Mallory’s First Day of “School”

Yesterday was Mallory’s first day of Mother’s Day Out for this year. She goes two days a week for a couple of hours to give her a regular opportunity to socialize and to get her ready for the idea of “real school.” And with the idea of getting ready for school comes “first day of school” pictures and a giant backpack. πŸ™‚

malloryWhen did she get so big?! She’s still only 27 months old! Okay, I guess I shouldn’t really be counting in months past the age of two, but still. πŸ˜› She is just growing up so fast on me.

malloryLook how HUGE that backpack is on her! For the record… I totally carry it for her, but she wanted to try it on for size and I thought it was pretty adorable. πŸ˜‰

malloryThis sweet little ladyΒ is ready to go to school!

Her teacher asked me yesterday how long I had been keeping her and it amazed me to tell her that I’ve been with Mallory since she was 6 weeks old. I mean, IΒ know that, but it’s crazy when I think about it in relation to the fact that she’s 2 now. Walking, talking, and a little personality of her own. Growing up way too quickly, but also just right at the same time. πŸ™‚
Love Rach

 

 

30 responses to “Mallory’s First Day of “School”

  1. Oh my goodness! She is so cute!

  2. It’s funny how things hit you a certain way at times after you say them out loud!! Adorable photos, yay for first day of school!

    • I know, right?! I actually fell apart over something earlier this year that I’d known about for awhile, but when I was telling my sister about it, I just lost it. Christopher’s theory was that me actually saying it out loud to someone other than him made it more real. It’s crazy how things hit you after you say them out loud sometimes!

  3. She is toooooo precious with that backpack. What a cutie! Was she excited for school?

    • Weeeell… she was excited about “school” because we kept talking about it in peppy tones. But she didn’t really know that “school” meant that when she arrived, I would leave. Poor girl. She wasn’t thrilled with that. Her teachers said yesterday she is adjusting a little better now. Hopefully she’ll get in a groove soon. πŸ™‚

  4. Oh my goodness, her wearing that backpack is just too cute!!!! πŸ™‚

  5. I LOVE seeing children with large backpacks it is just so dang adorable!

  6. You’ve been with her for a long time!! That’s so great. I know they love you. And I LOVE little people with big book bags.!

    • It has been a long time! I met a lady yesterday who has been a nanny for the same family for 12 years and it made me emotional just thinking about how cool that must be to literally get to be a part of those kids’ daily lives for over a decade. Also it made my two years with Mallory & Will seem like a blink, haha! And girl, I’m with you! I love little people with giant backpacks! πŸ™‚ ​

  7. Gosh, I didn’t realize that it’s been two years since you quit your job and started being a nanny to Mallory and Will. That did fly by fast! She looks so adorable! πŸ™‚ As a side note, my dad already bought this nice backpack that he says he wants to give Jake when he starts school, and I was like, “Dad, that giant backpack won’t fit on him until he’s like 12 years old!” It’s so funny to see a little LITTLE kid with a big backpack!

    • I know, right?! The time has fled by! I don’t regret my decision or miss that old job one tiny little bit. This has been the best move for me and I am so thankful!

      Also, hilarious about the backpack! Parents become so funny when they become grandparents! πŸ˜‰

  8. That pic of her carrying the backpack is just too priceless!!! Absolutely adorable! πŸ™‚

  9. Wow, I had no idea you’ve been watching Mallory since she was six weeks old! That’s amazing! She looks too cute in these pictures!

    • Yup! In fact, her parents interviewed me and offered me the job in January and she wasn’t born until June. I officially started with them in August after their mom’s maternity leave ended. It gave me plenty of time to look forward to quitting my desk job and move to something I knew I’d love. And I was right! Nannying has been such a great move for me. πŸ™‚

  10. Oh my goodness how cute!!! She’s adorable!

  11. The backpack pictures are adorable!

  12. How cute!!! I remember when first days of school were a really big deal! My brother and I used to always get a new custom-made graphic tshirt for it. Weird tradition – but we had the sassiest t’s!

  13. Sweet little Malory. She steals my heart everytime!!!

  14. Oh goodness, these pictures are adorable! The giant backpack on her…melts my heart. I love how you’ve been able to watch her grow up for literally her whole life πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

