Mel’s Hard Luck Diner

You guys, I really do try to consolidate posts, but it’s just so hard when I have so many fun things I want to write about so I’ll remember! Ha! This Branson recap post is all about one little diner we went to. I just had so much to share that it wouldn’t fit in my “Branson Eats” recap, ha! But trust me – this was our favorite place to eat so it’s worth the read (and listen)!

mel'sOne of the most fun places we ate while in Branson was Mel’s Hard Luck Diner. Set in a 50’s style diner, we had dinner and a show! Each of the servers took turns singing for us.

mel's singersTwo of the singers! The guy on the left sang country and the girl on the right sang Gospel. And I took a video of our waitress singing a song that surprised us all:

 Yup! She sang “Let it Go” from Frozen! There was a little girl at the table behind ours that was entranced! It was so cute!

mel's hard luck foodI knew that this place was all about the ambiance so I wasn’t expecting much out of the food. So that actually ended up being a great surprise! The food was delicious! The mozzarella sticks and bacon burger were my favorite. Oh my, so delicious! The boys ordered a cookie skillet dessert that came out not-so-great (the cookie was hard and it was all cold) so our waitress went above and beyond to make it right. She asked the boys what they wanted, promising to create a dessert if she had to, ha! Since it was later and the restaurant had mostly cleared out, the boys took her up on it. James got warm peach pie with a scoop of ice cream and Christopher got a warm brownie with ice cream, whipped cream, sprinkles, chocolate sauce, and a cherry (he asked for a brownie and ice cream – I’d say our waitress went above and beyond!).

Mel's Hard Luck Diner on Urbanspoon

 We actually stayed so late that we had a chance to really talk to all of the people who worked and performed at Mel’s. They were all so friendly. One waiter even told us a handful of jokes. And James kept bugging the Gospel singer about wanting to hear “I’ll Fly Away” so she finally sang it for us!

So yeah, Mel’s Hard Luck Diner – definitely the place to be in Branson! I can’t recommend it highly enough. We all had so much fun and enjoyed getting to know the singers there!

Love Rach

18 responses to “Mel’s Hard Luck Diner

  1. OH MY GOSH I love this!!!! What a fun idea! And as a singer I would get such a kick out of performances during dinner!

  2. You seriously go to the coolest places! That looks like so much fun!

  3. It seems like it would be tough to sing and perform while people are eating and talking in the background! I wonder if any of the people on the waitstaff are hoping to get “discovered.” 🙂

    • I know! I feel like that would be so distracting! I’m pretty sure several of them are hoping to be discovered. Most of them have CDs you can buy in the gift shop! James bought the gospel singer’s CD and we listened to it on the way home. It was really good!

  4. I WANT TO EAT HERE!! I love the ambiance, what a homey place.

  5. Wow! This sounds like so much fun! If I ever go back, I want to eat there!

  6. What an awesome diner!! I would love to go to a place like that. So cool 🙂

  7. Sounds like my kinda place…great food and entertainment! =)

  8. Sounds like such a fun place to eat! That burger looks really good.

Leave a Reply

