Silver Dollar City!

We got back last night from Branson, Missouri! Our friends, James and Heather asked us a couple of months ago ifΒ we would go with them. It was our first vacation with them and we had a blast! πŸ™‚ On our first day we started by checking out Silver Dollar City!

silver dollar city

It was supposed to POUR rain on Saturday so when we arrived and it hadn’t started yet, we went straight to the roller coasters! {Spoiler Alert: It never actually rained! We had PERFECT weather all day!!}

roller coastersWe started on Wildfire (on the left) and it was great! We had zero wait time (I guess everyone else thought it was going to rain too so there weren’t many people at the park when we arrived). And the ride was SO much fun! It has been a while since I was last on a roller coaster and I loved it! Next up we rode Outlaw Β Run (on the right)… we had it in our mind for some reason that this ride would be sort of tame compared to Wildfire. Oh. My. Goodness. We were wrong. Ha! I thought I was going to die on this roller coaster! The drops and spins were bad enough, but it was terrifying because you didn’t have a harness for your shoulders and nothing for your hands to hold on to. Just a lap belt keeping you in while you’re going UPSIDE DOWN! Yeah, I might have screamed a bit on this ride, haha! Both rides were so much fun, though! I’d definitely do them again in a heartbeat! {source, source}

showsWe saw three shows while we were at Silver Dollar City. Our favorite was the Flying Ace All Stars (top)! Olympian Dylan Ferguson performed along with three other athletes. It was SO cool! Dylan was pretty great, but I think Casey Finley (from American Ninja Warrior) was my favorite. He was so great at interacting with the crowd. He made me laugh! We also saw McAffie’s Homestead Pickers (left) and the Brad Ross Master Illusionist Magic Show (right). It was like being a kid again watching the magic show! πŸ™‚

craftsmenWe got to see several of the master craftsmen at work including the blacksmith, glass etcher, glass blowers, and pottery master. It was so neat to watch them work and hear their stories!

silver dollar city eatsAnd naturally we ate a LOT! We had Crossroads pizza for lunch and got to know all our neighbors at our community table. Our table was definitely the most fun because we all shared our different types of pizza with each other! We were strangers at first, but left friends. πŸ™‚ The boys shared a fried oreo (top right) and they loved it. It made a huge mess, but they say it was worth it. James was craving Dippin’ Dots and a couple of the kiosks we passed were closed. So when we finally found an open one, he was able to satisfy his craving (bottom left). And Heather and I split a no-sugar-added Apple Turnover in the bakery – it was delightful!

missouriMissouri sky as we left. So pretty out there!

We had so much fun exploring Silver Dollar City! Next up, I’ll fill you in on some more of our Branson trip fun! πŸ™‚
Love Rach

22 responses to “Silver Dollar City!

  1. Food looks AMAZING. I saw a glassblower once and it was so neat! Love your little trips πŸ™‚

  2. That looks like SO much fun!! (Well, minus the roller coater part for me, since I’m terrified of heights. Ha, ha. But Nate would have loved both of those rides). But I love places like that which combine rides… and entertainment! πŸ™‚ Nate and I are leaving on a mini-camping trip tomorrow and the weather is calling for some showers. I hope we luck out with no rain too!! πŸ™‚

  3. Going on vacation with friends is so fun! It’s been awhile since I’ve done that. I’ve never been to Branson, but my parents went once and they really liked it. From all the things they did while they were there, I got the impression that Branson was an “old folks” town…but apparently you guys found some fun things to do! πŸ™‚

  4. I love rides, and anything amusement park related!! What a blast. I wanna gooooooo.

  5. I’ve always wanted to go to Branson! It looks like you had a great time! πŸ™‚

  6. I loved Branson! I loved silver dollar city and the Dixie stampede.

  7. That looks like such a fun place!! Except maybe for that second roller coaster…I love rides most of the time, but that ‘nothing to hold onto’ business would literally scare me to death πŸ˜‰

  8. Those roller coasters look amazing! I haven’t been on one in such a long time.

  9. how fun!! i’ve not been there in FOREVER!

  10. I love roller coasters – these sound fantastic!
    That looks like a fun weekend.

  11. You are so brave going on a roller coaster like that! I am so not a roller coaster person. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

