That’s What I love About Sunday

Last night was Kix 106’s last concert of the summer. They hosted Austin Webb (best known for “Raise ‘Em Up”) and Craig Morgan who has 15 hits in the top 10 and two number 1 hits. But before I get to the music…

It was packed last night. Super packed. Snowden Grove Amphitheater is an outdoor location with 4,000 fixed seats and space for an extra 7,000 on the lawn behind. Last night it seemed like they were at (or above) capacity. We were sitting near the middle of the crowd (on the last row of fixed seats just before the lawn began) so we had people milling around behind us constantly. At one point someone behind us threw their beer and it splashed all over our legs. Not cool. And the crowd was SO loud (just chatting and talking to each other during the concert) that we could hardly hear Craig Morgan as he performed. I get that people want to drink and have a good time, but when the crowd talks so loudly that you can’t hear the performer, that’s just ridiculous. The talking did finally die down as Craig began singing favorites so that was good at least.

Do I sound like a grumpy old lady? Haha! I don’t mean to. I understand that crowds come with the territory of a concert and I normally don’t mind them. But last night was just a bit much. Buuuut… Craig did sing one of my favorite songs by him. So that makes up for it a bit. 🙂

That’s what I love about Sunday:
Sing along as the choir sways;
Every verse of Amazing Grace,
And then we shake the Preacher’s hand.
Go home, into your blue jeans;
Have some chicken and some baked beans.
Pick a back yard football team,
Not do much of anything:
That’s what I love about Sunday.

Such a sweet song about the wonderfulness that is Sunday. Like Craig, I love Sundays. 🙂 I love our church family and singing and listening to our pastor preach. And I love going out to lunch with our friends every Sunday after church. And then snuggling with Oreo in the afternoon. And spending time with our teens in the late afternoon and spending time with our life group Sunday nights. Sundays are just wonderful days. 🙂

Have you ever been to an event that was packed and a little too rowdy?
Do you have a favorite day of the week?
Love Rach

24 responses to “That’s What I love About Sunday

  1. I have always loved that song!!! I’d say my favorite day of the week is Saturday, especially lazy weekend Saturdays 🙂

  2. I wish that I could attend concerts in the privacy and quiet of my own backyard. Mainly because the other people in attendance are often obnoxious. So I hear ya! I like Craig Morgan. My mom saw him perform at the Grand Ol’ Opry and she really enjoyed it.

  3. I hate crowded concerts. But it seem to happen a lot.
    My favourite day of the week is Friday. Woo Hoo – it’s Friday!

  4. I’ve definitely been to obnoxious concerts before, and I agree that they’re no fun! It’s frustrating when other concer-goers aren’t respectable of the people around them!

  5. Such a good song! That is crazy that people were that loud! Why would you go to a concert if you weren’t interested in the music?

  6. Rowdy people irritate me. I guess I had my rowdy moments too when I was younger, but now that I am getting older I just have minimal patience for that! HA. I would have been irked for sure!

  7. ugh!! That stinks!! Sorry about the people, but I’m sure it was a wonderful concert!

  8. what i love about sunday is one of my favorite songs 🙂 wish i was going to some country concerts this summer — i’ll just have to experience it through you 🙂

  9. Oreo…. now all I can think about is an oreo blizzard lol (can you tell it’s my pregnant brain talking)

    I am the same way at concerts, that you just can enjoy the moment and people just some times over do it.

    My favorite day typically is Saturday morning because the pugs and my daughter all climb in our bed and watch a cartoon and cuddle.

  10. I love Sundays…church and brunch is the best. Sounds like a fun concert despite those people! 😛

  11. I love that song! And too bad about the noisy crowd and the beer spilled on you guys. I totally agree; it makes sense for people to want to have fun, but when they get super loud it ruins it for the people who are there for the concert more than the crazy party-time fun. (Okay, now I sound 90.) When we went to Lady Antebellum, we saw some people getting thrown out by security for being too crazy and disruptive. It made us kind of happy haha.

  12. The last time I went to a concert I had a similar experience, so I know what you mean! Also, I love that song 🙂

Leave a Reply

