The day my sister moved to China

Today my little sister moves from Dallas, Texas to Wuhan, Hubei (in China). It shocks a lot of people when they first hear this, but for her this isn’t as major of a life change as you might think. I mean, yes, she is leaving the life she has built in Dallas. But she isn’t going to a new place. You see, Wuhan was once home for us. Back in August of 2000 my parents moved our family to Wuhan, China. My older siblings were all out of the house by then so it was just Abby and me. Four years later I graduated high school and moved back to the States and the following year after that, my parents and Abby moved back to the States as well. So Abby spent ages 10-15 living in China. So in so many ways, moving to Wuhan is going home for her.

rach and abby china collageAbby and I from 2000-2004 in China while we both lived there.

She will return to a life and culture and language and place that is dear to both our hearts. She’ll be teaching English in a university and I am so very excited for her. A huge adventure is beginning for her and it is about to be awesome!

rach and abby collageShots of us together since she was born in 1989. Yes, I dyed my hair blue once. Also, consider yourself lucky. Mid-1990 photos don’t come out of the vault often, but that shot of Abby and I on the trampoline was just too sweet not to share. πŸ™‚

But she will always be my little sister. It doesn’t matter that she’s 3 inches taller than me and nearly 25 years old. It doesn’t matter that she has a college degree and has been a manager of a coffee shop for the past couple of years. It doesn’t matter that she is more widely traveledΒ andΒ more cultured than I am. It doesn’t matter that she speaks more languages than I do or has been an independent adult for several years now. Because she will always, always, always be my “little” sister.

Do you have any siblings that live far away?
Do you have a younger sibling/cousin who will always be “little” to you?
Love Rach

 

37 responses to “The day my sister moved to China

  1. Dannii @ Hungry Healthy Happy

    I never knew that you lived in China. My brother lives about 300 miles away from me, which I guess isn’t that far.

  2. aww, love this post and all the pictures of your sister. looks like the two of you have a wonderful relationship ❀ i'll say a prayer that her move is easy and her time inspiring πŸ™‚

  3. Your mei mei. This is so sweet. I love all the photos! Best of luck to to your sis on the new adventure!

    • Yeees! My mei mei. πŸ™‚ In fact, we were talking to a Chinese lady on Sunday and she was asking which of us was older and when we told her that I was Abby’s jie jie, she couldn’t believe it because Abby is taller than I am. That’s not a conversation we’re used to having in Chinese because Abby didn’t have her growth spurt until after I left home. So we’ve heard it plenty in the States, but not while we were there. By my last year at home in China she had just reached my height so most people asked if we were sheuang bao tai (twins). It makes me wonder what it would be like for us interacting with people in China now as adults verses as teenagers. Anyway, yes… my mei mei. πŸ™‚

      • Ahh, sheuang bao tai! There was a girl (Doris) who I had a lot in common with and we called ourselves sheuang bao tai. Good memories!

        I bet people in China would regularly ask who was older as well! Especially since you girls are so tall and would likely seem even taller in China.

        • Aww, I love that you understand so much of the culture and language that is so close to my heart. When I have a total I-miss-China-break-down while she’s over there I know who to talk to! πŸ™‚

          And my gracious, we always stuck out while in China. Her blonde hair for one thing, but also because we were a head taller than most of our friends. πŸ˜‰ Now that she’s 6 feet tall I can only imagine how much she’s going to stand out. But she is going to do GREAT! πŸ™‚

  4. WOW! I have so many questions… Hope she has an easy move (but who am I kidding, moving is never easy). That is so exciting and interesting!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  5. Awww how awesome! I actually moved to Virginia (from Ohio) because my brother moved their first and I wanted to be closer to him! πŸ™‚

  6. Aww, this post is SO sweet. I know what you mean about siblings growing up but still being “little” in your eyes. Yes. Yes. Yes! Best of luck to your sister as she goes to her old home in China! From what you’ve said about her in blog posts, it’s pretty clear she will be successful and do wonderful!

  7. OH my goodness, how exciting! My husband and I would love to go back to China one day–jealous! Is she going for just a year and then coming back, or does she plan to stay for multiple years? (I can’t remember how those work visas work–they can be confusing.) This is completely none of my business, but what about her boyfriend? Is he going too, or is he staying here??

    • I hear you! I want to go back to visit too! πŸ™‚ She’s committed to 6 months for now, but she’ll decide this fall if she wants to stay through the Spring semester as well. It’s a long story, but she has a lot to think through and pray about right now. The boyfriend is staying in Dallas. πŸ™‚

  8. What a great collection of photos you have with your sister πŸ™‚ I wish her lots of luck with her new job—I’m sure she’s gonna be awesome! Teaching abroad is such a great experience. I taught English in Spain for one year and it was easily one of the best years of my life!

    In my family, I’m the sibling that lives far away!

  9. Hey–this kinda reminds me of me a bit–once you live in Asia as a teen….I think the pull to come back is pretty strong! Last summer my siblings and I were split up between three continents when my little sister lived in Israel for 3 months (2 of us were in Michigan and the other 4 in Malaysia)–I definitely miss being near siblings–but yes, they are all my “little” siblings even though I’m currently 4th shortest out of 7 and the two youngest haven’t even reached the preteen/teen growth spurt….

    • Oh wow! I didn’t realize how much of your family still lived in Asia! I can see another reason why the pull to go back was so strong. πŸ™‚ My oldest sister has lived in Europe (Prague and London, but mostly Prague) for the past 10 years and Abby (the sister who is in China now) has also spent time in Mozambique and Israel. So I consider my siblings who live less than 8 hours away to practically be my next door neighbors. πŸ˜‰ Sometimes I wish we would all live closer together, but when you grow up in a family that travels, it’s no surprise that the kids end up spread out. πŸ™‚

  10. So sweet! Maybe you’ll be able to get over there to visit soon with Christopher?! Are your parents still over there?

    • Yes! I would love to go over to visit! Depending on how long she’s there will really play a big part on if we get to visit her there. Christopher still hasn’t been and he really wants to experience it! πŸ™‚

      My parents are currently there (they go 2-4 times a year for anywhere from a week to a month), but they’ll be back to the States in a couple of weeks. πŸ™‚

  11. oh my gosh I can only imagine how hard this must be…my brother is my best friend ever, we actually live together, and being separated by continents would devastate me! But it gives you a good excuse to visit China!!

    • Aww, I love how close you are with your brother!! Sometimes I wish my siblings all lived close together (or at least on the same continent, haha! My oldest sister lives in Europe so we are pretty spread out). But such is life, I suppose. I think it’s so great that you get to live with your brother!

  12. WOW, what an adventure!! This is very exciting, and look at it this way..you now have a reason to go visit!

  13. Aww! Safe travels to your sister! I am a little jealous, actually! Even though I was only in Asia for a short period of time, I definitely left a piece of my heart in China! πŸ™‚

  14. Pingback: Wed The Red Heads |

  15. Y’all are both so beautiful.

  16. How cool that you both lived in China! I’d love to visit China some day. Best of luck to your sister!

  17. Ah, so fun for your sister!! What an awesome opportunity. Those pictures of you two are so sweet. And I totally get your little sister always being “little” to you. My sister will always be little too, even though she’s taller and debatably more mature. Haha.

  18. Pingback: Welcome back, little sister! |

  19. Pingback: Chinatown! |

Leave a Reply

