The Beautiful Mosaic that is Memphis

There are so many reasons I love the city of Memphis, but I was reminded of one of them last night when going through some old pictures from last year. In March of 2013, members of the Ku Klux Klan rallied in Memphis to protest the changing of the names of three city parks. The names were being changed from ones honoring the Confederate troops to names that wereΒ more racially sensitive. I didn’t love that there were members of the KKK hanging out in my city propagating racial division, but I loved my city’s response to them. This was a two page spread in our local paper during the weekend that they were here:

memphis' response to kkk rally

That weekend Memphis threw a huge party on the other side of town full of fun games for the family, live music, and lots of food. The Memphis Mayor, A.C. Wharton had this to say after the weekend, “We in Memphis and Shelby County and in this region took what could have been the worst of times and turned it into the best of times, in terms of showing that we can tolerate dissent even when the voices are voices that we’re not pleased with.”

Our diversity really is what makes up the beautiful mosaic that is Memphis. πŸ™‚

iheartmemphis

True story. I really do heart Memphis. πŸ™‚

Do you now or have you ever lived in a city you love?
Love Rach

22 responses to “The Beautiful Mosaic that is Memphis

  1. I love you are so passionate about Memphis! This was a beautiful story.

  2. Your passion for Memphis so makes me want to visit!! Well, and because there are few songs I like more than “Walking In Memphis”.

  3. I am going to be touring round the states next year to see the rest of the states that I haven’t seen and going to Memphis is towards the top of my list.

  4. Wow…such a great response to those KKK members. Now, call me naive, but I had no idea members of the KKK still existed. Guess that just goes to show that I haven’t been to the “south.” Haha. Memphis sounds like such a beautifully diverse city.

    -Tia

    • Not naive at all! I honestly didn’t realize that the KKK was still active either. I’ve been living in the Southern United States for 10 years now and this was the first time I had heard of them still being active. So no worries, you aren’t behind the times or anything. πŸ˜‰ But yeah, I was so glad to see how my city responded to them!

  5. That response is beautiful in both the message and how it looks. I love ht use of different fonts/colors.

  6. Wow, that’s a bit of history I didn’t know!

  7. Every time you post about Memphis I want to visit more and more!

  8. “because we don’t fear those who are different, we can embrace diverse cultures and faiths’ – wise and lovely words! would love to visit memphis one day!

  9. Also, ya’ll have Justin Timberlake there a lot so that’s pretty cool! 😜 love the response from the city. I’m actually driving through Memphis this week!! Any suggestions?

    • Um, YES! JT is obviously a huge plus to Memphis! He’s at the Grizzlies games sometimes! It’s cool to have a celeb in the midst of normal life. πŸ™‚

      As for recommendations – of course I do! I’ll email ya! πŸ™‚

  10. You have made me want to visit Memphis so badly! There are so many restaurants and so many great places to see πŸ™‚

  11. Oh wow, I love this! I can’t believe that with all the education we have now, there are still people who want to spread hate and racial division. I love your city’s response! It sounds like such a great place πŸ™‚

    • I know, it’s crazy that there are still people who think that the color of someone’s skin makes them less of a person. Memphis is definitely a racially diverse place and there are definitely people here who don’t like me because of the color of my skin, but that’s not the majority voice. I sure do love my city. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

