Finding Family Treasures

Remember yesterday when I mentioned that Christopher’s parents moved down south while we were in college? Well, they intended to move back to Illinois so they kept a storage unit full of stuff up there. However, after 8 years living in the south, they’ve fallen in love with it and don’t want to move. So our purpose for going to Illinois was actually to clear out that storage unit!

storage unitOpening it up for the first time in years!

storage unit sortingIt was like American Pickers out there! Sorting everything into three piles: Keep, donate, and trash. Christopher’s aunt & uncle and grandmother came out to help us! And a couple of strangers came by and went through our “donate” pile to take stuff for a yard sale (less for us to load in a truck to donate!).

tan linesFunny story… last week at the beach, I wore swimsuits with different straps (or strapless) every day and applied sunscreen religiously to keep from having weird tan lines. One day in the breezy, pleasant 80 degree Illinois sun and I had serious racerback tan lines. It’s not hotย and humidย there like it is in TN (or on the beach) so I had no idea how much sun I was getting. Yikes! Now I’ll have to work on evening out these tan lines, haha!

familyAfter two days of hard work – we conquered it all! And just so you know who’s who… Christopher’s grandmother, Mommo is in the front with her two daughters (my mother-in-law in green)! Then there’s Christopher and me and his brother and his dad. Christopher’s uncle helped a lot on Friday, but had to work Saturday so he missed this fabulous photo op of us all being sweaty and gross together, haha! But he’s in the earlier “sorting” picture!

We donated the majority of it, but I did come home with some cute little things. Want to see?! I knew you would! ๐Ÿ˜€

christopher's baby stuffChristopher’s baby book, baby blanket, first ornament, baby shoes, and a Christmas bib from the hospital where he was born (December 16, 1985!). Oh, and that costume is one he wore for Halloween and now Mallory (the little girl I nanny) is modeling it for you. She had a great time playing in it yesterday!

toys and booksWe had fun picking out toys and books that we think our kids will enjoy playing with someday. Legos, trucks, Beanie Babies, vintage Barbies, Tinker Toys, and books! Some of these things we actually picked out specifically to leave at Christopher’s parents’ house once we have kids so they can have toys to play with there. For now, the toys are already being played with by the kiddos I nanny!

4H winningsWe found a whole scrapbook PLUS a box of Christopher’s 4H ribbons. Last night I actually finished the scrapbook off with the rest of the ribbons in this tote. It was fun seeing all the projects he worked on. His beef jerky won 1st place everywhere he took it. He even won State and got best of class! I was so proud ofย young Christopher. ๐Ÿ™‚

christopher and michaelSpeaking of “young Christopher”… I found this gem as well. Look how adorable Christopher (blue) and his brother, Michael (green), were way back when!ย And naturally a few stuffed animals to boot. ๐Ÿ˜‰

post cardsOne of Christopher’s favorite finds were these postcards addressed to him from his dad. His dad traveled a lot when Christopher was younger, but he always sent postcards whenever he was gone. For those who don’t know, Christopher’s dad has dementia so any little piece of his history is precious to us. It’s good to see the words “I miss you” and “I love you” in his dad’s hand writing. ๐Ÿ™‚

cutest outfit everAaaand I’m going to end with the cutest outfit EVER! You guys, Christopher wore this when he was a toddlerย and I just LOVE it! It’s a nautical seersucker john john with anchors on it!! I nearly died from all the cuteness of this outfit! I’m so excited for our little ones to wear this outfit someday!

Do you have any old toys, books, or clothes from when you were growing up set aside for your future kids some day?ย 

If you have or had a loved one who traveled, did they ever send back post cards?

Have you ever worked hard to avoid tan lines only to get them by accident later (or am I the only one, ha!)?

Love Rach

32 responses to “Finding Family Treasures

  1. I think the postcards would be my favorite find too. I love snail mail in general so having them from my dad or a family member would be such a sweet thing to have. I think my mom has some of my toys and books saved up somewhere.

    • I’m with you on loving snail mail. I have a box that I call “my little box of sunshine” and it’s full of all the hand written cards, letters, notes, etc that I’ve received over the years. I love opening it up and going through it – especially if I’m having a sad day. It’s good to be reminded of all the love in your life. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. That costume is amazing! I want an adult sized version of it )

  3. Those postcards. Priceless. What a wonderful treat to find and keep. And I love the dinosaur costume!! I was in 4-H too, so it is fun to see that Christopher has all those blue ribbons!!

    I always wind up with the weirdest tan lines. I hope yours fades out quickly!

  4. Wow! I love this post! It’s sooo precious! I love all the old stuff y’all found and were able to keep. What a great memory of the postcards from Chris’ dad. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I โค all that y'all brought home!! especially that dinosaur outfit gah so cute.
    and uh – girl I know what you mean about weird tanlines – I have them too

    • That dino costume is all kinds of cute. I need one in my size. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I get tan lines every year, but last year I was so careful to not get them on my shoulders/chest/back (so no tan lines showed regardless what time/dress I was wearing) and it worked! I was so excited that I decided to do it again this year. But what do you know… now I have weird racerback tanlines, haha! They are fading now so that’s good news! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. The baby outfit is adorable! I love looking at old keep sakes and going over old memories.

    • Isn’t it, though?! I just fell in love with it! I mean, it’s seersucker and has anchors and it’s something that Christopher wore so it has history to it. It’s just all the things I love in baby clothes! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. You guys found so many cool toys in that storage unit! My mom has some retro Barbies from her childhood, but she won’t let ANYONE play with them–haha! She did save a bunch of my toys and books for my children to play with. She even saved my Teddy Ruxpin, though I’m not sure he’s operational anymore. Those postcards from his dad are such a great find–you definitely need to put those in a photo album or something for safekeeping. Awhile back, I got books from Hallmark for both of my parents to record stories about their life–A Mother’s Legacy and A Father’s Legacy (http://www.amazon.com/Hallmark-Books-BOK4358-Fathers-Legacy/dp/159530276X). They haven’t finished them yet (it is quite a task, after all, to record your entire life story–even if there are writing prompts on each page), but when they do, it will be something really neat to read through and share with my kids and have long after my parents are gone.

    On Tue, Jul 8, 2014 at 9:07 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “Remember yesterday when I > mentioned that Christopher’s parents moved down south while we were in > college? Well, they intended to move back to Illinois so they kept a > storage unit full of stuff up there. However, after 8 years living in the > south, they’ve “

    • I love the idea of those books! What a wonderful idea! My mom’s dad and my dad’s mom both wrote little mini books about their growing up years. I loved reading through them as a kid and I’m so glad to have them now. I need to get these legacy books for my parents and parents-in-law to do when we have kids! I just pinned them to remind myself. ๐Ÿ™‚ What a fun idea! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. You found some treasures!!! I love that little outfit and I’m thinking Christopher needs to bring back his prize winning beef jerky…maybe a guest recipe post? Haha. Love it!

  9. Aw, yay! So glad y’all find some treasures to keep for you and your future kids. How sweet! I love those little shoes!

  10. Sorting through old treasures can be so fun and full of surprises! You found so many cool items from your husband’s past. I’ve come across some old school papers and reports of Angel’s–he wanted to throw them out, but I convinced him to keep them. I remember thinking it was pretty cool when I came across my Dad’s report cards as a kid–it is pretty cool to get a chance to see stuff from when your parents were kids, so I think it’s worth keeping a few items for your children to have someday!

    • We had that same discussion about report cards from elementary school and our college transcripts! I mean, I don’t know that I’ll ever care to look at them again, but I bet our kids will think it’s cool to find out that I got a “less than satisfactory” in 1st grade when it came to “working quietly without disturbing others” Ha! Yeah, that’s a real thing on my report card. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. THAT DINO COSTUME!! Cutest thing ever, I am SO glad you brought that home. HAHAHA. The anchor John John is just too adorable.

  12. How fun! I love going through my old things and all of the memories it brings back ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. What special treasures you guys found!! So much fun! And that outfit! Too cute!

  14. I love looking through old things! You found so many great items to keep for your future children. ๐Ÿ™‚ I ended up finding my very first teddy bear that my parents bought on their way leaving the hospital after I was born. I love that I will be able to share it with my daughter.

    • Awww, that is absolutely precious! I just came across my first teddy bear this week too. We’re combining mine and Christopher’s “baby stuff” together in our hope chest and I put my teddy bear in there right next to his baby clothes. So sweet! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. I love American Pickers, so that was probably pretty fun!! The picture of Mallory with the costume on is so, so cute!

  16. This is so fun!! It reminds me of Storage Wars (I think that’s what it’s called? Where they bid on storage spaces? I’ve never seen American Pickers, so that can’t be what I’m thinking of haha) I love all of your finds. That outfit is the cutest EVER!

    • We went to a storage auction like Storage Wars one time!! I mentioned it briefly on the blog here . It was fun to see. True story: I’ve never actually seen a full episode of American Picker’s, but I’ve heard a lot about it and seen parts of it, haha! It was fun to go through the stuff and find all those treasures! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

