Daddy Ken’s Tour of Memphis

My parents were in town this weekend!

mom and dadMe with my dad and mom from last summer πŸ™‚

They asked my grandfather, Daddy Ken to give us his tour of Memphis. Where he went to barber college, all the places he’s lived, where he went to church, where relatives are buried, etc. It was a lot of fun! I took lots of video of him at each place and plan to put it together as a little mini Memphis documentary of his life. πŸ™‚

first homeThis is the house where Daddy Ken and Momma Billie rented a room just after they got secretly married! She had just turned 17 and he was 22 so they ran off to Mississippi for the day, took a year from his age and added it to hers, and got married in secret. Scandal! πŸ˜‰

quince houseThis is the house my mom grew up in! That’s her in the blue dress (along with her sister and Daddy Ken) back in 1963. On the right is Daddy Ken in front of the house from this weekend.

dee houseThis is the next house that Daddy Ken owned over in Mayfair Park. My mom spent her teen years in this house and I grew up always knowing this house when I came to visit them. The shot on the left is of me with two of my sisters (I’m the curly headed one) in 1990 and the shot on the right is of Daddy Ken this past weekend.

daddy ken barber shopDaddy Ken in front of his old barber shop! He was a barber for his entire adult life (other than a short stint as a painter which he quickly realized wasn’t for him).

dad and topherWe spent some time walking around cemeteries as well. I know that may seem strange, but I grew up doing this with my family so it’s always seemed totally normal to me, haha! That’s Christopher and my dad talking together.

topherSpeaking of my husband… look how handsome he is! πŸ™‚

virsie virdiaThese are the gravestones of two of my great-grandmothers. Virsie and Virdia. There is an on-going joke in our family that Christopher and I are expected to name our first daughter Virsie Virdia Vendetti. Yeah, our poor child. I’m not sure if that’s better or worse than naming my daughter Leonidas, haha!

Hope you guys had a great weekend!
Love Rach

22 responses to “Daddy Ken’s Tour of Memphis

  1. OH, this is an excellent post! I hope you will share the movie with us too. πŸ™‚

  2. How neat! I love that your Daddy Ken was a barber – that’s really a necessary trade. Also my grandparents eloped too! My great-grandma found out when she checked the mail one day and saw an Army check addressed to Mrs. JB Armstrong (my grandpa, who was a wild child that my great-grandparents DID not want my grandma marrying). Oops!

  3. What a neat little walk through history!

  4. Oh wow! What a great visit! I love hearing about grandparents past! The story of them secretly getting married is great! I’m sure their parents didn’t appreciate it, but it’s great now!

  5. optimistichealth

    It’s always interesting to see the lives people lived by reading the gravestones at the cemetery. Weird, but interesting ha! Glad you got have your grandpa in town for the weekend, they’re the best especially their stories!

  6. How fun! Love all of these old pictures. Sounds like you had a great weekend!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  7. So sweet that you can see where your Grandparents spent so much of their lives! And such a sweet story about them getting married…rebels πŸ˜‰ And my family does the cemetery thing too!

    Also, for some reason, I didn’t know how far your blog went until I clicked the Leonidas link…holy moly! Also, those are exciting name choices haha.

    • You’re right, they were little rebels! But they were married 50+ years so I guess it was a good decision, haha! I’m glad we’re not the only ones who do the cemetery thing!

      Yuuup, I’ve been blogging a long time. Like since I was a teenager with a Xanga. I didn’t blog much in college, but I picked it back up a little after we got married (with a recipe blog I updated once a week). I switched from that to wordpress in Nov of 2010 and went back to really blogging then. I just love having a place where I can have a daily scrapbook journal of our life. And I LOVE all the friendships I’ve formed from it! πŸ™‚

  8. This was such a nice post! Also, you look so much like your mom!!

  9. This is such a sweet post! I always find family stories so interesting πŸ™‚

  10. Haha I’m not so sure about the triple V baby name. πŸ™‚ What a special day to be able to tour through so many special memories!

  11. Now you can give me a tour if I ever come up there πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

