Ready, Set, Let’s Roll!

Yesterday was Oreo’s “birthday”! We rescued him from a shelter so we don’t know his actual birth date, but we adopted him on July 10th 2010 so that’s the day we celebrate! πŸ™‚

oreo's birthdayI made him mini peanut butter carrot cakes (recipe here) and he got two new toys! One is the Kong bone and the other is the “Goughnuts” toy. It’s guaranteed to be indestructible so they replace it if he manages to puncture it. This is great news for us because our sweet pup has managed to rip apart nearly every “indestructible toy” we’ve given him (other than the “Kong extreme”). Β So we’ll see if he manages to chew through this one. Side note: check out how regal he looks in that bottom right photo. “Why yes, yes, it IS my birthday and I AM spoiled rotten…” πŸ˜‰

chase rice and parmaleeCompletely unrelated to Oreo’s birthday… last night was the Chase Rice / Parmalee concert! Chase Rice was the opener, but he has been my favorite performer of the summer so far! He sang his “Ready, Set, Let’s Roll” song that he’s best known for, but he also sang “Cruise” which he CO-WROTE with Florida Georgia Line (I had no idea he co wrote that!!). And he sang Luke Bryan’s “Drunk on You” which is one of my favorite songs. So needless to say, this was an amazing concert!

chillin at snowdenI am such a leg propper. Even right now as I type this, I have my legs propped up on the coffee table. I am either sitting like this or criss-cross-applesauce pretty much all the time. If I’m in a more formal setting I can be grown up and cross my legs instead, but this is my preference. Christopher happened to catch it in between the concerts and I thought I’d share. (ps. I only do this if no one is sitting in front of me! I wouldn’t put my feet near someone’s head!)

chase rice2I don’t know how well you can see it, but Chase had these two little twins from the audience come up on stage with him to help him sing a song. They were both white-blonde and super shy and they both had their own tiny little guitars! And their names were Jaylee and Jagger. Um, cutest thing ever (well, only until my 10lb twins are born that is πŸ˜› ). Chase was great at interacting with the crowd and he was such a good performer. Loved hearing him!

Parmalee did a great job too and it was all around a great concert! Funny story, though, remember how last time we parked far away and walked so we wouldn’t have to pay for parking only to discover that parking was free? Yeaaah… this week we drove right up to park in the free parking only to discover that it cost $10! HA! We just can’t win with the parking situation here. πŸ˜‰ Oh well, it’s a free concert so $10 is a small price to pay. And it was definitely worth it! πŸ™‚

Have you guys heard any of Chase Rice’s stuff? What about Parmalee?

Anyone else prefer to prop their feet up or sit criss-cross-applesauce?


Do you celebrate your pet’s birthday?

Love Rach

33 responses to “Ready, Set, Let’s Roll!

  1. Happy Birthday Oreo! My 4 month old yorkie has already chewed up a couple of toys that I thought he wouldn’t be able to… I prop and crisscross too. I most definitely will celebrate Wintson’s birthday! I can’t wait for his 1 year next March.

  2. looks like you had a perfect day! eek, dog birthday (we celebrate kinzie’s with a doggie cake from the bakery) and a country concert? some kind of perfect right there πŸ™‚

  3. Happy Birthday Oreo! We always celebrate our cats birthdays. our friends think we are crazy!

  4. AH I love Oreo’s birthday bonanza!! I also love the photo of you with your feet propped, I much prefer sitting like that too!

  5. Okay, so I laughed out loud when I got to the 10lb twins part. LOL!! AND I totally do celebrate my cat’s birthdays. πŸ™‚ We know that they were 4 months old when we adopted them one November, so we always celebrate their birthdays on July 4th. πŸ™‚

    • Aww, I like that you know the month your kitties were born in! That definitely helps with the birthday celebrating! πŸ™‚ They were really unsure of Oreo’s age when we adopted him (they thought about 2 which would make him 6 now), but the vet we took him to after we adopted him said he probably wasn’t even 1 when we adopted him, haha! So since we don’t know how many YEARS old he is, we definitely had no idea around what month/season he was born. So adoption day it is for us. πŸ˜‰ But I so love that you guys celebrate your kitties’ birthdays! πŸ™‚

  6. Oreo is one lucky pup! You really pamper him! And I know I’ve said it before, but you guys are so lucky to have such great free summer concerts! We’ve got some free concerts in Pittsburgh, but it’s never usually anyone we want to see…

    • Teehee! We definitely do pamper him! We’re dog sitting for some friends right now and he is such a brat to the other dog, ha! They play together only on his terms and she isn’t allowed to play with any of his toys (if we give her one, he’ll take it from her and hide it from her under blankets then LAY on top of them!). Yeaaah… we’s definitely a spoiled only child. πŸ˜‰

  7. Happy Birthday Oreo! I love his name. πŸ™‚ I am totally a foot propper gal…as I write this my legs are propped up on our porch wall. (I am sitting outside blog hopping today)

  8. Happy Birthday to Oreo!! πŸ™‚

  9. Oh my goodness, the parking! You guys really can’t win haha. And happy birthday again to Oreo! What a lucky puppy getting his own carrot cakes! And high five for leg propping; I do that allll the time too. Unless I’m somewhere formal, I pretty much always have my legs up on the couch/seat. πŸ™‚

  10. What a fun concert. I absolutely love outdoor summer concerts!

  11. Happy (belated) birthday, Oreo!!

    Oh. my. gosh. The parking!! Last time free, this time $10. I guess at least you didn’t have to walk as far this time!

    Sidenote: when is your birthday??

    • ​I know, right! Crazy with all the parking! And I’m so glad we didn’t have to walk this time because at some point I have apparently strained my calf so walking long distances is out of the question right now (this has also meant no gym time which is a bummer for me). But such is life sometimes. I just want to rest it up so it’ll be better! πŸ™‚

      It’s July 30th! So soon! ​

  12. Shelter dogs are the best! I love the name Oreo, so cute!

  13. A Happy Belated Birthday to Oreo! We celebrate our dogs “birthdays” on the day we adopted them as well! Willy’s birthday was back in February and I made Banana Pupcakes with Cream Cheese & Honey Frosting—they cannot get enough of them! I’m going to have to try that Peanut Butter Carrot Cake recipe, maybe for Agatha’s “birthday” coming up, because my dogs go crazy for peanut butter as well!

  14. happy birthday! i’m sort of a criss cross but i put my legs in a different position. hard to explain!

  15. Pingback: A bit of a hodge podge post |

Leave a Reply

