Czech It Out

{ That title just cracks me up. I’m so funny. πŸ˜› }

So since I got to see two of my sisters this month I thought I’d blog a little about my third sister too. πŸ˜€ By the way, I also have a brother. 4 girls. 1 boy. Poor Matt. But today I am not talking about him, I’m talking about my sister, Melissa!

sisters collageThat was us in 1996 and then again in 2013.

I picked the 1996 shot because when I was looking through old photos of us, I loved that I was snuggled on Melissa’s shoulder in that shot. Holly & Abby, I’m sorry that the ’96 shot isn’t the best ever of you guys, but I share flattering pictures of you guys all the time so just overlook it this once. πŸ˜‰ As a side note, that is probably the only photo of me from 1996 you will ever see. I had some serious afro-esque hair back in those days which is thankfully mixed in with Melissa’s hair in that shot.

Moving on…

melissa matus kidsSo here is my sister’s family from a photo shoot I did for them last fall.

Melissa met her husband Matus while she was living in the Czech Republic after college. He is from Slovakia and speaks 7 languages. Yeah, let that sink in. Be impressed. πŸ˜‰ Their family lives in the Czech Republic still (though they had a short stint in the UK). Melissa is a translator which just goes to show how incredible her language skills are. This means that their two little kiddos are growing up speaking three languages (Slovak, Czech, and English). It’s always so intriguing for me to watch Katka (their daughter) switch between languages based on her surroundings. She has absolutely no problem saying something in one language to her parents and then in the same breath asking me a question in English.

czech cookbook

Melissa gave me a Czech cookbook that I have been so excited to dive into. Since Kroger was fresh out of wild boar, I decided not to make the haunch of wild boar with rosehip sauce found on page 43 of this cookbook. πŸ˜› But the pork spareribs with wild thyme sounded and looked wonderful! So I decided to give it a go.

pork spareribs with wild thyme

pork spareribs and wild thyme{Click on Recipe Card to see it larger}

This was our first time to eat Czech food and it was absolutely delicious! According to the cookbook this is called “VepΕ™ovΓ½ bůček na mateΕ™Γ­douΕ‘ce” which sounds more than a little hilarious when I try to say it out loud. I don’t even have a basic understanding of the way that the Czech alphabet sounds so I definitely botched that up. But no matter, it’s still delicious even if I can’t pronounce it! πŸ™‚

Happy Friday, friends!
Love Rach

34 responses to “Czech It Out

  1. The title made me lol, too. So cute!

  2. We were just talking about this!!!

  3. Ooh, what a tasty recipe! Will have to try it out for my fiancΓ©’s parents. πŸ™‚

    Love you blog, by the way! Found you via Apartment Wife.

  4. How cool is that?! I wish I knew more than just English to teach my children one day!

  5. You are so witty. πŸ™‚ I’ve never had Czech food, but this sounds like a good place to start! How fun!

  6. I adore love stories like this..I am a total sap for “foreign” romance. I want to me an Irish man to swoop me away to Ireland forever! Bahahaaah.

  7. LOVE the title! And 7 languages?! Gosh, sometimes I don’t even know if I can handle the one I do speak!!

  8. It’s so cool that you have a sister living overseas who is a translator for a living! And their bilingual (or trilingual, I guess I should say) kids! That fascinates me, too. I would love it if my kid could learn multiple languages, but with two parents who are only fluent in English, I don’t know how that would be possible….

    You have such a cool family! πŸ™‚

  9. That is the coolest thing ever. I’ve always wanted to speak a bunch of languages!! Also that title cracked me up too πŸ˜‰

  10. With that many languages, he’s clearly an overachiever. πŸ™‚ I mean, at this point he’s pretty much just showing off, right?

    Also the six-year-old will tell you straight off that she is NOT bilingual, because she speaks MANY languages, such as English, Czech, Slovak, Hungarian, Chinese, French, Russian and Italian. She only knows about one word each of the last five, but she doesn’t really mention that part as often.

    Glad you liked the food πŸ™‚

  11. Awww. You and your sisters= The cutest. I love then and now photos. And I am always so impressed when I watch kiddos easily go from one language to another. And your title cracks me up too. You ARE funny. πŸ˜‰

  12. This post pretty much goes down as having one of THE most awesome titles! Ha ha. And, Girl, I could show you pics of hair-gone-wrong too. πŸ˜‰ There’s one in particular that I would never let anyone see, because my hair is like an affro… and I’m wearing braces for the first time. It definitely wasn’t my best look, but I was happy, so I guess that’s all that matters. Ha, ha.

    • :D!! I love how you encourage me with my ridiculous sense of humor, haha!

      Oh man, when we get together someday we will have to share old photos of ourselves. You are probably one of the few people who will understand my crazy fro, haha!

  13. aww, love when you share stories about your sisters – you can tell how much they mean to you πŸ™‚ and how neat that she met him in the czech republic? i went to prague for a weekend while studying abroad and just loved it. also- awesome photo you did – have you ever thought about doing photography professionally?

  14. Love the title! And I love the flashback picture. πŸ™‚

    How AMAZING that your sister and her family know so many languages. That is such a cool thing.

    • I know, right?! I’m proud of myself when I can speak a smattering of a couple of languages so to actually be fluent in multiple languages is super impressive! My younger sister has a real gift for languages too. Somehow that gene skipped me, haha!

  15. Wow! I wish I was bi-lingual, let alone seven. What a beautiful family!

  16. Oh my goodness, seven languages is IMPRESSIVE! And so cute that the kids can switch back and forth. I tried to say the title of the cookbook, just because I had to, and I can assure you that I botched it up too! Haha.

  17. 7 languages??? whoa!!i feel fancy faking my way through spanish, hehe, but 7 is dang crazy amazing and awesome! i would probably bring that up in every convo. like: where’s the post office? Idk, but I speak 7 languages! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

