Memphis Chalk Festival!

Last week I took the kids I nanny to the Chalk Festival at the Brooks Museum in midtown. Kelsi (one of my teens) came with us and we met up with my friend, Courtney, and her daughter, Hadley. We had a blast!

brooksThis is the front of the Brooks Museum. We arrived a few minutes early so we could get a good spot. All this space filled up quickly, though!

chalk festivalMostly it was younger children with parents, but there were a couple of professional artists as well!

chalk art3That is CHALK, you guys! Yeah, our art definitely didn’t look that impressive, haha!

chalk Chalk! And little boy hands about to get all kinds of dirty

chalk art2Some of our art work. All the smudged parts on the left are places where we had drawn something and then either Mallory or Hadley would sit on it. It all ended up as one giant smudge on that side, haha! But that’s part of the fun, right? 😉

hadley2Hadley getting her chalk on

will and mal chalk Will and Mallory drawing!

will and mal2Will and Mallory with some of their art

kelsi hula hoopAfter we finished drawing, it was hula hoop time! Kelsi’s a pro! 🙂

mal hula hoopMallory is not so much a pro, but she sure did love playing with the hula hoops!

Oh! And guess what! We made the news! Well, Will did. And Kelsi’s back (pink backpack). And my knee and arm, haha! Check it out at seconds 0:45-0:49! We had a great time and I’m so glad we were able to go. 🙂

Love Rach

26 responses to “Memphis Chalk Festival!

  1. That sounds like SOooo MUCH fun! I love simple, fun times like that!! A chalk festival is SUCH a great idea. 🙂

  2. You are the best nanny ever! That looks like so much fun! I wish we had stuff like that here! That one chalk drawing is amazing!!!

  3. This museum looks so cool!!! I love seeing chalk are like that. It’s amazing what they can create!

  4. This looks like such a fun festival. I used to love drawing with chalk on the pavement as a kid.

  5. I love it! So simple and fun! Chalk is a very cool thing.

  6. Eeee! How fun! I can’t wait to take Brynlee to stuff like this!

  7. looks like such a fun day- i wish i could have tagged along 🙂

  8. Aw, this looks like so much fun! Chalk art is the coolest. When I was little I used to love drawing with chalk!

  9. A Chalk festival? How fun!

  10. Wow, a chalk festival sounds like such a cool experience!! And the kiddos you babysit? They’re just SO cute. I can’t get over it 🙂

  11. That’s some impressive chalk art!! And those are some adorable kids. So cool that you guys made the news!

  12. This looks like so much fun!!

  13. What a neat festival! I wish we had things like that where I live!

Leave a Reply

