So Many Reasons to Love Memphis

After blogging about the Grizzlies game earlier this week, I started thinking about so many of the reasons I love Memphis. We really are a city of All Heart. Grit. And Grind. In explaining the terminology from the game, I found myself thinking about how Memphis is a city full of brokenness, but also a city of people who come together over a common goal. Whether it’s in sports or defending the best BBQ or coming together to bring healing to this place. Too many articles and blog posts have been written about how terrible Memphis is so today I want to share some of the awesome things Memphis has done in the past year.

memphis bridge

According to the National Geographic Travel editors, Memphis is one of the Best Trips of 2013Β in the WORLD! And MSN agrees by saying Memphis is one of the top 20 best travel destinations!

And according to Travel and Leisure, we are one of the best cities for an affordable getaway (so naturally you guys all need to come visit me!).

Also according to Travel and Leisure, we have one of the most charming accents in America. I pick up accents easily and people ask all the time if I’ve lived in Memphis my whole life because I sound like a Memphian. Now that I know how charming I sound, I’m pretty proud of that. πŸ˜‰

And while you’re here in Memphis enjoying your affordable vacation and our charming accents, you might as well try out TWO of 10 the best BBQ joints in America according to National Geographic.

While we’re talking about Memphis eats, you can also try out two of the best 33 burgers in the countryΒ while you’re here.

But of course our food is great – even Southern Living acknowledges that we are one of the tastiest towns in the South! And the reader’s choice of USA Today heralds Memphis as having the 4th most iconic food in America.

And of course while you’re here, I’ll take you to visit Downtown Memphis which according to Forbes Magazine is one of the the country’s top 15 emerging downtowns!

While we’re downtown we’ll naturally check out America’s most iconic street, Beale Street.

Speaking of icons, Memphis has two of the 10 most iconic American attractionsΒ (even though I know very few locals who have actually been to Graceland, haha!).

And we can even go to a Grizzlies game which means you will have attended a game played by the NBA’s #1 Best Sports Franchise of 2013!

And who knows, you might love Memphis so much that you decide to stay here and live in the 4th cheapest place to live in the United States.

Once you are living here, you will naturally have a job and then you can be ranked among the top 10 cities where workers are most satisfied with their jobs.

And when you are here, you will be among the most generous people. Memphis is the second most generous city in the United StatesΒ (based on percentage of income given to charity). Β That my friends, is something amazing considering the incredible poverty in so much of this city.

I. Love. Memphis.

And this is just the “official stuff” out there on the internet from this past year. I can go on and on about the incredible food, the amazing free concerts, the festivals, the people, and all the reasons why I love this city. In fact, I often do which is why there’s a whole tab on my blog dedicated to “Walking In Memphis”. πŸ™‚ Happy Wednesday, friends!

Love Rach

34 responses to “So Many Reasons to Love Memphis

  1. Such a happy post! We did the Memphis thing as a family back in the early 90s for a summer trip. Such fun. Graceland, too, of course. πŸ˜‰ xo

  2. I love this post! We went to Memphis for a wedding years ago, and we loved it! I would love to visit again when we can experience more!

  3. aw i love it!! i visited memphis one time for a bachelorette and LOVED it!! it’s kinda crazy how far it is from nashville! it’s a completely different place!

  4. I haven’t made it to Memphis yet, I’ve done Nashville, but this post makes me want to pick up and go!

  5. Sounds like a great place. I still plan to visit someday and check out all this great food and other activities I find on your blog. It looks like you guys are in just the right place for you πŸ™‚

  6. Love it! We sometimes get a bad rap, but I love living here!

  7. And I’m gonna come visit… (*Say that in a sing-song kind of voice and tone*) Excited!!

  8. And on the top of this list also—-Rachel lives there!!! I would love to visit you in Memphis one day! I loved Tennessee when I visited as a teenager but we only drove through Memphis, so I definitely need to revisit!

  9. I’d absolutely love to visit Memphis! While I’m there, I’d like to see Nashville too since I’m obsessed with the show. Memphis is on my list of places to visit one day πŸ™‚

    • I love that show too! And Nashville is a lot of fun. Every time I visit I am amazed at the number of cowboy boots I see, haha! It’s like part of the Nashville culture almost. Nashville is only 3 hours away from us so you could totally come see me AND hit up Nashville while you’re on the same trip! πŸ™‚

  10. Born and raised Memphian.. Love it!

  11. Um are you trying to convince me to come visit you? I’m convinced. πŸ™‚ So glad you love your city! πŸ™‚

  12. How perfect! I’ve always wanted to go to Nashville, what a great list πŸ™‚
    xo TJ

    http://www.hislittlelady.com

  13. YAY!!! It makes me so sad when people are mean about Memphis. It is a great place!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  14. well if this doesn’t convince one to visit, idk what will!

  15. grit, grind, heart and bbq? i’m sold! my next road trip is right to you! in all seriousness, it just might be – i love all things western and soulful πŸ™‚

  16. And y’all are there!!!!

  17. Okay, obviously I needed to come visit you before reading this, but seriously, Memphis sounds amazing! And so cute about your charming accent haha.

Leave a Reply

