E. Coli is not your friend

I mentioned last week that my niece wasn’t feeling well… well as it turns out – she has e. coli! Poor baby has been miserable. Thankfully the hospital finally released her yesterday afternoon to return home (but stay in isolation). So that’s good news! She is definitely on the upswing of this. πŸ™‚ Christopher and I had already planned to visit family this weekend, but our plans changed a bit when Makenzie was hospitalized. We ended up splitting our time between hanging out with her at the hospital and taking my nephew out and about to keep him from going stir crazy.

rach and kenzieMe with my Kenzie girl! This was Friday which was the first day she finally started to show improvement. I am going to just go ahead and say that it’s because I was there. Seeing her auntie was just what she needed. πŸ˜‰

rach and kenzieSaturday I was finally able to drop the mask (and occasionally the gloves even though I probably shouldn’t have). Kenzie was feeling much better and we spent most of the day playing with play dough, coloring, and playing board games. πŸ™‚

play dough at the hospitalKenzie had lots of friends come visit her and keep her fairly occupied throughout her time in the hospital! My sister’s family is very loved in their community. πŸ™‚

play dough hospitalKenzie girl making play dough art!

play dough artSpeaking of play dough art… check out my masterpiece! Go ahead and be amazed. I know it’s gorgeous. πŸ˜‰

holly and kenzieKenzie playing Hungry Hungry Hippos with her momma. You guys, my sister, Holly, is such a champ. Makenzie got sick while my brother-in-law was in NY for businessΒ so Holly handled the first couple of days on her own until he got home. Holly has always been such an amazing mom to her sweets kids, but it’s in moments like these that you see the depths of that love and devotion. And of course my brother-in-law loves his kids too!Β But I didn’t grow up bickering with him only to have him become one of my best friends as an adult. πŸ˜‰

kenzieKenzie obviously feeling enough better to start posing for the camera. πŸ˜‰

I don’t have pictures from Sunday, but she finally got to come home and we no longer had to wear the hazmat suit just to hug her, haha! Thankfully she is recovering so that’s super encouraging. Thanks for all your prayers for her!

And ps. in case you didn’t know: e. coli is not your friend.
Love Rach

35 responses to “E. Coli is not your friend

  1. So glad she’s been “sprung” and feeling better! I hope her recovery continues. Thanks for the update!

  2. Bless her heart! So glad she is doing better and was able to go home. Keeping her in my prayers!

  3. Poor girl. I am so glad that she is feeling better. It looks like she had an excellent support system to help pass the time in the hospital. I hope her recovery continues to go well and quickly!

  4. Aww bless her! Glad that she is feeling better!

  5. I’m so glad she is home and on the mend! Your sister IS very brave to handle this on her own.

  6. She is beautiful!!!! I’m so glad she is better!

  7. my gosh!!! that is …just wow! i’m so glad she is feeling better!
    you hear of E. coli but don’t really HEAR of people getting it!
    soooooooo glad y’all were able to spend time with her!

  8. UGH DAMN YOU E.COLI! So glad they caught this before it got any worse!

  9. Very happy to know she’s doing fine πŸ™‚ E.Coli is definitely not a friend!! And yes, your play dough art is a masterpiece!!! πŸ˜‰ Kudos πŸ™‚

  10. Awww, I am so sorry for your niece! I’m glad to hear she’s doing better now! It’s totally because you went to see her πŸ˜‰

    Love your playdough masterpiece, too!

  11. oh gosh, i’ve never heard of anyone having e-coli before, but i’m glad kenzie is feeling better πŸ™‚ i’m sure it helped to have you by her side and making her smile πŸ™‚

  12. Aww.. I’m glad she’s fine now! =D Btw, I have finally figured out why my comments don’t appear on most blogs I comment to. I’m back in the blogosphere! =)

  13. Poor thing!! I am glad she is on the mend. It looks like you did a great job being her nurse!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  14. Oh my! I’m so sorry that your neice had to go through that! I’m glad that she is feeling better. It’s so nice that she was surrounded by friends and loved ones to keep her spirits up πŸ™‚

  15. Wow that’s so scary! I am glad she is doing much better. I love that last glamour shot!

  16. So very glad your niece is feeling better. Poor thing! It’s always rough seeing the kiddos sick. I pray that she continues to get better. So glad you got to spend some time with her. I know she was glad to see you!

  17. E. Coli scares the crap out of me! I’m so glad that she is doing okay and has such an amazing support group! You guys are awesome!

    • Thanks, girl! She is much better now! She got her first negative test back today (which is great news). If the second one comes back negative for e coli later this week then she will finally be free to leave her house! Yay! πŸ™‚

  18. Pingback: The day we saw Stonehenge and rode a dinosaur… sort of… |

Leave a Reply

