Where Time Slows Down

This past weekend we went out to the country house (my grandfather & step grandmother’s house) to spend some time with my family.

dk and carolinΒ My grandfather, Daddy Ken, and his wife of 4 years, Mrs. Carolin. Both of their spouses passed away and they both planned to stay single afterward, but it turns out they fell in love instead. I am so thankful for Mrs. Carolin. She has brought so much joy to my grandfather’s life and I love her for that. πŸ™‚

chipsMy Aunt Beth loves crunchy things – especially chips, so in honor of her recent birthday we all brought our favorite chips!Β We had cracked salt & pepper, Memphis rib BBQ, jalapeno, roasted garlic & salt, and Voodoo flavored chips. They were all delicious!

DSC_0663Our lunch was a feast of BBQ with all the best sides! Plus the bonus of fresh fruit and veggies for the more health conscious among us (that was not me. I ate fruit for dessert, but definitely not in place of a BBQ sandwich, haha!)

yoyosAfter lunch we got out a bag of yoyos (Mrs. Carolin used to be a champ yoyo-er!) and began to play! I haven’t played with a yoyo since I was a kid, but it’s amazing how quickly it all comes back. It’s funny how accomplished I felt just getting the yoyo to come back up to me, ha! Mrs. Carolin was over there walking the dog and rocking the cradle and doing all kinds of tricks and I was just proud to make it come back to me, ha! But it was a lot of fun! πŸ™‚

farm fresh eggsWe went down to visit the chickens and gather the eggs!

maisy with a giant stickMaisy found a giant stick to trot around with (look how pleased she is with herself, haha!)

christopherChristopher rocked in a rocking chair on the wrap around porch (naturally a must-do for every trip to the country)

turquoise pyrex I discovered thisΒ turquoise Pyrex dish on their front porch and fell in love with it! They were using it as a water dish for their cats and weren’t attached to it particularly. Mrs. Carolin told me to clean it up and take it home which I happily did. It’s gorgeous isn’t it?! I want to find more pieces like this!

rach and daddykenAnd one last shot. This is me with my Daddy Ken. He is literally one of my favorite people in the entire world. He is such a blessing to Christopher and I and to all those around him. I am so lucky to have been blessed with him in my life for the past 26 years!

We had a wonderful day with family and just relaxing out in the country where time slows down just a little. πŸ™‚
Love Rach

26 responses to “Where Time Slows Down

  1. These pictures are wonderful. You look like you have such an amazing family. Also, I am SO bad at yoyoing. It never comes back to me! haha

  2. There’s something so therapeutic about spending time in the country. Both sets of my grandparents live there as well. So glad that your grandfather is so happy..these pictures are wonderful!

    • All my grandparents lived in cities when I was growing up so when Daddy Ken married Mrs. Carolin a few years ago and they moved out to the country I wasn’t so sure about it. But he loves it out there and even though I may be a city girl, I sure do love to visit the country. πŸ™‚ You’re right, it is therapeutic!

  3. This does look like a relaxing weekend!

  4. gathering the eggs is something that sounds so wholesome and.. well.. fun (bonus that it makes for such good pictures). love how you all brought your favorite chips – makes for a fun assortment (i love voodoo flavor!! — learned about that in new orleans )

  5. I love the idea of bringing favorite chips!! A fun way to contribute some variety to the spread.

    All of these pictures make me feel very peaceful. It looks like it was a wonderful weekend.

  6. chips are a absolute must for bbq.! happy st patricks day

  7. Aw, what a fun time! I love that dish–the color and detail are beautiful!

  8. So sweet! What exactly do Voodoo flavored chips taste like?! And yoyo champions? Who knew?! Sounds like such a great trip with your family. πŸ™‚ I’ve seen dishes like those in antique stores, mostly yellow and green ones though, I’ve never seen that color!

  9. I love that Pyrex, it looks like an older version. Those are my favorite. What a gorgeous weekend! I am in love with that photo of the eggs in the basket!

  10. That Pyrex is gorgeous! It looks like y’all had an amazing time, and I love all the little memories you recreated.

  11. It looks like you had such a nice, relaxing weekend! It’s cute to see you all trying out the yo-yo! πŸ™‚

  12. There is something about the country that is just so relaxing! So glad you had a great weekend. I love that Pyrex dish. The color is so pretty! πŸ™‚

  13. I don’t know how I missed this post! I’ve never heard of half those chip flavours…I’m curious now haha. And those pictures are gorgeous. Being in the country is the best!

Leave a Reply

