novels I would otherwise read. πŸ˜‰ So I’m with you in that it’s a guilty pleasure I refuse to give up)! Ha ha. πŸ™‚

    • Oooh I’m glad I’m not the only one who didn’t like the ending to the Divergent trilogy! None of my friends here were bothered by it! And yes, I’m super excited about the movie too! I hope Shailene Woodley does the part justice! And yes, I am so with you on why I like to read teen fiction. The real world is full of difficult things so if I am going to take time to read for pleasure, I’m typically going to pick something entertaining with a happy ending. πŸ™‚

  4. I adore and pretty much only read young adult. The best!

  5. I bought a copy of the first book in the Bloodlines trilogy, but I still have yet to read it! I feel like it’s been so long since I read through the Vampire Academy series, I may need to re-read the book that introduces the whole alchemy concept before I get into the Bloodlines book. But maybe it has a story that’s pretty set apart from Vampire Academy…? What do you think?

    On Thu, Feb 20, 2014 at 12:28 PM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “So earlier this week I shared one > of my favorite young adult book series that I am somewhat embarrassed that > I love. Since then I have had conversations with several of you about > favorite book series. Now that my most embarrassing favorite is already out > “

    • I think you could pretty easily start Bloodlines without rereading VA. Richelle Mead does a good job of recapping things you need to know. You could always just read a summary of the last VA book online before starting Bloodlines just to refresh your memory from where they left off (Bloodlines picks up right after VA ends time wise).

  6. I want to be your friend on Goodreads. πŸ™‚ Thanks for all the recommendations.

  7. Of course HP is the best!! But I also loved the Selection books. Like a futuristic Bachelor haha. I am a lover of the YA too girl, no shame.

  8. Haven’t read the others…but OMG, I LOVE Harry Potter so much!! Read all the books 2-3 times!! So great:)

  9. Harry Potter forever!!! I also loved the Hunger Games, and I have heard so many people love the Divergent books! Must be a book blogging kind of day πŸ™‚

  10. excellent recommendations!! You will LOVE the Hunger Games Trilogy…and may I add one more to the list: The Circle Trilogy…by Ted Dekker. Oh my. Amazing blend of fantasy and reality, almost has the flavor of a Matrix meets Lord of the Rings…sort of, but not. Trust me on this…riveting heart pounding suspense. My husband backs me up on that. Love seeing all your photos and your talents blossoming!! Oh, and p.s. YOU WON MY GIVEAWAY!!! I will be sending you a copy of “Beautiful Outlaw” by John Eldredge if you’ll just message me your mailing address (maybe on Facebook?) – have a glorious weekend sweet bella!

  11. YES to Harry Potter and the Hunger Games!! I started reading Twilight while I was babysitting once, and it definitely pulled me in, but I never followed through and got the rest of the books. I’ve heard really good things about the Divergent series too, and I’m thinking I might have to read them before I watch the movies!

  12. I like Young Adult Fiction because the ones I’ve read never get too serious. I love me some Harry Potter!

  13. I’ve read the Divergent series, The Hunger Games and Twilight. I read Harry Potter as they were published and available – even made my husband queue at midnight for the last book (but he banned me from staying up to read it!) The Selection ones look interesting but I’ve gone off the vampire stories now. Too many seem to have arrived in a similar vein to Twilight and it’s just a little samey. I tried the Sookie Stackhouse ones which are the basis for True Blood but they were a bit OTT and I didn’t really get into them,

  14. Pingback: On why I go to a sketch gym |

  15. Pingback: 20 Questions |

Leave a Reply

