DaiYan came to visit!

Remember last year when one of my best friends from China came to visit me?! Well, this year another girl from that friend group came to visit! πŸ™‚ This was us a little over 10 years ago when I was still living in Wuhan:

rach and daiyan collageYuuuup, that’s 16-year-old Rach. DingJing (who you got to meet last year via this blog) is in several of these pictures too because we were in the same friend group. πŸ™‚

daiyan and rachAnd here we are 10 years later!

daiyan with will and malDaiYan also got to meet the kiddos I nanny! I’ve taught Will a little bit of Chinese so sheΒ was super impressed by his language skills. She taught him a few simple characters and some new words. She told me that he’s a genius with language. πŸ˜‰

will mal hadleyHadley came over for a little bit yesterday morning, too, so DaiYan really got a taste for what my days look like. Yeah, I literally play with kids all day.Β It’s a good life. πŸ™‚ Β She had fun playing hide-and-seek with them all throughout our house and building with legos (don’t worry, the little girls were supervised with those tiny lego pieces!).

dad will malOh, and my parents came too. They are the ones taking DaiYan around on the grand tour of the US of A. This was the first time the kiddos I nanny got to meet my parents and after Dad showed pictures of bugs on his laptop and Mom doled out treats, the kids decided they could stay. πŸ˜‰

daiyan and rachWe spent the late afternoon and evening out in the country. Of all the places DaiYan has been so far in the US, this was her favorite. She is used to the hustle and bustle of big cities, but never something as serene as the country. I told her she needed to visit where Christopher grew up in Illinois, ha!

daiyan and rach collage10 years later… πŸ™‚

It was so good to see her again after all these years. One of these days I’m going to make it back to Wuhan and see everyone that I miss! And eat all the delicious food that I miss! And hear that Wuhanhua (dialect) that I miss! And just in general, be in the place that will always hold a piece of my heart. πŸ™‚

Have you had any friends come visit recently?

Does hanging out with kids all day sound like fun or super stressful to you?Β (as mentioned in my video on Monday, there was a time that I never could’ve fathomed doing what I do now so I totally understand!)
Love Rach

 

35 responses to “DaiYan came to visit!

  1. friends are such a blessing, and it’s wonderful when you can be reunited with the people that have had a positive impact on your life ❀ ps-loved the throwback pics!

  2. That is great you got to catch up with a friend after so long! I have some friends coming to stay with me in a couple of weeks. They don’t live too far away at all but we get so busy with work that we don’t see each other much. I changed my major from elementary education to business for a reason πŸ™‚

  3. It is so great that you have had the chance to reconnect with some of your friends from China. That’s a dream of mine, most definitely!

    • I really never thought it would happen until it happened with DingJing last year! I always figured that if I were ever going to see any of them again, that I’d have to go back to China. Which I totally want to do. I just haven’t made it happen yet. Christopher still has never been and he really wants to go too!

  4. You girls look the same as you did 10 years ago! 😍 so fun to have a friendship last that long!

  5. How much fun to have two of your friends come to visit over the last few years!!! πŸ™‚ Do you miss life in China?

    • I do! I mean, I love where I am in life. And Memphis has become home to me which is something that I thought would never happen (I always thought China would be the only place that felt like home). But now it’s like I have two homes. The one I live in and love now, and then one I lived in and loved before. My husband has never been so we hope to go back to visit someday!

  6. I have out with a kid all day, so I better like it ha. I do love kids! Y’all were cute teens and are now both very beautiful women!

  7. that is awesome you have been maintaining that friendship!! how cool she came to visit

  8. So cool that after all these years she’s able to come visit you in the USA! This past winter we had a friend from Malaysia come visit us (She didn’t particularly appreciate winter…)

    • I can only imagine how much she didn’t appreciate the winter weather, ha! Wuhan (the city I lived in) is hotter than Memphis in the summers and colder in the winters. And all without heat or a/c. So DaiYan handled the weather here just fine. However, she was cold in our house with the a/c on (set to 75 in July). So I gave her a stack of blankets to sleep with. I would’ve just turned the unit off, but my parents were there too and my mom keeps her thermostat at 68 so she was already pretty warm in our house, ha! πŸ˜‰

  9. It’s so nice when friends whom we haven’t seen in years come to visit. I lived in England for two years back in 2004-2006 and just today, I was chatting with some of my friends from there. We all agreed that a reunion was due. πŸ™‚

    As for your question…I teach kindergarten, so no…being around kids do not freak me out at all. I love them.

  10. lovet his! so sweet. i nanny too!

  11. Oh, I remember that post! =D It’s so nice you still kept in touch even after so many years. =)

    We had so many visitors lately.. Our discipleship group last Friday, then another group of friends on Sunday and then my parents on Tuesday! Our house is quiet busy haha

  12. I love the side to side comparison of you two ten years later! Such a sweet visit. πŸ™‚

  13. This is awesome!! Do you remember the language? Also…where were you in Memphis in the country??

  14. Look at the little one’s expression as she looks into the laptop!!! Woah!! Priceless ❀

  15. It’s so exciting that you have had MULTIPLE friends from China come visit you. We’re always telling our Chinese friends to come visit us! But I know it’s a very expensive trip!

    • And so difficult to get the Visas! I never thought I would get to see any of my friends from China here in the States, but I have now been surprised TWICE! πŸ™‚ I hope some of your friends are able to make it someday! πŸ™‚ And if nothing else, maybe you and I can get together with Amy (adesertgirl) and eat Chinese food and talk about the wonderful China days. πŸ™‚

  16. Ah, so exciting that you got to see your friend after 10 years!! Those pictures of you guys are absolutely precious! And I love the picture of your Dad with the kids you nanny…he looks like such a natural with kiddos! (Which makes sense since he’s had quite a few of his own haha). And I personally think hanging out with kids all day sounds awesome! I nannied one summer, and I loved it. Although, the girl I nannied went to preschool in the morning, so I pretty much picked her up, gave her lunch, and then she napped most of the afternoon away. So maybe I didn’t get the best taste of what it’s actually like haha πŸ˜‰

  17. Pingback: Momma Billie’s Blackberry Cobbler |

Leave a Reply

