Passover

As you guys know, Christopher and I are Christians. Neither of us are Jewish by religion or race, but Christianity came out of Judaism. And in honor of that, we try to remember the long-ago deep roots of our faith. So every year we celebrate Passover.

tableThe Passover table

Passover is a time to pass on the story. Not only how God brought Israel out of Egypt, but also how Jesus came to be our perfect sacrifice. And a wonderful opportunity to pass the story on to our children. So many things are different about the night that we celebrate Passover that children always ask questions like: “why do we sit on the floor tonight?”, “why do we have to eat the bitter herbs?”, “why does everyone wear white?” etc. These questions give us ample opportunity to pass on the stories and traditions.

plateMatzah, horseradish sauce, parsley (to dip in salt water as bitter herbs), and charoset (apple and honey mixture).  This is the plate we begin with. Each part of it symbolizes part of the story we read (both from the Exodus from Egypt and of Jesus’ death & resurrection).

foodAnd then after the first two hours of story telling, it is time to FEAST! We always eat lamb, but the rest of the meal is based on what everyone decides to bring.

roasted garlic mashed potatoesI made creamy garlic mashed potatoes. You guys… these are unreasonably delicious. And I’m not the only that thinks so. I had several people rave about them to me so I think it’s a definite winner!

creamy garlic mashed potatoes{Click recipe card to see larger. Recipe adapted from Pillsbury.com}

passoverChatting during the meal part of the Passover

I am thankful for Jesus.
I am thankful that He came.
I am thankful that He took on my sin and died for me.
And I am thankful that He rose again!
Easter is coming, my friends! Resurrection Sunday! 🙂

Love Rach

26 responses to “Passover

  1. I love the photo at the end. It represents everything you just described.

    Also, I’ll take a large plate of those potatoes. Yum!

  2. I always loved doing passover! What a great time to stop to remember.

  3. I remember doing this when I was younger with my youth scripture study class — it was a really neat experience and made the story of Moses come alive. 🙂

  4. I love that y’all do this. So good!

  5. I neeeed to try those potatoes, they look unreal!

  6. I love that you guys have this tradition! We’ve never done passover, but I think it would be neat to try. The food looks delicious, too 🙂

  7. This feast looks amazing! Such a great way to truly remember the reason for the holiday. 🙂 And those potatoes…. yummm

  8. I love that you share Passover with friends! My favorite part is the matzah ball soup and normally I can’t stand matzah but I’ve been eating it every single day. 🙂 It’s so good with butter. Those mashed potatoes look heavenly!

  9. i was raised christian, but my dad’s family is jewish, so i celebrate passover too!

  10. That is really cool that you guys do that! I would love to experience a true Jewish Passover.

  11. Pingback: Dayenu |

  12. Pingback: Thoughts this Monday morning |

Leave a Reply

