I’m going to miss him

This is Will’s last week of summer before he starts KINDERGARTEN next week. Kindergarten, you guys. It makes me a little teary-eyed that he is growing up so fast and going to school already, but it makes me especially sad to think about how I won’t get to spend the days with him anymore. I’ll be getting him up early to get ready for school and eat breakfast and scoot out the door and then I’ll be picking him up from school in the afternoon just in time for his parents to come home. I mean, I’ll still have Mallory during the days, but I sure am going to miss Will. He is such a sweet little soul. I’m looking forward to his school breaks when I’ll get to see him more during the day! After two years of spending most of our days together, it’s a little hard to let go, haha!

will2William is all smiles and sweetness (this shot is from earlier this summer)

will and rachThis was us yesterday snuggling on the couch and watching Frozen. I know he’s five and huge, but if he wants to snuggle I am definitely not going to turn him down. I’m telling you, this kid is just sweetness itself. πŸ™‚

I can only imagine how difficult it will be to watch my own kids go off to kindergarten someday. Or you know, maybe I’ll just keep them all home and home school them so I never have to let go. πŸ˜‰ You can home school through college, right? πŸ˜›

mallory At least I still have this sweet girl to spend the days with! πŸ™‚ {and yup, I took that shot – it’s one of my favorites of her! This was from a session I did for their family this past spring}

Have you had a child or niece/nephew or some other kid you were close to go off to kindergarten? Give me some tips for preparing myself emotionally for next week! πŸ˜‰
Love Rach

21 responses to “I’m going to miss him

  1. Awww! Yeah, that’s a huge change for you and for him! (And I think the wanting to spend some more time with her little kids was a big factor in getting my mom started homeschooling us…which has gone on for about 20 years now, she’s got 4 high school grads and 3 still in school…and we turned out just fine…haha!)

    • I love that! I could definitely see myself as the mom of 7 and home schooling them all. πŸ™‚ One of my best friends is a middle child of 8 kids and her mom home schooled them all. And I know the majority of her siblings and they are all really great, sweet people. Totally normal socially and well educated (so boo to stereotypes!). My mom home schooled us (there were 5 of us) for at least part of our childhood years. I’ve been to public school, private school, and been home schooled and I probably did best in the home school environment where I could work at my own pace. πŸ™‚ Aaand my husband was homeschooled K-12 and he’s my favorite person ever. πŸ™‚ So I am totally pro home schooling. I’m not sure if we’ll do it for our own family or not, but it is definitely an option we’ll consider because we’ve had such good experiences with it. πŸ™‚

  2. Ahh, that is going to be an adjustment. You will love seeing him thrive and grow through his time at school though. This is just the beginning of the next chapter. πŸ™‚

  3. First of all, I can’t believe how early school starts there! We don’t start until September here! I would be so bummed having to go back to school when it’s still hot out πŸ˜‰ And I can only imagine how crazy it will feel to not spend your days with him when you’ve done it for so long! But I’m sure his sister will absolutely love having you all to herself!

    • Oh man, starting school in September makes SO much more sense to me! I feel so badly for some of the kids here who started on July 31st. I mean, it’s JULY! How is that a “fall semester”?! Most of our kids started back this past week (August 4th) so Will is actually starting late by starting this week. Isn’t that crazy? I am all about a September school start date. That just makes more sense. πŸ™‚

  4. Hey, homeschooling is always an option. πŸ™‚

    -Tia

  5. Awwwh, that must be such a huge change to adjust to, but I am sure you will do great with it πŸ™‚

  6. I just adore the relationship you have with these two!! That last shot is TOO adorable.

  7. Congratulations to Will, he’ll be in kindergarten, I cannot wait to hear about his first day of school! Wishing him all the best! Haha, I watched Frozen few months ago and I thought the musical was pretty nice! I dont’ have kids but I can imagine how difficult it will be to watch your own kids go off to school for the first time! I currently have a niece, but she’s a toddler now, learning how to talk!

  8. Kindergarten is TERRIBLE. I would be the crying parent. The parent who was the perma classroom helper. The parent whose kids would say, “Mom, I’m FINE!” πŸ™‚

    The other day a lady was saying that next year all 6 of her kids will be in school and she won’t know what to do with herself, but that she had earned it. I told her she’d wander around the house making messes with thrir toys just so she’d have something to clean up! lol πŸ™‚

  9. aww, those kids you watch are so, so sweet. how lucky are they to have you taking such gorgeous pictures of them? and frozen and cuddles? of course you’re going to miss him!!!

  10. Aww, kindergarten! That’s definitely rough!! Both Mallory and Will seem so, so sweet and precious!

  11. Pingback: Mallory |

Leave a Reply

