Memphis Tigers Game!

March Madness is nearly upon us, my friends! This past Saturday was the Memphis Tigers last home game here in Memphis before the tournament begins. This is our NCAA team from the University of Memphis, not to be confused with our NBA team (the Grizzlies) thatย I blogged about recently. Some of our friends have been longtime fans of the Tigers (they grew up in Memphis) so they have season suite-level seats. So when they invited us along, you better believe we jumped on that! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Two suite-level basketball games within a couple of weeks?! Winner! ๐Ÿ˜€

tigers gameThe Memphis Tigers playing!

brooks james and christopher1Brooks, James, and Christopher watching the game. I love how different their personalities are. When something huge happens, they all go crazy, but if it’s just something semi-exciting they are all different. Brooks glances up from his phone, Christopher claps politely, and James shouts and acts like he is personally responsible for the play. ๐Ÿ˜‰

joshHeather and James’ little boy, Josh, was loving playing with all the ice in the suite. He was rather pleased with himself in this shot. ๐Ÿ˜‰

rendezvousRendezvous BBQ nachos are SO good! They are a staple Memphis-Sports-Food for me, haha! Well, either that or Pronto Pups (the giant corndogs that you’ll see featured plenty on my blog from concerts, festivals, and sports games). Ah, so yummy! {this picture is actually from the Redbirds game last fall because my picture of it from this weekend was taken with a phone and didn’t do it justice}

We had fun at the game and I’m excited to fill out my bracket for this year’s March Madness on the 16th! I love the Tigers, but I’m thinking we won’t make it too far this year. I’m not sure who I’ll pick to win it all this year. We’ll see! ๐Ÿ™‚
Love Rach

 

18 responses to “Memphis Tigers Game!

  1. YAY Go Tigers! T-I-G-E-R-S Tigers! (Imagine me yelling that and doing the letters with my arms). I went to U of M and I love my tigers. I don’t get to see the games, but my dad is at every football game (he is a die hard fan, what can I say) and goes to lots of basketball games. Someday they will win the NCAA tournamentโ€ฆ someday. Glad you had fun at the game!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  2. HOLYCOOWW those nachos. I am now thinking about how long it has been since I have had nachos!! I know what you’re thinking, “but you don’t eat cheese!?” I have made the most amazing “cheese” sauce that is just like this one I swear!! OMG NOW I WANT NACHOs! HA

  3. This looks like so much fun!

  4. What a fun night!! And those nachos… wow. So yum.

  5. BBQ nachos? are you serious? i didn’t know my two favorite foods could be combined, but now i’m going to have to find them asap. hopefully it’s not only in memphis? also- i’m in a couples march madness tournament and have *no clue* what i’m doing — first time for everything? pointers welcome!

    • Oh girl, BBQ nachos are such a huge thing here that I forget they might not be other places. You can get them most anywhere in Memphis. I bet you can find them elsewhere too, though! If not, you are welcome to come visit me in Memphis and you can eat BBQ nachos to your heart’s content! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      As for the bracket challenge… it’s funny because it’s so hard to predict. Each team is given a “seed” or a “rank” which you can see by the little number beside their team name. You can play it safe by choosing each lower number to beat a higher number (i.e. #11 beats #12, etc). But that usually breaks down and won’t get you too far. Especially since there are always at least 1 or 2 major upsets (especially in the #5 vs #12 seeds). If you don’t know much about basketball you can always do what a couple of my friends have done. They choose the team colors they like best for each match up and say that teams wins. Or the team mascot they like best. Or if the mascots were pitted against each other, which one would actually win. I know that sounds crazy, but here’s the thing… those friends of mine who know NOTHING about basketball and pick this way, often end up winning in our friend-brackets because they make such crazy picks. I don’t know if there has ever been a season where all the higher ranked teams actually won everything. I hope that helps a little!

  6. That basketball game looked like so much fun! Oh and those nachos! I’ve never had BBQ nachos before. Must try them ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. So jealous of your game time! I am a bandwagon basketball fan during March Madness haha. I do like Duke because of my grandfather. Even though I don’t follow religiously, live sports are just so fun!

  8. Looks like such a great time! I reeeeally want those nachos!

Leave a Reply

