Mommo

After we got back from Illinois, I mentioned spending time with some of Christopher’s family, but I decided that Mommo needed her very own post. Mommo is Christopher’s grandmother and sheย is such a spunky, independent lady.

christopher and mommo

On my side of the family, we all try to get together frequently for holidays and birthdays and just to see each other. Christopher’s family doesn’t really do that as much so to see Mommo we try to make a trip up to Illinois at least once a year.

us with mommo

We’ve missed two years out of the six we’ve been married, but it’s better than not seeing her at all! She is a special lady and we don’t know how many years we’ll have left with her. Though… Mommo is so fit that I wouldn’t be surprised if she outlives us all! She walks a couple of miles every day! And she finally just retired from the “old folks home” where she worked (you know, where many of the inhabitants were younger than she was, ha!).

us with mommo2

I had one great-grandmother who lived until I was 13 (my namesake: Rachel, in fact!). But other than her, I don’t remember any of my other great-grandparents. In an effort to let our future children know Mommo just a little bit, we filmed her giving them a little bit of advice. I know this may seem morbid, but it’s not like we think we’ll never see her again. It’s just something we wanted to do while we were thinking about it.ย We want to give our kids the chance to see and hear their great-grandmother. And her little speech turned out to be SO true to who she is when she goes off track that I felt like it was a great way for our kids to get to know her a little. And since I think it’s hilarious, I want to share it with you guys as well!

So I actually couldn’t see what I was filming at the time because of the sun which is why this is missing part of her head some of the time, ha! But the video is still so true to Mommo – right down to the bugging-us-to-have-kids-but-then-taking-it-back thing. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Did you grow up knowing any of your great-grandparents?

Do people bug you about the next stage of life? (when you are you going to start dating/get married/have a kid/have another kid/etc). Does it bother you when people ask you those questions?
Love Rach

22 responses to “Mommo

  1. This made me cry! I miss my grandmother so much! I’m glad y’all were able to visit her and you both cherish her so much.

  2. Loved this post so, so much! Such a great idea to make a video of her. Wish I had something like that of my great-grandparents!

  3. oh. my. goodness.
    she is precious!!
    “hurry up and get here” ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    I don’t think this is morbid at all – I think it is beautiful and I want to copy it!

  4. Awwww.. =)

    I never got to meet any of my great grand parents, but I had a pretty close relationship with my grandmom (mother’s side).

    And yes! It does bug me when people used to ask us “when we are going to have kids”… It got annoying when everyone you see ask you the same question. Now, all of them go .. “Oh, finally!” haha.. We’re so excited for the upcoming baby! =D

  5. She is a spitfire!!! Tiny with so much personality. What a great Mommo and role model for future generations. I love that she just ‘retired’ from working at the old folks home!!

  6. This is the BEST post ever!! What a gem she is. I don’t get the children question thankfully, because I don’t see kids in my future yet…like…I’m still at the “I don’t even want kids” phase haha. It helps that I’m single haha.

    • โ€‹You know, not everyone should have kids. It’s the way we expect life to go: grow up, get married, have kids. But I think if we stopped to really consider if we actually *want* to get married or if we โ€‹actually *want *to have kids, a lot fewer people would be getting divorced and abandoning kids. It has only been in the last few years that I’ve warmed up to the idea of having kids at all. When Christopher and I got married, we did not plan to have children. If we really felt like we wanted them, we thought we might adopt. A lot has changed since then and now we do want both biological children as well as adopted children someday. But we took a lot of criticism from people when we would tell them that we didn’t plan to have children. Some people aren’t cut out to be parents. Some people are concerned about overpopulation. Some people have passions that lie elsewhere and having children would hinder them from their life’s work. I mean, nobody mocks Mother Teresa for not having kids (or maybe they did?). Anyway, all that is to say, if you decide to have kids someday, I think you would make a fun, energetic, crunchy momma. And if you decide to not have kids someday, then I think that’s an equally valid choice. I just expect you to think my kids are awesome and be their cool Aunt Britt from far away. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. She is just too sweet… and feisty at the same time! ๐Ÿ™‚ Just watching this video showed me how special she is!!!

  8. Aw she is adorable! Your future kids will love getting to see this!! The other night we watched our wedding video and at the end of the video our videographer interviewed people including my grandparents (my grandpas are both no longer with us). I can’t tell you how much it meant to me to have them on video knowing that someday my kids will get to see them. So sweet you two take time out of your busy lives to go visit. I can tell she is a wise (and hilarious) lady.

  9. I love this!! My granny (great grandma) lived until I was in college. I actually lived with her while I was a kid for a little while and she took care of my brother and me.

  10. Okay, I watched the video SO long ago, but I watched it on my phone, so I didn’t comment! Mommo seems so lovely and fun! And so impressive that she just retired from a seniors home with residents younger than her! I love it ๐Ÿ™‚ I love her advice too! Also, my great-grandma lived till I was 13 too! Twinsies ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

