Wed The Red Heads

So yesterday I shared with you about my little sister moving to China… today I will share with you about my little cousin getting married. Again, keep in mind “little” does not necessarily mean that this person is smaller than me. Because regardless of my proud five feet and eight inches of height… I don’t come close toΒ my towering cousins. But that’s beside the point.Β πŸ˜‰

rach and max collageUs at Easter in 1994, us in 1991 just after he was born, and us in 2008 at my wedding. Could he be any cuter in that Easter shot? Suspenders and a bowtie before it was “trendy/hipster” to wear them. πŸ™‚

max and laura get marriedMax and Laura getting married!Β It’s hard to tell with this poor quality, but they are both gorgeous red-heads! Laura’s hashtag since they got engaged has been #wedtheredheads which I think is pretty adorable. πŸ™‚

It poured rain just before the ceremony, but held off for the most part long enough for them to say their “I do’s.” It drizzled here and there which is why I definitely left my DSLR in the car and used a phone for photos instead. It was a beautiful ceremony, though. I loved that they included the words “I choose you as my one and only” in their vows. πŸ™‚

whole familyThe family minus my cousin Nick’s wife (Kelsey) who was off tending to bridesmaid duties when this spontaneous shot was taken. I just cannot believe that my little Maxie is old enough to be married (which is funny because he’s older now than I was when I got married, ha!).

family picsAnd then my sisters Holly (striped dress), Abby (white), and I with our dad, mom, and grandfather. Makenzie (Holly’s daughter) also made a couple of cameos. πŸ™‚ {missing my oldest sister and brother}

Hands down, my favorite part of the night was when the dancing began. Christopher took a video of just us girls dancing at one point, but don’t be fooled! We were all out there (including my 87 year old grandfather who was probably the best dancer of us all!). We laughed so much and it was fabulous. I will remember this night always. But for your viewing pleasure (and to prove that you don’t have to be a good dancer to have fun)… here’s myself, my sisters, my mom, my aunt, and my nieceΒ dancing in a circle while we each take turns dancing in the middle. πŸ™‚

Ps. did you watch until the end to see my reaction to a song I like? I had no idea Christopher was videoing any of this so that’s apparently my totally normal reaction when a song I like comes on. Christopher said I do that pretty much every time (even in the car when a song I like comes on the radio), haha!

christopher and rachChristopher and I danced a couple of songs together, but nearly every one of them (even the slow romantic ones) were interrupted by our niece who decided she too needed to dance with us, haha! At one point, I stepped back and let her have her Uncle Kistopher all to herself and someone got this sweet shot of them:

christopher and kenzie danceThere are so many things that I love about my husband. I talk a lot about how much fun we have together and how much we laugh together. But something else I really love about him is his gentleness. Kids love him for it. And it melts my heart watching him dance not only just with Makenzie as you see in the photo above, but also with ourΒ nephew Wesley who was too shy to come out onto the dance floor. So Christopher went to him and danced with himΒ on the sidelines so he too could feel included. #meltmyheart #suchagoodman #isitweirdtousehashtagsinablogpost? πŸ˜›

-When you are at a wedding with dancing, are you likely to be out there in the midst of it or sitting back and taking it in?
-Do you have a favorite memory of a fun time with your family?
Love Rach

25 responses to “Wed The Red Heads

  1. I adore the Easter picture. Your cousin looks so dapper. What a beautiful wedding and time with family. I love the dancing video too!! And my reaction is the same when a song I like comes on – “my favorite song!!”

    • I wasn’t done!! I think it was really sweet that Christopher went to dance with little Wesley so he was included too and didn’t have to go outside his comfort zone. #youmarriedawinner #hashtagsforthewin

      • I just loved when he did that! Wesley loves his uncle Christopher so much and I love to see the two of them together. Also, so glad you are pro all the hashtags! I’ve found myself using them in text messages lately which is probably a bit much, haha!

    • ​I know! I hope my aunt still has that outfit somewhere because if I ever have a son, he will definitely wear an outfit like that at some point in his life! πŸ™‚

      Glad I’m not the only one who gets so excited about great songs coming on! :)​ When I saw the video I was like “oh my goodness, do I always squeal like that?” and Christopher says, “um… yeah, pretty much always…” What can I say? I get excited over good music!

  2. one of my bestfriends is a redhead and she married a redhead!
    AND OH MY GOODNESS christopher is so sweet dancing with the little girl! πŸ™‚

  3. Dannii @ Hungry Healthy Happy

    What cute wedding photos.

  4. “ILOVETHISSONG” totally guilty of doing that too! haaah. I adore this post, so much love and I ADORE Christopher omggg you got lucky with this guy my friend!

    • Hahaha! Thanks for being there with me. I just get so excited when I song I like comes on! And I hadn’t heard “Home” in ages! πŸ™‚ And yeah, Christopher is definitely a good one. I am super thankful for him. πŸ™‚

  5. I LOVE her wedding dress. So beautiful! You have a good looking family. And that dancing picture…so sweet. πŸ™‚

    • Can you believe that dress didn’t cost her anything?! A relative (maybe her mom? I can’t remember for sure) found it in a giveaway pile somewhere! And then another family member did the altering to it. So that gorgeous dress was free to her! So cool!

  6. one of my sisters is a red head and i’m forever on the quest to stop her from dyeing it! my other sister is blonde!

  7. Pingback: Athens of the South |

  8. hahaha…your reaction is just like that for the songs you love!!! πŸ™‚

  9. How cute! They have some red-headed children in their future, I’m sure. πŸ™‚ It looks like you guys had a lot of fun. I wouldn’t have thought of using a hashtag for a wedding–but I’m always the last to jump on board those kinds of trends. Is it just for fun, or is there a practical purpose behind it (like does it help them look up posts and photos related to their wedding)?

    • I know a lot of people request that guests use the hashtag specifically so they can click on it and see everyone’s photos from their wedding. Max and Laura didn’t do that, but since I knew she’d been using the hashtag I wanted to join in the fun at least for a blog title. πŸ˜‰ And yes! Definitely some red-headed babies in the future! That was totally mentioned by her dad during a blessing he said during the ceremony, haha!

  10. #wedtheredheads – so cute! laura looks like such a sweetheart, and you got the most precious photographs as this wedding. so lovely!

  11. So cute!! What a gorgeous bride–love her dress!

  12. What a cute couple! I LOVE her dress. And your dancing is so fabulous. I’m once again convinced that we’re essentially the same person haha.

Leave a Reply

