The Icy Trek Home

We had a whirlwind trip to Dallas this weekend. We went to visit family and it was wonderful! I’ll share all about it later this week. But first, let’s discuss the trip home. What should have been a 7 hour trip turned into a 29 hour trek home. In fact, we spent nearly as long getting home from Dallas as we spent IN Dallas, ha! We were only in Dallas 37 hours (arrived 2am Saturday and left 3pm Sunday) so it really was a short trip. But I digress. So why such a long trip home? Well, you see, after a gorgeous nearly 80-degree day on Saturday, the ice apocalypse arrived Sunday afternoon. Christopher is in the middle of a huge project at work so we knew we needed to try to make it home. Since it wasn’t bad in Dallas when we left, we decided to go for it!

icy carThis was our car before we left the Dallas area. Some ice, but not too bad. Ironically Christopher named our car Apolo. As in Apolo Ohno. The ice skater. How aptly that name proved to fit this trip. Speaking of our car… it’s a 2006 Scion XA. It is tiny. We get amazing gas mileage. But it definitely is not made to handle rough terrain. Or ice. Or a combination of both.

icy roads nightIn the first four hours of our trip we only made it 90 miles because the roads were so bad in East Texas. Plus it was still sleeting so heavily on us so we were driving nearly blind. This picture was taken after the sleet subsided, but the dark was moving in. We realized that there was no way we were going to safely make it home that night so we stopped at the first town we came across. Mt Vernon, TX. They host a grand total of 2 hotels so we picked the one we could easily find (thank you giant sign off the interstate, haha!).

texas waffleBreakfast at the Super 8 of Mt Vernon, Texas. A Texas-shaped waffle. Ha! I have to tell you guys, we weren’t expecting much from this motel, but were pleasantly surprised by how clean and comfortable it was. 🙂

icy roadsBack on the road again! We did hit one section of road that wasn’t touched at all by the ice and we were actually able to travel at 70 mph for a whole hour! It was glorious! Then we were back in the ice again.

icy trek speedMost of our trip was spent going right around 20 mph.

surprising the parentsWe did a slight detour while traveling through Arkansas and stopped in to surprise Christopher’s parents! They were SO happy. I have never heard my mother-in-law scream that loudly or that long, haha! And so many tears. It was awesome. We were only there half an hour, but it was great to see them! 🙂

Aaand while we were visiting the parents we took a few minutes to play in the ice. And yes, we are both wearing chacos. We definitely were not prepared for the ice, haha!

interstateThen back on the road again! That’s all ice on the road. I can’t even tell you how much time we spent slipping around on these roads!

icy landscapeThe drive was gorgeous, though. Everything was coated in ice and the sun was shining down on it making it all sparkle.

icy sunset Icy sunset 🙂

icy sunsetSunset over the ice.

So here’s a short video of us on HWY 64 in Arkansas. Most of our trip there was 1-3″ of ice on the road, but this section was literally 4-5″ and terrifying. I will say, I don’t have any video of us slipping around because in the worst of the worst spots I was a little bit busy praying. Also, listen to how desperate I sound when I say “home” in this video, haha! We were so ready to be out of the ice!

standstill trafficAnd then… when we were ONLY 30 miles from our house… we hit all this mess. Standstill traffic on the icy interstate. We were so close to home and so antsy to be there and yet stuck here. It took us another 2 hours to travel the last 30 miles to our house.

But then… finally… we made it home a little after 8pm on Monday. We left at 3pm the day before. That meant that we had been attempting to get home for over 29 hours. More than 14 of those hours were spent on the road perilously ice skating from Dallas to Memphis. The trip was definitely scary at times, but on the bright side it gave us a bonus day off together. It’s such a blessing to spend time with my sweet husband even if we are attempting to stay between the ditches on the highway the whole time. 😉 I don’t know if I have ever been happier to walk in the door of our house. It is so so so good to be safely home. 🙂
Love Rach

 

38 responses to “The Icy Trek Home

  1. Glad y’all got home ok! This crazy Texas weather is going to do me in!!!

  2. Oh my goodness! That is a long trip! Landry laughed at the ice skating video! Hopefully it won’t take that long to get here haha!

    • Haha! I’m glad Landry enjoyed the ice skating video! It was good to have a little bit of fun with that treacherous ice, ha! And I’m hoping for an 80 degree weekend for our visit, haha! Is that too much to ask? Maybe 70 degree? Really anything above freezing will be good with me. 😉

  3. Goodness, that sounds like quite the trek!! We got hit with that storm yesterday (at least I think it was the same storm) and are still dealing with what’s leftover. Including frigid temps. Boooooo to winter. Where is springgggggggggg?!??!

  4. Travel woes are so, so tough. Especially when you’re so close to being home. I am so sorry that you had to experience all of that ice. It seems like you and Christopher had a great attitude through it all. That’s totally Christ shining through. You are always so positive, Rach. I LOVE it!

    • You’re right. We are kind of eternally optimistic, haha! I don’t think about it much. But yeah, I’m glad because otherwise that trip would’ve been only miserable. Thankfully there were plenty of bright spots along the way. Especially since we made it home safely! 🙂

  5. I’m so glad you guys made it home safely. That sounds like a very, very scary drive. Excellent driving skills in those conditions!

    • Thanks, friend! It really was a crazy drive. I kind of wish I had video of us slipping around on the interstate, but I had a bit of a death grip on my hands in prayer during those moments, haha! Christopher definitely did a great job driving through it all! I’ve only driven on ice a couple of times and had no desire to test my skills (or lack there of, ha!) during all that mess!

  6. Wow that’s insane. I am so glad that you made it home safe and sound!

  7. Love the TX waffles!! It’s a TX staple. 🙂 I always look forward to the TX shaped waffles at hotels! Glad you made it back to Memphis safe. The sunset looks amazing though!

  8. I was praying from the moment you left to the moment you got home. I’m so glad you found a nice motel to stay overnight. Prayers definitely answered! 🙂

  9. So glad you got home safe! I drove for the first time on ice this year and it was a horrible experience and there wasn’t half as much ice as y’all had to drive through!

  10. you have such a lovely attitude about everything – and it seems like it was definitely worth it if you consider the Texas-shaped waffle and your family’s happiness in arkansas and all the adventure that happened 🙂 still, though, i hope you don’t have to drive on that kind of ice ever again!!

  11. wow, I am so glad that you made it home safe!

  12. i’d somehow managed to avoid driving in ice my entire life until the bad snow we had this year. and it was awful! i can’t even imagine how bad this was!!

    • I am all about avoiding driving in all that mess as much as possible! I’ve only driven on it a handful of times and it’s always terrifying. I was just glad that I wasn’t the one behind the wheel in all this mess!

  13. Pingback: Whirlwind Trip to Dallas |

  14. That is SUCH an awesome waffle. I want a waffle maker that makes cool shapes now.

  15. optimistichealth

    Oh my gosh how scary!! I am so glad you are safe. Goodness that’s what I’m scared for on our huge road trip taking place in a few weeks…

  16. i am seriously SO GLAD y’all got home safely!

  17. Scary! What a horrible horrible trip! I’m glad you guys made the most of it. Was Oreo with you or was someone taking care of him at home??

    • He was at home with his favorite dog sitter. She’s one of the teens I mentor and Oreo just adores her. I don’t know what I’m going to do when she graduates high school next year and she goes off to college. Haha!

  18. Oh my goodness, that is INSANE!!! (And that’s coming from a Canadian…I have NEVER seen roads that covered in ice before!) So glad you guys made it home safe! Props for sounding so calm in the video. On our icy road excursions, I’m usually crying, or hiding, or being distracted by anyone in the car who knows how much I freak out haha. Also, the Texas waffle is pretty cute!

    • Jayda, I have to tell you that I love this comment. You make me feel like we are super awesome for making it through that ice. It’s obviously horrible for down south, but I just assumed places further north (especially, oh you know, Canada!) would have ice like this. But I guess it’s mostly snow? Or maybe you guys have better equipment for clearing the roads after a storm? That’s probably more the case. Also, we sounded calm because this was after we’d been driving on the ice for 12 hours already. Haha! We definitely were not that calm the first couple of hours of the trip when we were being sleeted on and couldn’t see! I filmed that bit when we were only 30 miles from home (though it took us 2 hours to travel that last 30 miles – ugh!). But again, thanks. If someone doesn’t understand how bad the ice was when I tell this story I am totally going to be all, “Oh well my Canadian friend said she’d never seen roads covered in ice like that… BOOYAH!” Okay I wouldn’t really say that. But I might think it. 😉

  19. So glad you guys made it home safely! Some gorgeous views, though! =) I’m just now catching up on blog reading, so sorry (heh-not sorry, lol) about all the likes and comments all-in-one day. I get so behind. And congrats on getting your photography website up and running…I’ll be stopping by there to visit as well. Hope you guys are doing well! =)

  20. Pingback: Weekend Happenings |

Leave a Reply

