Fix It And Finish It!

Back in May Christopher heard about this TV show called Fix It & Finish It that was coming to Memphis. They renovate entire rooms/spaces in ONE DAY just to give back to communities. We applied for it and then didn’t hear anything back and promptly forgot about it. Mid July we got a call one night letting us know that our application had been chosen as one they were really interested in. Over the next 6 weeks we went through round after round of meetings with design teams, builders, and producers. And every time we passed through to the next round. A week ago a film crew showed up to our house and filmed a “pre-interview” with us. They told us that they would either show up between 6am-8am on Thursday (yesterday) or that we’d get a call saying they weren’t coming.ย Well what do you know… yesterday right around 7am… there’s a knock on the door! And it was Antonio Sabato Jr.

us with antonio sabato jrWe weren’t sure what to expect from someone as famous as Antonio, but one of the first questions he asked me was about the cross around my neck. He was friendly and personable off camera as well as on. He cared about us. He got invested in our story and who we are. We talked so much about faith and our mutual love for Jesus. And it was just not at all what we would’ve expected coming from someone out of Hollywood. But as Antonio said, “I don’t work for Holly, I work for Jesus.”

antonio's pic of our kitchenAlso… no big deal or anything, but Antonio took a picture in our kitchen and tweeted it, Instagramed it, and put it on Facebook! Hundreds of people from around the world liked that photo on all those social media sites! It just blew me away!

fix it and finish it showed upAnd then the cavalry arrived… our entire cove filled up and all the way down our street! Thankfully our neighbors were all really excited for us and were really sweet about all of this taking over our neighborhood. We had lots of friends and neighbors come by and meet the crew and just see the fun!

film set upOur living room became film crew central. That’s Scott (or Scooter as Joe the camera guy calls him which means naturally Christopher started calling him that too) checking out the equipment. ย We spent so much time getting to know the crew of the show that we actually began to feel like friends with them. They literally come from all over and theyย all had such cool stories!

camera equipmentLook! Our NAME is on camera equipment!!

christopher fix it and finish itSpeaking of our name on stuff… OUR NAME WAS ON ONE OF THESE!! How cool is that? We felt like little minor celebrities, haha!

fix it and finish it micThe fact that we were mic’d up all day definitely added to the minor celebrity feeling, haha! We kept forgetting that we had mics on and every now and then we’d whisper something to each other and one of the sound guys would either start laughing or roll their eyes at how cheesy we were. We kept forgetting that everything we said went right into their ears even if it was whispered. ๐Ÿ˜‰

tv crewAnd of course… we spent a lot of time on camera as well. Thatย definitelyย adds to the celebrity feeling, ha!

We can’t share any photos of the process or the room until after the episode airs which may be a couple of months, but you can definitely keep up with the show and what they’re doing by following them on Facebookย or check out the Fix It and Finish It website with air dates! ๐Ÿ™‚

Christopher and I are still so overwhelmed and just completely humbled by everything that has happened. We are most definitely not deserving of any of this, but we are so very grateful. I still can’t believe that yesterday actually happened, haha! Sam (the video guy) is coming back out in just a little bit this morning to film the “afters” of the roomย (so it will have the same morning light as the “befores” for the show). I’m excited to see him again. Last night was so sad as we hugged everyone goodbye for the last time. The Fix It & Finish It familyย were SUCH a blessing to us. And we are thankful. ๐Ÿ™‚
Love Rach

44 responses to “Fix It And Finish It!

  1. This is TOO cool. I loved all your photos on FB, and I can’t wait to see your episode. You must share when it will be on TV! Congratulation to you guys and your new room!

    • I was so excited to *finally *be able to share all of this! I will definitely let you know when the episode is supposed to air so you can see how terrible I am on camera, haha! Seriously, don’t make fun of me too much. ๐Ÿ˜› โ€‹

  2. This is THE coolest thing ever! And I’m not just saying that because I’m addicted to HGTV and DIY Network (but I AM addicted). I’m guessing you guys chose to finish that bonus room that you’ve been working on for years…the one where you just stained the concrete floor? I’m SO EXCITED to see your episode when it airs, and in the meantime watch all of the other episodes! On Aug 29, 2014 10:46 AM, “WordPress.com” wrote:

    > Rach @ This Italian Family posted: “Back in May Christopher heard > about this TV show called Fix It & Finish It that was coming to Memphis. > They renovate entire rooms/spaces in ONE DAY just to give back to > communities. We applied for it and then didn’t hear anything back and > promptly for”

    • YES! That’s the room they re-did! And it looks AH-MAZING! I really like tv renovation shows too! We don’t have cable, but when we have access to HGTV (either at a hotel or when we’re at Christopher’s parents’ house) we are always watching whatever is on, haha! I hope you like Fix It & Finish It! I know some of the families they have helped have some pretty cool stories. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Thats amazing!!!! I can’t wait to see it!!! That’s super cool that Antonio wasn’t afraid to talk about God and religion! What an awesome guy ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. This is amazing!! What an awesome opportunity. I can’t wait to see the finished room… what channel is this show on? I’ve never heard of it, but I’d love to watch it!

  5. Wow! This is so awesome! You two are such celebs! I remember when you were in a commercial, too. That was so neat, haha. I made Jimmy watch and and I was like “LOOK! MY BLOG FRIEND!!!” lol.

    I think it’s so cool that someone from Hollywood shares your love for Christ! I bet that was definitely unexpected, but so, so awesome!

  6. This is soooo cool!!! I saw your posts about it yesterday and couldn’t wait to read ALL about it on your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m sure you’re super excited that back room is finished now.

  7. Ahhh!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ What an exciting time!!! You’ll have to let us know when it’s airing so all your blogging friends can watch it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. This is SO neat, Rach!!!!!!! How fun!!! Will it air here..?? Casey and I will have to watch it together and reminiscence about the time y’all came down here!!!!! :))) How exciting!!

  9. I am beyond excited for you guys. What an awesome experience! I love that you connected with the crew and had so much fun.

  10. Y’all are famous!!! Who wouldn’t choose y’all for a tv show! Y’all are beautiful people through and through! I miss you both!

  11. What a cool experience!! Something you can look back on for years! Can’t wait to see the finish product—how exciting!! xx

  12. How awesome is this!!! I bet your episode is going to be great. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. OMG! This is AMAZING! I’ll keep an eye out for your episode for sure!

  14. This is just SO exciting! I need to check online to find out if it airs up here. I’m not sure that it does, as I had never heard of the show. But I REALLY hope we get to watch it!!!!

    • It premieres next week so that might be why you haven’t heard of it before! It’ll be on local stations, but it’s broadcast all over the States in different places. I’m not sure if one of the broadcast spots are close to you or not (check here: http://www.fixitandfinish.com/tune-in). If not, it’s possible that it might air online so hopefully you can see it either way. Just don’t laugh at how awkward we are on camera, haha!

  15. โ€œI donโ€™t work for Holly, I work for Jesus.โ€ – sigh, what a good man! and how cool is it that you got chosen? the whole thing sounds like so much fun, and i’m excited to see the revision/process!

  16. Umm woah!! Way cool! What an awesome experience for you guys, and I can’t wait to see the before and after of the room when you can share it!

  17. i feel like i have a minor heart attack every time i read anything related to this for y’all! hahhah just so full of excitement.
    and i love what antonio said “i don’t work for holly, i work for Jesus” that mane has it together!

  18. Pingback: A humbling experience |

  19. I’m so glad that you guys got chosen for this!!! What an exciting day. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I can’t wait to see what was accomplished!

    I love that Christopher started called Scott “Scooter” too and that you shared the bit about what it’s like wearing mics all day and being overheard.

    What an experience!!!

  20. Pingback: Well… we were on TV today… |

  21. Pingback: Behind the Scenes Look at Filming a TV Show (Fix It & Finish It) |

  22. Pingback: Bricks in the Wall {Fix It & Finish It} |

  23. I love this!!! What a cool experience.

Leave a Reply

