So sick of being sick

When I was in college and grad school, I got sick all the time. I didn’t sleep enough, I didn’t eat right, and I was stressed all the time. That’s a recipe for a low immune system. However, ever since then, I have stayed really pretty healthy. Every winter I get a cold or two, but seldom anything too major. Well, this year, as you guys know, I ended up with a horrible case of bacterial strep throat. It’s the sickest Christopher has ever seen me so I felt like I have more than paid my “sick dues” for this year.

Unfortunately, the norovirus didn’t agree.

The kids I nanny both had it last week so I knew it was coming, but nothing could prepare me for just how bad it would be. 4:45am-5:45am yesterday was possibly the most miserable and painful hour of my entire life. I was really trying to remember if I’ve ever felt worse than that in my entire 26 years of life. You guys, it was awful. But the good news is that I am feeling much better today. Mostly just tired.Β Right now I am just praying that we all get better soon (both the kids started up with it again yesterday). And especially that Christopher doesn’t get it. So far he’s the only one who hasn’t had it (both the kids’ parents have had it too).

On a totally unrelated (and much happier) note, I have been scanning old family photos and came across this gem the other day:

1988 dad and kidsThat’s my dad, my brother (Matt), my sister (Holly), and me on top. Ah, a classic awkward family photo. This shot cracks me up. Definitely better to focus on than all the sickness. πŸ™‚

Love Rach

 

41 responses to “So sick of being sick

  1. Girlfriend, I’m with you. Haven’t been poorly in four years, but this year? I’ve lost my voice on two occasions. It’s finally just coming back from round two! Feel better soon, and cute pic!

  2. My gosh, feel better & stay better! Love the pic!

  3. I hope you feel better soon, friend. 😦 You poor thing.

    The photo is adorable.

  4. Hope you are feeling better! Drink some ginger tea! That helps so much! Also, that family picture is too cute!

  5. Hope you feel better soon! It is definitely stressful when your immune system just doesn’t want to do its job!

  6. dude i had the noroviros a few years ago – the WORST. i had it again in 2012 and my goodness it was just as horrible then.
    praise God for toilets AND trashcans!
    i’m glad you’re starting to feel better. my immune system has sucked lately too.

  7. I’m never sick either, and I’ve had two bad colds and one 24 hour virus so far this winter. I don’t know if it was norovirus or what it was but I was absolutely miserable for a full 24 hours, and very tired and weak for another 5 days.

  8. Oh no! Hope you get better soon!

  9. omg rach, that’s awful. Hope you never get that again in your life!

  10. There’s really nothing worse than the flu! I had a bad case a few years ago, and I thought that I was going to die! I’m SO glad that you’re starting to feel better!!! πŸ™‚

  11. awww, Feel better!! πŸ™‚

  12. Oh no!!! I hope you feel better so very soon!

  13. Feel better soon, girl! That photo is hilarious. It reminds me of photos I took with all of my siblings when we were little!

  14. Oh bless your heart!!! I knew several people who had it, and they said it was the worse. Glad you’re feeling a little better now. Hope you’re 100% soon!

  15. Oh no, norovirus is brutal!! I’ve never had it, but a few friends/family members have, and, UGH! Hope you get better really soon, and that Christopher doesn’t get it!! And that picture is ADORABLE!!

  16. Oh no! Hope you get to feeling better soon. And that picture is awesome!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  17. aww, wish i could bring over soup and ice cream- hope you feel better soon πŸ™‚

  18. Oh nooo 😦 Hope you feel better!! Travis was feeling sick yesterday so I made a point to stay away from him πŸ™‚ Love that picture!

  19. Pingback: BLT Pasta |

  20. I just googled norovirus and that does not sound like fun! Hope you feel better soon!! In the meantime get lots of rest, watch lots of TV, and make sure you’re getting enough fluids!

    • Thanks girl! I am feeling much better today! And you’d be proud of the ridiculous amount of shows I caught up on yesterday that have been hanging out in my Hulu queue for way too long. That’s pretty much all I did yesterday, haha!

  21. I am so sorry that you weren’t feeling good! I hate getting sick. I sure hope you feel better love!

Leave a Reply

