Let’s discuss accents…

Hi friends! Today I have a video for you! πŸ™‚ ENJOY!

NOTES:

–Β thanks Youtube, for that most flattering freeze frame…

– I’ve only known Katie of Hope Engaged since April of 2013 so not really a year and a half like I said in this video. Apparently I sometimes just like to make up numbers, haha!

– I ramble a lot. And say “um” and “like” and “so” way way way too much.

So tell me, do I sound like you thought I would?
Tag! You’re it! I want to hear how you sound! πŸ™‚

Love Rach

52 responses to “Let’s discuss accents…

  1. i have saved this to watch when i get home from work…YAY!

  2. This is so cute! You don’t sound like I thought you would, though I can’t really explain what I was expecting you to sound like. And my first thought when you started talking about accents was, “Does she have a southern accent? I can barely hear it, if she does…” and then later you addressed that mostly people who live outside the south notice your southern accent–haha! I guess that goes for me, too. I spent too long living in northern Florida and Georgia and teaching in rural school districts….and let me tell you, I have heard some DEEP southern accents. And I get what you mean about having a chameleon accent because I feel like I do the same thing, even though I fight it. If I get around my family for too long, I’ll start talking REALLY southern. But when I teach, I try to have as much of a non-accent as possible (proper, news anchor voice). For heavens sake, if I watch a marathon of Harry Potter movies, I’ll start wanting to talk with a British accent after awhile! I don’t mind southern accents, but I feel nervous when I hang around my husband’s family because they all have New Jersey accents, and not to be biased, but that’s not an accent I want to adopt…

    Oh my goodness, my comment is WAY too long! But it was neat that you posted a video! I don’t know that I really want to post one on my blog (I hate watching/listening to myself talk on video…and unlike you, I have NO video editing skills), but I liked yours!

    • Doooo it! Post a video showing us that sweet baby of yours! That way it’s not the weird-I’m-talking-to-the-camera thing. Plus it gives you something to do with your hands. πŸ™‚ And girl, it made me smile to hear that you didn’t think I had much of an accent. I’m telling you – I get that all the time! I also love the idea of you watching an HP marathon and suddenly sounding like you are fresh off the boat from the UK. I like that you called it a chameleon accent. That’s really what it is. Christopher laughs at me when I talk on the phone with some of my extended family. He says I get SUPER Southern sounding and talk so slow. Which is true. But he can’t laugh much – after 11 years living in the South, he’s definitely lost his Illinois accent. I wouldn’t say that he has a Southern accent per se, but every now and then a word comes out of his mouth sounding super Southern and it’s kind of hilarious. πŸ™‚ But yes! Put up a video! πŸ˜€

  3. This is so fun! I’m always afraid to hear what sound like hehe. Cute!

  4. Oh my goodness, I was BEYOND excited, when I saw that you had posted a vlog!!!! πŸ™‚ And, yes, you do sound different than I had expected, because I never thought that you would have a southern accent. (Because to me, you mots definitely do have an accent!). πŸ™‚ It is so lovely!!! And YOU are so beautiful and lovely, my friend. This makes me want to meet you even more. Ha, ha. πŸ™‚
    And I loved how you started the blog off with “Hello, Friends.” Up here, we call everyone ‘guys’, so I always start my vlogs off with “Hi, Guys!” πŸ™‚ Friends really does sound better, when you think about it. Ha, ha. When I went to college down south, it took awhile for my new friends to get used to the fact that I would say, “Hi, Guys” to them… πŸ™‚

    • Haha! I knew you’d be excited about the video! I have loved watching your vlogs – they crack me up! Speaking of… aren’t you due for another one of those sometime soon? πŸ˜‰ Those crazy cooking videos with Sarah are some of my favorites!

      Surprisingly “you guys” is actually pretty common in Memphis as well. Probably second to “y’all”. I can’t bring myself to say “y’all” (at least not yet – maybe after another 6 years here, haha), but I do say “you guys” all the time. I switch between that and “friends” pretty regularly. I’m not sure where I picked up “friends”… maybe in college? I only know a couple of people in Memphis who say that so it’s not really a Memphian thing.

      And girl, I am so excited to meet you someday!

  5. aw, I’m not surprised at all, I knew where you lived and imagined you have a sweet southern drawl. There is one video I uploaded to youtube 4 years ago when I was entering a recipe contest, my second child was just 5 months old, and I was so exhausted, the only time I could film was after midnight! Hope you enjoy. Incidentally, I grew up in New York and had a thick accent for quite some time, but at some point after moving to New Mexico, I naturally adapted and sort of have a non-accent…I don’t know, what do you think? Here’s the link to my video…made me smile seeing it after all these years. Also made me smile to see I have lost the baby weight since then, HA! have a great week sweet bella…here’s the link to the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ec9rJJqW6_4

    • You have such a sweet and gentle voice! I absolutely love it! I feel like I could listen to you talk all day! I bet you have a great book-reading voice when you are reading to your kiddos. πŸ™‚ I don’t hear a strong NY accent so I think you’re right about adapting the non-accent. πŸ™‚

  6. You are the most adorable person EVER!! I laughed through this whole video, you are so cute!! And just for the record, it feels like i’ve known you for ages!!! And secondly, I LOVE your accent!! xoxo Katie

    • Right?! I was thinking that a year and a half didn’t sound long enough when I made the video which is why I went back to double check and sure enough I was wrong, but in the opposite direction, haha! Oh well, that’s just because we became good friends quickly. πŸ™‚

  7. I am always surprised when I hear someone for the first time. People never sound how I think they will. Not in a bad, way, it’s just always different.

    • I think in general, I assume people sound like I do because I’ve been using my voice to read their blog posts, you know? So if it’s SUPER different then I’m always a little surprised at first. But it’s fun hearing how other people sound! πŸ™‚

  8. You are adorable. πŸ™‚ I have to say, I was surprised by your voice. It was actually deeper than I had imagined (not the accent…just your voice). I did notice your southern accent, but it’s not heavy so it was just cute. LOVED this vlog! πŸ˜‰

    -Tia

    • I know what you mean, though. The first time someone pointed this out to me was only a couple of years ago and I was really surprised. But when I stopped to think about my singing vocal range – it’s true. I’m a solid alto without much range, ha! So it would make sense that my speaking voice wouldn’t be high pitched either. πŸ˜‰

      • Ahh yes, that would make sense. I love your voice, though! I kind of wish I had a deeper voice like yours – it makes you sound very confident and sure of yourself (in a good way!). πŸ™‚

        -Tia

        • It’s funny you should say that. I did research on it once and apparently people take “deeper voices” to be more authoritative so a lot of women in powerful job positions actually work to try to deepen their voices so they will be taken more seriously. I am definitely not in a powerful job (or maybe that’s why kids I photograph listen to me so well? Ha!) but I don’t mind it. πŸ™‚

  9. AHH I LOVE THIS SO MUCH!! I always enjoy hearing what bloggers sound like. You are the cutest thing EVERRRR!

  10. Oh my gosh, girl, you are SO cute!!!
    1) I totally expected you to sound more southern!! I can hear the southern accent a little bit, but I kind of assumed that people in Tennessee had more of the “deep south” accent. You do sound charming though, they weren’t wrong!
    2) This sounds so weird, but my internal blog reading voice sounds a lot like my talking voice which is pretty high pitched, so I expected your voice to be high pitched too. It’s more medium than I thought it would be, if that makes sense πŸ˜‰
    3) The accent acclimating made me laugh. My Dad does that SO much! He talks to a lot of Chinese people through his work, and whenever we hear his phone calls, we KNOW if the person on the other end is Chinese, because he gets all “english with a Chinese accent.” It’s pretty funny since he doesn’t mean to do it πŸ™‚
    4) I’m tempted to do one of these videos!

    • 1. Well, there are definitely people in Tennessee who sound a whole lot more Southern than I do. Memphis is a big city so there are a lot of people from all over which keeps it from getting too twangy in sound. But when I lived in East TN as a little girl I had a THICK Southern accent. I know this because I came across some recordings of me from back then and I could hardly understand myself, haha! Moving to China is what broke that accent. πŸ˜‰

      2. That totally makes sense! My internal reading voice sounds like my voice too so when I hear a blogger speak for the first time after reading their words for a long time, I’m usually surprised if they sound super different from me. The first time someone pointed out to me that I didn’t have a high pitched voice I was really surprised, but when I stopped to think about my vocal range I realized that it’s true. I’m a solid alto without much range so it would make sense that my speaking voice wouldn’t be high either.

      3. Hahahaha! This just makes me want to meet your dad!

      4. YES! Doooooo it! I want to hear! πŸ™‚

  11. aww, love this! you’re so right about blogging and feeling like we know people and still having no clue what they sound like πŸ™‚ i went to school in new orleans, but i don’t think i sound 1/2 as southern as you do – maybe i’ve got too much midwest in me now? i might have to try this!

    • I think it just depends on the person. Some people stick with the accent they hear growing up in their formative years and some people change based on their surroundings. I definitely think you should try it! I want to hear what you sound like. πŸ™‚

  12. oh my gosh!! you’re adorable. you sound totally different than what i expected! SO FAST! i love your accent though. it’s the cute southern accent. πŸ™‚

  13. YOU ARE SO CUTE! And I want to Skype with you now. I love your accent soapbox, and I totally agree that southerners can get a bad rap. Austinites don’t have much of an accent so when I travel up north to visit my best friend, I’ve had more than one person incredulous that I’m from Texas (until I say “y’all”)haha. BUT my husband has a huge country boy accent, and I know he’s gotten similarly stereotyped in the past. Your accent doesn’t sound super strong to me, but I can hear it a little and it’s ADORABLE! πŸ™‚

    • Aww yeah, I bet he has dealt with that with a strong accent. That’s just not nice. I mean, did you ever see that “My Redneck Wedding” show? You’d think it would’ve been set in the South, but nearly every episode was up north somewhere (just in rural areas). And yes! We should totally Skype sometime!!

  14. This is my first time stopping by your blog, so I didn’t have a preconceived idea of what your accent would sound like. However I must say, that you definitely don’t have a heavy southern accent. I like the sound of your voice! I am from South Dakota (really close to Minnesota), so I don’t have a huge accent, but if anything, I sometimes draw out my O’s a little bit like Minnesotans do. Aren’t accents so funny though?!? I remember the first time I realized I have an accent to people across the country. I was at a national tournament in high school and it never crossed my mind until a NC boy pointed it out! Too funny! πŸ™‚

    • Welcome welcome! Glad you are here! πŸ™‚ ​It’s crazy to me how so many people speak based on their region. I mean, we all speak English here, but each area kind of has their own way of forming the words. πŸ™‚ ​What’s really funny to me is hearing little kids from different parts of the country interacting with each other for the first time because they have no sense of tact.

      “You talk funny.”
      “No, YOU talk funny!”
      “Mom, why does he talk so weird?”

      πŸ˜‰ Anyway, welcome to the blog! It is good getting to know you a little bit! πŸ™‚

  15. i’ve always been judged for my accent. forget the facts that i have 4 college degrees, have been to 19 countries, all 50 states, and can blend in anywhere. i was always nervous to make videos for my blog because of my accent. while i haven’t lost it at all, it is no where near as strong as it was growing up. my family makes fun of me for that. and i’ve never met ANYONE in Atl with a Southern accent. they are all from somewhere else and moved here.

    • Aww, I think you have a sweet voice! I like your vlogs! In fact, after hearing you speak, even when I read your blog I still hear it in your voice which I like. It’s a refreshing change from hearing everything I read in my own voice, haha! πŸ™‚

  16. Pingback: Bonus Room Renovation |

  17. I love your accent and you!!!! I don’t think you really have an accent, but look where I live! Mine tends too change too! Oh and I made the chicken and sweet potato stuff! It will be a staple in our rotation of food!

    • I love you too, sweet friend! And your sweet accent! I feel like we pretty much talk the same. πŸ™‚ And I’m so glad that you guys liked the chicken and sweet potato bake. I told you it was good! Can you believe it’s so simple?! I wish I had more meals like that in my rotation! πŸ™‚

  18. You are tooooo cute!!! I don’t think I’m surprised by how you sound. That’s pretty much what I was expecting. And I don’t hear a strong accent, but I live in the Southwest, so maybe I’m just accustomed to a little lilt as well.

  19. hahahahaha….this is so you!!! I love it!!

    • I guess to actually answer your questions. Nope, not surprised. Yes, I thought you would sound like that. πŸ™‚ No video for me….you already know what I sound like. πŸ™‚ I loved that you kept in where you talked to Chris.

      • Haha! Of course you’re not surprised! You’ve known me in person way too long to have forgotten what I sound like after just half a year away. πŸ˜‰ And girl, that part was hilarious. It’s kind of embarrassing, but I figured it was real life – my facial expression makes me laugh. So I wanted to share it with everyone. πŸ˜‰

  20. I am not sure what I thought you would sound like but I wasn’t surprised. I do not hear a southern accent but I live in Alabama haha. I cannot stand how the media portrays the South! Whenever there is some type of news story from Alabama I think they choose the worst people to interview. Most Alabamians are not toothless and uneducated.

  21. Aww Rach, that was so cute and you sound so- so adorable… Keep those vlogs coming. Perhaps you can even do a daily vlog sometimes.. πŸ™‚

  22. This is so cute!! You sound absolutely NOTHING like I imagined. For one thing, I never thought about the Southern accent. And then, and I have NO idea why, I imagined the entire pitch of your voice being different. I think a little higher, and more bubbly? Which I hope doesn’t sound insulting, because it’s not meant to be!!! πŸ™‚

    • Haha! No, girl, you are fine! I know what you mean, though. The first time someone pointed this out to me was only a couple of years ago and I was really surprised. But when I stopped to think about my singing vocal range – it’s true. I’m a solid alto without much range, ha! So it would make sense that my speaking voice wouldn’t be high pitched either. πŸ˜‰

  23. Pingback: 14 Random Things |

Leave a Reply

