A Good Friend

Last week I shared a little about how grateful I am for my sweet friend Lyndal. And I wanted to clarify something. I love all my friends. Yeah, I have some friends who would be embarrassed if they had been with me that night. But that doesn’t make them bad friends who don’t “get me.” It means that they don’t like attention drawn toward them from people they don’t know. They are the more quiet and unassuming of my friends. And I try to be respectful of their desire to not have an entire restaurant staring at our table. 😉

So why be friends with people who I “can’t be myself” with? Well, I am myself with them. There is more to me than a girl who wants to let loose and dance in public. These more shy friends don’t bat an eyelash when I’m dancing around in private (because at this point, they are used to my flavor of weird, haha!). It really is only when we’re out in the big World together with strangers around. So to me a good friend isn’t just someone who I can be crazy with in public (though that certainly is an amazing perk of being friends with Lyndal).

To me a good friend is someone who loves me.
Who respects me.
Who listens to me.
Who offers counsel.
Who helps me pursue my dreams.
Who shares similar passions.
Who prays for me.
Who prays with me.
Who shares life with me.

And I have been blessed with many many of these women.

sistersLike my sisters. Who are stuck with me forever no matter what. 😀

the girlsLike my best friends from college (us last year).

with CaseyLike my sweet Casey. Who I actually met via blogging. And she symbolizes so many of you ladies who I love, but haven’t had a chance to meet yet!  So many of you fit the criteria for “good friend” up there and I am thankful for you!

bestiesAnd like the amazing group of women I have been blessed to live life with here in Memphis.

So yeah, Lyndal is awesome. And she fits this criteria of a good friend. But I just wanted to be sure that I clarified how blessed I am to have friends of all different personalities. And how that’s awesome. 🙂

Love Rach

21 responses to “A Good Friend

  1. Awe this just made my day, week, month, year haha!!! I love you and can not wait to see y’all!!!!

  2. Wonderful post, you are blessed with MANY great friends!!

  3. Love this post. There is nothing like a good girlfriend. 🙂

  4. I think that it’s great that you are so blessed with lots of wonderful friends. You can tell that you really appreciate them. Lovely post! 🙂

  5. a wonderful post on the true meaning of friendship!

  6. I must say, you have excellent taste in friends. 🙂 That criteria is perfect! I’m so glad that you are surrounded by so many wonderful people.

  7. This is why I love you….you always want everyone to feel loved. You my dear are a good friend! 🙂

    • Haha! That’s exactly why I wrote this post! I didn’t want anyone to get the wrong idea and think I didn’t love my more quiet friends as well. And I definitely want one of them to read my previous post and think I was sad that they weren’t so crazy in public with me, haha!

  8. Friendship is such a beautiful thing! 🙂

  9. Aw! I love this! Finding someone you connect with is so special 🙂

  10. Awwww I love that Memphis picture!! 🙂

  11. Pingback: Surrounded {learning life lessons} |

Leave a Reply

