Sometimes I let my guard drop and it’s okay

Christopher and I often travel on the weekends, but lately we’ve been home more. Which means that we’ve kind of fallen into a wonderful weekend pattern. It starts with homemade pizza and a movie on Friday night (though we’ve always done that). And then Saturday we sleep in!! Until like 7, haha! And then we usually runΒ errands, do house projects, and spend time outside with Oreo. And Saturday nights have become the night we hang out with Β Brodie and Lyndal. We became fast friends with them when they moved to Memphis last summer and we hang out at least once or twice a week anyway, but this past weekend really solidified in my mind why I love them so much.

us with brodie and lyndalThe four of us together from Savannah’s wedding last November

This past Saturday we were eating downtown at Kooky Canuck’s (a favorite of ours – I’ve blogged about it before!) and “Happy” by Pharrell came on the juke box. Both Lyndal and I start tapping our toes and bopping our heads to the beat. We laughed as a little girl at the table next to us, got up and actually started dancing in the middle of the restaurant. We notice a guy across the way is head-bopping too. Next thing I know, Lyndal and I are full out seat-dancing (you know, where you stay seated, but everything else is still moving, haha!). You guys, we are in the middle of a restaurant and we are dancing and singing (It’s a noisy place, though so we weren’t being disruptive – this isn’t a place for a quiet date). No alcohol involved here. This is just us being us. Then another song came on that we loved. And another. I can’t tell you how long we danced and sang. The best part was that our husbands both smiled and laughed and let us sing to them. No shame. No embarrassment.

rach and lyndalA shot of me and Lyndal from the Girls’ Retreat looking mighty fine in our comfy clothes. πŸ˜‰

I have these total-drop-my-guard moments and often I feel like I need to mask it. Be polite. Don’t be weird. Don’t draw attention to yourself. But I love that when I let that slip around Brodie and Lyndal they not only don’t judge, but join right in. This is a huge reason I love Christopher. He has never been embarrassed to be around me even when I don’t think before I act/speak sometimes. So that same love just overflows right to Brodie and Lyndal too. πŸ™‚Β Don’t get me wrong, though. I am thankful for all my friends! Each ones brings out good in me and I love them for that. But after this weekend I now realize one more reason why I love Brodie & Lyndal so much. πŸ™‚ It was a great, let-loose kinda weekend! πŸ™‚

Love Rach

 

35 responses to “Sometimes I let my guard drop and it’s okay

  1. THESE are the types of people you must continue to surround yourself with. The ones that encourage you to be YOU and continue to seat dance!! I love it, I would have been right there movin and groovin with you guys!

  2. I love this post πŸ™‚ People you can be weird with are the best kind of people!

  3. I was soooooo excited when I did stuff like that on the first date with Jared (MY HUBBY NOW) and he totally didn’t care! Now, two years later, he does that stuff WITH me!!! love it!! God couldn’t have put us with anyone else! πŸ˜‰

    • Yeah! I know exactly what you mean. Christopher and I were really close friends before we started dating so he definitely knew what he was in for before we became official. πŸ˜‰ It’s so great to be with someone who not only accepts you as you are, but loves you for it! πŸ™‚

  4. Those are the BEST kind of people to surround yourself with! What good friends you have. πŸ™‚

  5. It’s friends that make you feel comfortable being your amazing weird self that are the best!! I definitely have friends like that, and I LOVE being with them!

  6. Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend! We eat pizza every Friday night. Ohhh which reminds me, if you haven’t already, you need to try the new Lost Pizza. We have it here and it just opened in Memphis, and it is SO good!! I made my parents go opening weekend because it is that good.

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  7. That is amazing! It’s so necessary to be silly sometimes. πŸ™‚

  8. I love this. It is so important to just be you and have people see that, respect it, and love you for it.

  9. This sounds like the best time! Good friends are such a blessing!

  10. It’s such a great feeling to have a mate and friends that let you be yourself and don’t mind when you act a little silly or crazy! I’ve always stuck by the “be yourself” motto! So glad you guys found each other!

  11. Aww, this is so cute!! And I’m a total seat dancer/car dancer/ kind of embarrassing in public too, so I’m even more convinced than I already was that we would get along perfectly (not that I needed convincing haha). Friends who you can be completely comfortable being yourself around are the best kind!

  12. Haha awww I love you! Come hang out/dance with meeee!!

  13. love that! i’m actually a car dancer myself πŸ˜‰

  14. I love letting lose sometimes!! Dancing is necessary sometimes πŸ™‚

  15. such a sweet post about your friend — isn’t it wonderful when we find someone that lets us be our unique and silly self? and even better bonus when the husbands are also friends?? so happy.

  16. That is so sweet! It is good to let your guard down.

  17. Pingback: A Good Friend |

Leave a Reply

