An Epic Win

The university I graduated from puts on a yearly show called “Spring Sing” where different fraternities and sororities (called “social clubs” at our school) put together a 7 minute song & dance routine to tell a story. I was part of it two years while at Harding and it was super fun. I enjoy going back and seeing it every year. This year had, by far, the most epic performance I’ve ever seen (except naturally the two I was in previously, haha!). The Knights social club at Harding is known for many things and one of those things is that for the last 14 years, Knights has boycotted Spring Sing. Until this year. And they suddenly made Spring Sing epic. I mean, really… just watch this (skip the first 50 seconds – that’s just the intro by the hosts):

Did you watch it? Because really… you should. There’s a nod to Les Mis, the Beatles, Titanic, and Wrecking Ball, haha! Oh, and by the way, my cousin Max is one of the huge stars of this show. He played several parts including being one of the Beatles!

max and friendsMy cousin, Max, is the super tall one. After their performance I told him that while I’m always proud to be related to him, I am EVEN more proud now! {photo taken from Max’s Facebook}

Oh, and by the way, I’m not the only one who thought they were amazing. They won every single prize. 1st place in all the categories. I’ve heard a rumor that this has happened once before in all the years of Spring Sing history, but still – amazing! It was incredible. The whole crowd was giving them a standing ovation! It really was epic. πŸ™‚

knights winThey won! Max is in the front rowΒ behindΒ the giant check they won (it goes to the charity of their choice). {Photo by Jeff Montgomery}

Also, while I was on campus I had a chance to sit down for coffee with one of my sweet girls. It was so great to catch up with her and hear how college has been! πŸ™‚

rach and carleeMe and Carlee after our coffee date

I love walking around my alma mater and seeing all the changes. I have some awesome memories of my time at Harding and I love being on campus. And it was pretty epic to see my cousin’s club win everything at Spring Sing! πŸ™‚

Love Rach

16 responses to “An Epic Win

  1. Yes, I watched it, and it was GREAT! Very enjoyable! I’m typing ads, but this break was greatly appreciated. πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing! You shoot steady video that is in focus, not an easy task!

    • Oh! I should’ve mentioned… I didn’t actually take that video. Technically you’re not really supposed to film Spring Sing so I didn’t. But several people still did and then put it on Youtube, haha! So I found that video from someone else who was there and filmed it. πŸ™‚ But they did do a good job filming it! πŸ™‚

  2. Wow that was amazing!! I’m so glad you recorded it and put it on your blog! That made my day. πŸ™‚ So talented!

    -Tia

    • Weeell… I actually didn’t record it, haha! I found that video on Youtube from their performance. I should’ve mentioned that. But still, it was amazing! I’m glad someone else filmed it so I can remember it! πŸ™‚

  3. That was good!!! Does this mean you can sing, since you were in the performance?!!

    • Oh girl, I wish. Haha! I mean, my voice isn’t terrible, but it’s not spectacular either. Not like Max’s in that video. No, I was definitely just one of the many voices that blended together in the chorus while dancing. But it was definitely a lot of fun to do! πŸ™‚ ​

  4. That was pretty neat! They are really talented! Do they all have background in theatre? I visited my alma mater this past weekend for a wedding and I couldn’t believe how much has changed! It kind of made me sad. But it was so good to see some of my old friends. πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed visiting yours!

    • Nope, very few of them have a background in theater. That’s part of what is so fun about Spring Sing. It’s people from all different fields (and very few of them theater related) who come together to learn to sing and dance. I just love it! πŸ™‚ I’m sorry about the changes to your alma mater! I know how sad it can be to see something you love be a little less awesome than it was before. But I’m glad you had fun with old friends! That’s the best part anyway! πŸ™‚

  5. sounds like such a fun day – watching your cousin in the show (and how cool that you used to do it — i hope you have videos of that too) and coffee with one of your mentees (is that what they are called?) sounds like a pretty awesome day:) and i love that pink lace top you’re wearing πŸ™‚

    • There is a video somewhere of my performances. I’m not sure where they are, though, haha! This was back in the days before Youtube was so huge so I doubt the videos are online anywhere. But I have a DVD somewhere. I just need to find it, haha!

  6. So cool!! They’re so talented! I think you should post the videos from when you did it!

    • I wish they were online somewhere. It has been so long since I performed in Spring Sing (nearly a decade – yikes!) that I honestly don’t even know where the videos are. They aren’t on Youtube anywhere that I’ve been able to find. I know that I have a DVD of my first year’s performance somewhere. I just need to find it! πŸ™‚

  7. The Knights show was great!! I’m so glad it was taped for youtube. πŸ™‚

  8. How fun is this!!! Our school had social clubs too and did something very similar to this! Twins! πŸ™‚ I always love being back on campus.

Leave a Reply

