Christopher’s Second Parents

Even though we were hard at work clearing out the storage unit last week, we did take some time off to celebrate the 4th of July. We went in to Pontiac, Illinois to hear the band play their patriotic tunes. Specifically we chose this band because it’s the one that my mother-in-law used to play in when they still lived in Illinois.

illinois bandWe sat behind the performers in the shade. ๐Ÿ™‚

tony and martyMy parents-in-law enjoying the music. I can only imagine how strange it was for Marty (my mom-in-law) to be sitting there listening to them play instead of out there playing with them. One of the guys (I think the director?)ย was her high school band teacher!

brothersMichael and Christopher being only slightly better behaved than when they were children listening to their mom play. ๐Ÿ˜‰

rachtopherChristopher and me listening to the music!

That evening as Christopher and I drove back to the house we were staying at (Randy & Pam’s – his second parents – more on them in a minute), we got to see each little town’s fireworks. At one point we stopped on the side of an old country road, parked the car, leaned against the back of it together and snuggled while watching fireworks. It was a good way to end the 4th. Okay, back to Christopher’s second parents…

vendettis with randy and pamMy mother-in-law, Marty, grew up going to church with Pam in Illinois though they were a few years apart. ย They became really close when Marty moved back to Illinois after college. They have been best friends since long before Christopher was even a twinkle in his mother’s eye. ๐Ÿ™‚ Christopher considers Randy & Pam to be like second parents to him because he spent so much time at their house growing up.ย I’ve met Randy and Pamย before this weekend, but this was the first time I really felt like I got to know them and I’m so glad I did. Their hospitality and kindness are very reminiscent of my own parents-in-law. I can see why they have always been such good friends. ๐Ÿ™‚

When I see friendships that have spanned so many years like this, it makes me think of the friends in my life and hope that I can say the same thing about them someday. The idea of having a best friend for 30 years blows my mind, but in a really good way. ๐Ÿ™‚

Did you ever learn to play an instrument? Do you still play?
What is your longest running close friendship?

Did you have a set of “second parents” when you were growing up?
Love Rach

18 responses to “Christopher’s Second Parents

  1. Aww that picture of you and Christopher is super sweet. You have such gorgeous skin! 30 years, wow that’s awesome. I hope I have a friendship like that…so far my longest friendship has been 10 years but she lives across the country, sad!

    • Thanks, lady! My mom has beautiful skin so I’m hoping that I continue to get her genes as I age! ๐Ÿ™‚

      So sad to have a friend living across the country! But it sounds like you guys are still staying in touch, so that’s wonderful! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. My longest running friendship is probably my friend Krista. Our moms were friends, when they were pregnant with us… and Krista and I have been friends since we were in diapers. ๐Ÿ™‚ I agree, it’s a special thing to look back on a long-standing friendship and to know that it stood the test of time!!

    • Aww, I love that! I want my kid to have a bestie that they’ve known since they were in diapers together! But all my friends went and had kids way before we did, haha! Oh well, they’ll just be the annoying little “siblings” to all our friends’ kids. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. How fun!! And what an inspiration – friendships can last so long if all parties put in the effort. I don’t know how to play any instruments. Sadly. That’s one of those things that I’ll make my kids do so I can feel better about myself. My longest running friendship is my cousin, Lori, who is 11 months younger than me. But if family doesn’t count then it’s probably Sara, who I have known since Kindergarten.

    • โ€‹Family totally counts! But even still, a friend since kindergarten! That’s incredible! Also, my parents totally did that to my siblings and I. Neither of them could play an instrument so they made all of us learn, ha! We all took piano lessons, but I quit practicing when we moved to China so today I can still play “Ode to Joy” by heart, but everything else I have to sight read to play (and it’s painfully slow), haha! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Sounds like you had a great time! My hubs is crazy talented in the music area. I have no music ability whatsoever. And I have known my best friend since we were 3 – so 24 years now. Wow I feel old…

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  5. Sounds like such a fun trip!

  6. Such cute pictures!
    I started playing the guitar 20 years ago, but to listen to me you wouldn’t know it haha. I never really put the time and effort in to it, although I wish I had of done.

  7. So sweet! I am not musically inclined! What about you? Didn’t you play the flute or something? Maybe I dreamed that you did. What is really sad is my longest true friendship isn’t that long. I don’t talk to anyone from my childhood or teen years. So I would say it’s a ten or eleven year friendship. If I had second parents they were my grandparents. I stayed with them a lot!

  8. You and Christopher are too precious…watching fireworks from the road sounds so fun/cute. What instrument did your Mom-in-law play?! I feel like as a flute player, I have to know. And I hope it was the flute (but I’m sure she’s wonderful, even if she’s not a flautist) ๐Ÿ˜‰ I was thinking of how crazy it would be to have the same best friend for thirty years, and then I realized that my oldest friendship is twenty-four years old. Seriously blows my mind!

    • That’s amazing that you’ve known someone for that long and been friends! That’s just amazing to me. Oh, and she played the clarinet which is similar-ish to the flute, right? I mean, I don’t play either, but they look pretty similar and they’re both “woodwind instruments” so that counts for something, right? Haha!

  9. That’s so cool–I can’t really imagine having friends for such a long time–in these days where no one seems to stay in the same spot for long. I’m still friends with a lot of people I knew in high school, but we’re all in different places around the world now so it’s not the kind of friendship where you actually spend time together. And I grew up with a 2nd mom–she has 4 kids of her own but that doesn’t stop her from claiming all 7 of us as her kids, too! ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

