Finally somewhere safe…

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this on the blog before or not, but I have a passion for ending sex trafficking. Whether that be through education and financial support for children who could be at risk or if it is rescuing people from the sex trade and helping rehabilitate them.

paul farmer quote{source}

For a long time all I have been able to do is send financial support to organizations doing this overseas and pray. But earlier this year I met a lady here in Memphis who had the same passion I have. Sex trafficking is happening everywhere. It isn’t just something happening in third world countries far away. It’s in our own cities. And this wonderful lady decided to do something about what is happening in Memphis. So she began an organization and Christopher and I hopped on board this past spring. {here’s the website for more info}

corrie ten boom quote{source}

After much planning and work, the first two ladies arrived at the home this week. On Saturday morning I took them shopping for basic clothing. I can’t describe to you the number of emotions I experienced in that one morning as they shared bits and pieces of their stories with me. Heart-wrenching mostly. But also hopeful. Because here they are. Still standing. Fighting another day. And they are finally somewhere safe.

st teresa quote

I went from there to a funeral for a family friend. As his sons stood up to speak about the kind of loving, generous, gentle, Godly man he was, I couldn’t help but compare their stories to the stories of those ladies I had just met. Oh what a difference loving parents make in the lives of their children. I get that it can be easy to be cynical about the world and how difficult life can be, but I want to leave you with this thought because this is where I am today:

iain thomas quote

Do you have a cause or organization that you are passionate about?
Love Rach

 

20 responses to “Finally somewhere safe…

  1. I think this is a great cause to be involved with. I also think it is good that you highlighted that this is happening all around us, in our own towns and cities. It’s scary!

    • Yeah, I think that was one of the things that really surprised me when I started learning more about sex trafficking. It isn’t just something that happens far away. It’s right here where we live. I’m glad I have this opportunity to *do *something about it!

  2. I bet that it was completely powerful and humbling to be able to take those ladies shopping and hear about their experiences. I can’t even imagine what they and other victims have gone through. That is awesome that you found an organization in Memphis that addresses a cause so close to your heart.
    And you are so right – equipping and teaching people to be nurturing, empathetic, responsible parents is so, so critical.

    • Yes! I could hardly believe it when Sandra (the lady who started CSTL here in Memphis) began talking about this dream she had to open a recovery home like this. She’s a lady in her 60’s and yet she and I are so alike in our passions which I love. I’m so glad she had a dream and that she has allowed Christopher and I to walk along side her in this process to help. 🙂

  3. I think it’s great that you have a cause that you are so passionate about, and I think it’s even more impressive, knowing how involved you are, that you continue to be a positive person/influence on others and you haven’t let some of the harsh realities of the world turn you into a cynical person. The quote at the end is pretty powerful because it is so true…. the world can make you hard. It’s inspiring to see someone who has such a great outlook on life despite how crazy (I honestly couldn’t think of another word) the world can be. I really admire that.
    And that’s one of the reasons I really enjoy reading your blog—your positivity & cheeriness are contagious!
    PS-I just mentioned you in my latest blog post, if you want to check it out 😉 http://amateandarottweiler.blogspot.com.ar/2014/08/very-inspiring-blogger-award.html

    Hope you have a great week xx

    • I think part of it is personality – I’m a super optimistic person and always see the best in people/situations. But part of it too is that I have seen a lot of beauty rise from the ashes of something that most people would say isn’t worth saving. When you see that happen time and time again, it’s hard NOT to be hopeful and positive. 🙂

      And hey! Thanks for the nomination! You are so sweet! 🙂

  4. you have such a beautiful heart, and i love how you consistently choose to help others and refuse to lose your own joy — just so lovely.

    • Girl, you know how this is. You are always pouring back into your community and other’s lives by all the acts of kindness that you go about so intentionally. It’s like the scripture says, “freely you have been given, freely give…” 🙂

  5. I am so so proud of you. This filled my heart with so much Joy:) I love you girl!! xoxo Keep sharing about this!

  6. This is SUCH an amazing cause!! And, Girl, that is so awesome that you are sharing God’s love and your gentle heart with these frightened women who have gone through so much. You are amazing!!! 🙂

  7. Pingback: The sweet, happy moments |

  8. This is incredible! I’m so glad that you can be closely involved with such an amazing cause. There’s a similar organization here that I’ve wanted to volunteer at, but I’m always afraid that I’m too sheltered and wouldn’t be able to contain my shock at some of the things that these people have been through. And I love all of the quotes you chose. Especially the last one.

    • If you feel it tugging on your heart, you should definitely get involved. Go with a friend. Or with Steve. The organization we are working with really likes for couples to be around because it models appropriate male/female relationships to these ladies who have never seen a healthy relationship. And you know, I’m sure that they are used to seeing shock on people’s faces when they share bits of their story. I think if you can communicate that your shock is coming from a place of deep empathy for them (that it breaks your heart to hear their story) then they will really appreciate that (vs. them thinking that you are judging them by your shocked expression). Anyway, not to push this on you because different people have different passions, but if you feel your heart tugging you that way – go! 🙂

  9. I love that you are involved in this! I have been seriously thinking about becoming involved in Trades of Hope! I have a friend of a friend that is involved in it and she does missionary trips as well. It really blows my mind to see/hear about all the sex trafficking. The sad part is that it’s not only happening in other countries, but our own.

  10. Rach, this is so good! I love the last quote. I love that you are doing something about your passion!

  11. Pingback: A Saturday Morning at St. Anne’s |

Leave a Reply

