So. Much. Good. Food.

ChristopherΒ grew up going to Destin on vacation every summer and this past trip was our third time to go together so obviously we love it. While we were there we started talking about how cool it would be if we had a place that we took our kids back to every summer just because Christopher has so many great memories there. Destin is pretty high on that list right now, haha! Of course, while we’re both darker complected, there’s no guarantee what our kiddos will look like. Of our four parents, three of them are very fair skinned. So yeah, when I birth a blue-eyed, red-headed, fair skinned kid I’m not sure what we’re going to do. I guess coat them with sunscreen, put them in a wet suit and giant hat, and put them under an umbrella. πŸ˜‰ But I’m getting ahead of myself…

rach and christopher

Since we’ve been to Destin so often we have a pretty good idea of the best places to eat. This year instead of trying a bunch of new places we decided to stick with our favorites. πŸ™‚

fisherman's wharf2Christopher grew up eating at Fisherman’s Wharf every summer and we’ve eaten here every time we’ve visited together as well. Their food is SO delicious! I love their mahi mahi and fish tacos and their loaded baked potatoes and their mac & cheese. It’s all so good! This is definitely our favorite spot for seafood in Destin!
Fisherman's Wharf on Urbanspoon

fat clemenza'sFat Clemenza’s is our favorite Italian spot in Destin. Their garlic knots are ah-mazing! And their bolognese is one of my favorites! I’d say it’s tied with Maggiano’sΒ as my favorite bolognese I’ve eaten in the States which is saying a lot because you guys know how much I love bolognese! So yummy! And it’s so much food that I can take half of it back to the condo to eat later! Love having it twice this past weekend! πŸ˜€ Christopher tried the seafood pasta for the first time this time around and it was pretty good. But to us it wasn’t worth the price tag. Next time Christopher will just get the tried and true pizza (which I’ve blogged about before here).
Fat Clemenza's on Urbanspoon

fujiWe did stop at one new place. Mostly for lunches we just ate snacks on the beach, but one day I was really craving sushi so we drove to the closest spot to get some sushi to go. We were expecting just mediocre because we didn’t do any research on this place, but it was DELICIOUS! I even got some noodles and a little sweet & sour chicken which were also great. We will definitely be back to Fuji’s the next time we’re in Destin!
Fuji Sushi & Seafood Buffet on Urbanspoon

mcguires2We hit up McGuires twice while we were in Destin because we love it so much! We had Tyina as our server the first night and she was literally the nicest server we’ve ever had. Ever. She was just so genuinely kind and sweet. For those of you who have never been to McGuires, it’s such a fun spot. There is over a million dollars in dollar bills stapled to the walls and ceilings all over the restaurant. And the mens & women’s restrooms can be a little confusing if you don’t read carefully (look at the pics above). It’s such a fun spot, though!

mcguiresTheir bread is like a taste of heaven. I can’t even describe how good it is. And just completely covered in honey butter. You guys, so good. Their potato skins were to-die-for. Definitely the best ones I’ve ever had! They are like an entire meal in of themselves! Their nachos were ENORMOUS (this photo doesn’t do them justice). We barely even made it through half of them. I loved the nachos, but they weren’t Christopher’s favorite (he didn’t like the mess they made because they were piled so high). And their Senate Bean Soup is still just 18 cents because that’s what they first charged for it when the restaurant opened 1977. It’s super tasty. I would order every single one of these items again!

steaks from mcguiresBoth nights that we were there we split a steak. The first night we ordered their highest rated, priciest prime steak. And the second night we ordered the least expensive “choice” steak. Christopher enjoyed them both and to tell you the truth… I actually really liked the “choice” (aka “cheaper”) steak way more than the pricey one! I’m not sure what that says about my taste quality, haha! But really all their food is SO good!
McGuire's Irish Pub of Destin on Urbanspoon

rachChristopher snapped this shot of me watching the beginning of the sunset from our balcony one night before we headed to dinner. πŸ™‚

Did you grow up going to the same vacation spots?
Do you prefer to return to favorite restaurants to to try new places?
Love Rach

31 responses to “So. Much. Good. Food.

  1. I love that last photo of you! And all that food!! Looks so delicious. I’m hungry and my Cheerios aren’t cutting it this morning… Oh and I would definitely walk into the wrong restroom at McGuire’s!
    I grew up showing animals in 4-H and FFA so our family “vacations” were always to the fair (county and state).

    • Thanks, friend!! I loved that he got that shot. πŸ™‚

      If I hadn’t known about the bathroom thing, I totally would’ve walked into the wrong one too! While we were waiting on our table, we heard someone else talking about it which is how we knew. πŸ˜‰

      I think family vacations to the fairs would be so much fun! My parents were big into educational trips. I mean, we went to the beach some, but we also did a lot of museums and places like that. πŸ™‚

  2. That all looks amazing! I am so hungry now

  3. Reading your blog always makes me so hungry! We were doing a vacation-every-spring-in-Destin tradition for awhile, but it was paid for by my parents. And then my parents moved, and they missed a year, and the year after that…so we haven’t really done it in awhile. But I miss it! I grew up in Florida and I feel like I’ve been to just about all of the major Florida beaches, and Destin/PCB area is hands down the prettiest one–one of my favorites!

    • Aww, I love hearing this from a native Floridian! That makes me feel even more confident in my love for the beaches in Destin! πŸ™‚ You need to get back to the beach, girl! Tell your parents that your little boy needs to experience a beach trip. πŸ˜‰

  4. We grew up going to a lot of the same places, but I love having those memories year after year! And the food memories are the best ones! πŸ™‚

  5. That last photo of you is absolutely beautiful!! πŸ™‚ (Great job, Christopher! He had a good eye to capture that moment).
    AND I love the idea of going back to the same place every year. For me, that is the White Mountains of New Hampshire. To this day, when I go there, I feel as though it’s my second home, and I just feel happy.
    And I do love to try new restaurants… but when I’m in an area with one of my favorite restaurants, I do tend to go to a tried-and-true place. πŸ™‚ I just always end up craving my favorite dishes!

    • Thanks, friend! I love that shot! I’m so glad he got it! πŸ™‚

      And I loved reading about what the White Mountains meant to you when you blogged about it a bit ago. I think that is really so cool! I’m excited for our kids to have memories like that someday. πŸ™‚

      Yes! That’s exactly how I am! We’ll be in Nashville for a wedding this weekend and we could try SO many new local places, but I guarantee you that we will be eating at Maggiano’s at some point this weekend because we love it so much, haha!

  6. We go to Destin several times a year and grew up going, too. Love fisherman’s wharf, and Mcguires by what about THE DONUT HOLE? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  7. I love the last picture of you! Wowza, beautiful!! I think it would be so cute if you and Christopher had a fair-skinned child! My parents are both dark skinned, with brown and green eyes and brown hair… and I ended up as pale as a Cullen, with blue eyes and blonde hair. So you never know, haha!

    • I love how you are so fair and came from two dark parents. Genetics are a crazy thing! My dad is a red-head, my nephew & niece are red-heads and two of my cousins are red-headed. So there’s a lot of those genes floating around our family, haha! My little sister is a natural blonde (though she dyes her hair dark) so we’ll see!

  8. You know I love McGuire’s! I love that shot of you on the balcony. Beautimous. If you guys haven’t stayed/played at the SanDestin resort, you should!

  9. Welp, now I’m starving for dinner! The Fisherman’s Wharf restaurant looks so cute, and those fish tacos look delicious! I’ve actually never had fish tacos before, but I really need to try them ASAP. Fish tacos, and lobster rolls….those are on my food “bucket list” πŸ™‚

  10. YOUR SHIRT in that last photo…SO sassy and classy at the same time I LOVE it. So much good food is the PERFECT title for this!

  11. I know that you receive a TON of these blogger awards (because your blog is so awesome). AND I know that you prefer not to choose specific blogs to nominate (which I generally do as well).
    But this time around, I did choose blogs that are a few of my faves…

    So all that to say, I nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award, because you deserve it!! πŸ™‚ Ha, ha.

    http://justliveitblog.wordpress.com/2014/08/21/thanks-for-the-blog-award/

  12. loved seeing where you ate since i am heading there in sept! mollly maguire passed away this week. i go to the one in pensacola

    • Oh wow! I didn’t know that! I’m sure that has hit their family and community hard. I was learning about her (and the history of McGuires) last week while we were there.

      And hey, always glad to pass on suggestions. I hope you have an amazing time there!

  13. All of this food looks amazing. Especially those potato skins. We try the potato skins pretty much everywhere we eat. It’s kind of our thing πŸ™‚

  14. I grew up going to Gulf Shores/Orange Beach. I went to Santa Rosa Beach, FL last year for my birthday and will be going again in a few weeks. I have fallen in love with Santa Rosa. I may have to try Fisherman’s Wharf while we are down there! There are a couple of favorites we have to but I always love trying some new places too.

  15. Pingback: Destin 2016: Things I want to Remember |

Leave a Reply

