Whirlwind Trip to Dallas

My sister, Abby lives in Dallas. My sister, Holly and her family are visiting Abby in Dallas this week for their Mardi Gras (they get that instead of spring break because they live so close to NOLA). So while we couldn’t be there as long as Holly’s family, we still decided to make a quick whirlwind trip to visit them. And as a bonus, Christopher’s brother and sister-in-law also live in the Dallas area! So we got to see both sides of our family in one quick weekend. πŸ™‚ Plus we got to see Christopher’s parents as you saw yesterday, but that wasn’t exactly planned, haha!

downtown dallasWe started Saturday morning off in the arts district of Downtown Dallas! We went to the Kylde Warren Park which was so neat! It reminded me of Midtown Memphis in so many ways. One of the things I loved best about it was that in the little dog park there were water spouts that would shoot out at the dogs. It was HILARIOUS watching the dogs play in these. Oreo hates water so he would freak out if he were ever near something like this, but I would think it’s pretty hilarious. πŸ˜‰ Oh, and by the way, those are hotdog flavored chips at the 7/11 close to this park pictured at the top. Crazy stuff.

freebirdsNext up was Freebirds! This place is really similar to Chipolte or Moe’s. It’s Christopher’s favorite place to eat every time we are in Dallas. The weather was Β gorgeous (nearly 80 degrees) so we sat out on the patio and chatted for hours. This day was Abby’s boyfriend’s first time to meet Holly’s family, but he got inducted quickly what with us discussing childbirth and surgeries over lunch. Poor guy. He held up well though! πŸ˜‰ Also, as a side note: notice how Christopher is holding our nephew Wesley while waiting in line. I love how gentle my sweet husband is with children. He’s an amazing uncle and someday he’s going to be such a good daddy. πŸ™‚

kenzie and danI think Makenzie approves of her Aunt Abby’s boyfriend. πŸ˜‰

white rockI had a super quick photo shoot at White Rock Coffee while we were in Dallas so we all took some time to enjoy their delicious drinks. They are one of the top ten coffee houses in the States! If you are in the Dallas area you should check out one of their locations!

sistersHolly, me, and Abby. We definitely didn’t coordinate our outfits – it just happened that way, haha! This was us hanging out at a park later that Saturday.Β We finished the day out by going to a bookstore to find books for the kiddos and then cooked pizza together at Abby’s place. It was an absolutely wonderful day.

That evening we left Abby’s to drive over to Christopher’s brother and sister-in-law’s house. We stayed up late catching up on everything which was wonderful! The next day after church we went to a local pet Mardi Gras parade called Krewe of Barkus. It was adorable!

krewe of barkus collageI didn’t have my camera with me so these are all cellphone pics, but look how precious those dogs are! They were all dressed up in outfits ranging from adorable to outrageous and then paraded across the stage. It was fabulous. And in true Mardi Gras style we were given (doggy) masquerade masks and plenty of beads and coins. The shot at the top is of my sister-in-law, Katy, and I with our masks! We had a great time!

After this we headed out of town and began our arduous journey home. It was a wonderful weekend, though. So good to see both our families. πŸ™‚
Love Rach

32 responses to “Whirlwind Trip to Dallas

  1. You packed so much fun into so few hours!! What a blast.

  2. Puppppiiiiiieeeeesss!!! Also your hubbie is too cute holding your nephew. Too sweet πŸ™‚

  3. Y’all did lots of fun things! I would have loved to see the dog parade! How cute! I am glad you had fun before the horrible drive home!

  4. i love that y’all were able to spend time with so much family! πŸ™‚

  5. optimistichealth

    That sounds fun! I’ve never been to Dallas or much of Texas really but I’ve heard it’s worth it! That dog fountain looks hilarious!

  6. What a fun trip! I’ve never been to Dallas, or even the South really! Also – your hubs looks GOOD with a beard!!

    ALSO (so many things to say here!) I finally finished Allegiant. And…I have no words. Actually, I do. Let’s face it, when do I not have words? But, I don’t want to put them here in case people haven’t finished it yet. But, I was definitely surprised, disappointed, and then maybe came around to it all a bit. It was a whirlwind of emotion!!

    • If you ever come to the South you need to come visit ME! Memphis is a lot of fun, I promise! πŸ˜€

      I passed your comment about the beard on to my husband and he is very flattered. πŸ™‚

      As for Allegiant… I’ll email you about that! I’m glad you finished it, though! Your response to it sounds a lot like mine was. πŸ™‚

  7. it was a whirl wind wasn’t it? that little french bull dog is my fav! what a cutie.

  8. I forgot all about Mardi Gras until someone brough a King cake into work (with a baby inside of it and everything!). This looks like such a nice weekend trip! πŸ™‚

  9. such great photos – i especially like the one of you with abby & holly!

  10. I’m SO jealous of your 80 degree trip! But i guess you paid for it on your crazy trip home. Glad you had a great time with family and made it home safe and sound!!

  11. Oh my goodness I am in love with the doggy pics!! And nothing beats a good burrito!!

  12. Sounds like you had a great trip! I would love to go to Dallas one day. And the doggy mardi gras parade is awesome!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  13. What a wonderful little getaway! I would love to visit Dallas someday.

  14. a pup mardi gras parade??? oh i need to see that!

  15. Oh my gosh this looks like such a fun trip!

  16. Oh my goodness, that pet parade sounds like the best thing ever! Looks like you had such a fun trip. You and your sisters are so cute in your accidentally matching outfits!

Leave a Reply

