A Few Things You May Not Know About Me

It occurred to me the other day that there are some things that you guys might not know about me. So naturally my over-sharing-nature decided I needed to fill you guys in!

I don’t like water near my eyes. I love to be at the beach and swim, but if my eyes get wet (say if I go under water) I have to wipe at my eyes repeatedly before I’ll open them. I hate the idea of getting chlorine, salt water, or shampoo in my eyes!

kissing on the beach in cozumelBut I do LOVE the beach! This is us in Cozumel a couple of years ago. 🙂

If there is a food I really like, I save it for last. If I have a plate full of options, I’ll try a bite or two of everything then rank it in my mind and eat it in order from least favorite to most favorite. I recently discovered that my mom does this too. It must be genetic. 😛 I never thought much about it until people would ask if I didn’t like something on my plate when in reality it was my favorite thing. I’m just saving the best for last!

1989 (186)Me as a 2 year old enjoying my cake like a boss!

I graduated high school when I was 16. I turned 17 that July and started college two weeks later. Which meant that I graduated from college in May of 2008 at age 20. I turned 21 that July and married my bestie 2 weeks later in August. Young, young, young. But it has been awesome. 🙂

hs grad16-year-old high school graduate!

I don’t like to eat alone. Maybe it’s a growing-up-in-a-big-family thing, but I think of eating as a communal time. I love to cook and prepare a delicious meal, but not just for myself. On the rare occasion that Christopher and I aren’t together at dinner time I end up eating a bowl of cereal or leftovers most of the time. 😉

dinnerI definitely wasn’t eating alone this night! (Christmas Party last year)

I hate for my hands to be sticky. I can handle dirt and mud okay (as long as I can get cleaned up after I’m done), but sticky textures really get me. I didn’t realize this about myself or even that it was strange until Christopher and I put pictures up on Facebook of us carving pumpkins our first year of marriage. I was wearing latex gloves so I wouldn’t have to touch the pumpkin pulp. I took lots of (good natured) flack for that. 😉  I have worked on conquering this by making lots of homemade bread and kneading it by hand.

carving pumpkins with glovesThe incriminating photo I got teased for. 😉

When I get the hiccups (which thankfully isn’t often), they they shake my whole chest and are super loud. This has been the cause of more than one awkward moment.

Speaking of awkward moments… I have far more of those than I would like to admit. Sometimes I open my mouth and words I didn’t plan just happen to come out. Never anything mean about someone else, but typically something personal. And then I get flustered so then I try to backpedal, but unfortunately the over-sharing has already happened, haha! Oh, and the later it gets at night, the more my filter drops. My friends in college thought this was awesome.

duct tape roomiesThe night my freshman year roomies duct taped my mouth shut. It was like 2am. And we were all a little crazy sleep deprived. And it was hilarious. We laughed so much that night. Ah, good memories… 🙂

I have a tattoo.

tattoo

…just kidding, Mom. Just wanted to make sure you were still paying attention. 😉 (though if I could ever decide on one thing that I liked permanently, I would totally get one!) {source}

I actually am scared of the Boogie Man being under my bed. Okay, maybe not the “Boogie Man,” but definitely of someone breaking into the house and hiding under my bed to murder me.

fearsMy freshman year of college I was asked about my most irrational fear. I shared it and next thing you know it was in the school paper. 😉

I really love dogs. I loved most animals growing up (including an obsession with horses during my kid years), but I have always had an extra special place in my heart for dogs. Our dog is definitely like our child. Sometimes I have to stop and remind myself that there really are people out there who don’t like dogs.

dogsJust kidding 😉 

I actually have several others, but this post is getting so long that I thought I’d stop here and cut it in half, haha! So tell me, anyone have similar quirks?
Love Rach

45 responses to “A Few Things You May Not Know About Me

  1. I do the SAME thing with food!! I always save my favorite for last. I also hate for my hands to be dirty (so that includes sticky!).

    Loved learning these little things about you, friend!

    • I’m glad that I’m not the only one who hates for my hands to be sticky! And you and I will have a blast eating together. We’ll both be able to watch each other eat and know what we like BEST! Though that sounds kinda creepy when I write about us watching each other eat, haha! Anyway, I’m glad you relate! 🙂

  2. Hahahaa, I do the same thing when I’m eating. I start with the worst to get it out of the way (but let’s be real, I love ALL food, so I just start with my least favorite) and end with my favorite! Sometimes it backfires because then I’m full by the time I get around to my favorite. I loved reading these about you!

    • YES!! This is exactly it! And I know what you mean, I do end up full on the other stuff sometimes before I get around to my favorite food. If I start to sense that I’m getting full then I’ll dive right into my favorite. 😉 I love that you are with me on this. 🙂

  3. I hate eating alone too!! If Steve isn’t home and I have to eat by myself, I always turn on the t.v., so there’s at least someone talking haha. And obviously you know that I can’t believe there are people who don’t like dogs. We have friends who don’t like when dogs lick them (and inevitably they’re the ones that Max wants to lick), but I don’t know if I actually know anyone who flat out doesn’t like them!

    • I do that too!!! If Christopher isn’t home, then I am definitely eating in front of the TV. It gives me that strange semblance of not being alone, haha!

      And Oreo is like that too! He can always tell which of our friends don’t like dogs and those are the people he wants to be around the most. I tell myself that it’s because he’s trying to win them over by how adorable he is, but in truth he is probably just being a brat. “Oh, you don’t like dogs? Well let me shed all over you! Mwhahaha!” 😉

  4. love this list! especially the little prank on your mom 😉
    we have a few things in common!!!

  5. We have so many things in common! I eat my favorite thing last, hate stick hands (I don’t like dirt either though), hate eating alone, and hate water in my eyes! Love you!!!

  6. I LOVED this post so much!!!! 🙂 I definitely do the same thing with food, so I get it! The best food should definitely be savored at the end of the meal. 😉 I can’t swim underwater with my eyes open either, AND I can’t even put eye drops in my eyes most of the time. Ha, ha. So I’m like you in that way too!!

    • YES! The best food should definitely be savored at the end! I am with you! Glad you get where I’m coming from! 🙂

      Oh girl, I definitely am with you on not being able to open my eyes under water. And oh man, eyedrops are the WORST! I am like a toddler still with stuff like that. Thankfully I don’t wear contacts or have to deal with anything in my eyes very frequently. 🙂

  7. You’ve mentioned this before, but we definitely are similar, haha! Water on my eyes, sticky hands, dropping my filter late at night, loving dogs…. I love it! Haha 🙂

  8. This is so cute & lighthearted, it really gave my spirit a lift! Thank you!

  9. i save my favorite food for last too!! haha, that tattoo one made me chuckle. happy friday!

    • Yay! I’m glad you are with me on saving favorite foods for last! 🙂 And girl, I wish I could love a tattoo design long enough to actually get one. I am always changing my mind about what I want. When we were in Italy last year I fell in love with an anchor design that I saw in the Christian catacombs (we learned that the anchors were an old symbol of Christian faith). Anyway, I’ve always liked anchors and I loved that it was a symbol of the Christian faith and it tied me to Italy… perfect! Except that this year is apparently the year that anchors are trendy and I don’t want something permanent on my body that is trendy for just a year. *sigh* Someday I’ll find the perfect thing! Haha!

  10. Woah!! I do that with my food too!! On burgers or sandwiches, I’ll get the outside and save the best stuff in the middle for last!

  11. so cute!

    I’m obsessed with the number 7. It has to be in my alarm time to wake up. I count things and like to end in some kind of a 7. (or multiples of 7). If Jared’s tee time doesn’t have a 7 in it, I add the numbers up or do something crazy for them to equal 7 or a multiple of 7. The list goes on…

    I JUST LOVE THE NUMBER 7!!!!!!

  12. You are so cute. I regularly read about 10 blogs, of which yours is one. And this post solidifies of why that is the case. It’s so real and adorable. AND the tattoo after which you lust is so cute and adorable and perfect. I wondered, for a while, about where I’d found such a cute blog. But then I made the connection with Brittany. Yes, thank you, Blissful Brit. Very good job with entertaining my heart and brain. Because you do! And Oreo, too. 🙂

  13. I do the same thing with my food too. And I also am guilty of the late night talking. Stessie used to call it the “after 10 comments”.

    • The best food should definitely be savored for last! 🙂

      And I’m glad I’m not the only one who loses my filter a little bit late at night, haha! I was thinking back to when we stayed up until midnight chatting last month. I am definitely an over-sharer the later it gets, but I’m guessing you know that about me. 😉

  14. I do the same thing when I get out of a pool!!

  15. I hate stuff on my hands!! PS. I totally knew that wasn’t your tattoo 😉

  16. graduated high school when you were 16? gah! you must be quite the smart one 🙂 and you know what? i’ve never thought about it – but i don’t like to eat alone either – meals should be communal 🙂

  17. I have a similar food-eating strategy, but without the ranking system. Almost always, I only eat one food on my plate at a time until its either gone or I’ve eaten as much of it as I’m going to. I don’t pay much attention to it unless someone points it out to me!

  18. I love this post! I am the same with food on my plate. I always save my favorite for last! 🙂

  19. I have a weird food thing too that I totally inherited from my dad! I eat eat thing separately. Like, I eat one thing, then I eat the next, etc. I can’t take a bite of one thing, then take a bite of something else. Apparently, this is really bizarre. Loved learning more about you!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  20. so interesting!! i have a friend who eats the fave thing first and then the other stuff. or another who will eat all of each item before moving onto the next thing.

  21. This was so much fun to read!! I had no idea that you graduated high school and college so young! And young marriage for the win!! The dog ecard made me crack up, too!

  22. I have the same thing with hiccups! Hate it. Also wow you graduated young! Making me feel like an old lady for graduating college at 22 hahaha

    • Haha! Graduating at 22 is totally normal! That’s when most of our friends graduated (somewhere between 22-23). Christopher graduated the day before his birthday so he was technically still 21 so he likes to say that he graduated at 21 even though he was practically 22. 😉

  23. Pingback: 14 Random Things |

Leave a Reply

