A humbling experience

As you guys know, the tv show Fix It & Finish It was at our house last week renovating a room for us and filming the process. However, the week before that they had actually previously shown up with a smaller film crew to film our “pre-interview”. You know, that beginning part of those renovation shows where the couple talk about  who they are and why they need the renovation and all of that. They told us after that first interview that it still didn’t mean we had officially been chosen, but if we were chosen, it would help filming on the big day go much more quickly.

videoing3{Sam, the camera guy, sent me this photo of us from that pre-interview later}

We were nervous and so awkward on camera. They kept telling us that we were doing great, but believe me – we are not pros at being filmed. I mean, it’s one thing when it’s just the two of us making a little mini documentary about our travels or when we renovated our house. But to have a bunch of people standing around and watching you… awwwkward! Plus unlike when we film something for ourselves, we can’t edit out the parts we don’t like. So yeah, no making fun of us when you hear how awkward we sound on camera. 😉

They asked us a series of questions about ourselves and the room. Who we are, what we do, why haven’t we finished this room out ourselves. We shared about our volunteer work and how we are involved in the community and how that leaves very little time to work on home projects. We talked about how having this room finished out would make a huge difference to us for so many reasons. It would alleviate the stress of “when are we going to get around to it” and it would finally give us a place for all of our office stuff to go so that the room next to ours (which is currently an office) can someday be a nursery (ahem, no announcement at this time – remember that we started working on this space way back in October of last year and just hadn’t finished it out, haha!).

But then came the kicker. The interviewer asked us “tell me why you deserve this renovation.” This was truly a question that stumped us both. We both just stopped and looked at each other and were hit with the realization that we don’t deserve this one little bit. That there are countless others in Memphis who need a renovation like this so much more than we do. And there are countless others in Memphis who do more for our community than we do. So we told them that. On camera, we actually told them that we didn’t deserve this at all. And that we could name others here in Memphis who needed something like this more than we did.

Lauren, the associate producer looked at the Sam, the camera guy and they were both speechless. They said that no one has ever said that they don’t deserve the renovation. But for us in our situation, we just didn’t know how we could say that we were deserving of it. Yes, it would help us so much and yes, it would be such a blessing. But we don’t deserve it. We never could answer that question. After the film crew left that day, Christopher and I talked about how they probably wouldn’t choose us at this point. I mean, who wants to choose the couple who can’t even tell you why they deserve something like this?

Fix It & Finish It does, that’s who. 🙂

The Thursday that they showed up with a film crew, a construction crew, and a design crew was so overwhelming for us. They let us help out a little bit, but for the most part they had us sit back and hang out while they served us. We have worked on so many home projects for both our own home and for so many other people, but we have never before sat back and watched someone else work on our home to bless us. It was the strangest thing.

When we walked in for the big reveal later that day, we were totally overwhelmed and completely humbled. They did this for US. As a blessing. A gift. When the episode airs later this year you guys will see everything that they put in that room – all of it was a gift to us. I didn’t expect to cry when I walked in the room because while I am definitely a cryer – it’s usually when there is emotional music playing or when I see someone else crying. So yeah, I didn’t expect the tears that welled up in my eyes when I saw the room. But it really was just so overwhelming that they chose us to bless with all of this.  And we were so thankful. I look forward to sharing the whole process with you guys after the episode airs! 🙂

I know this was a wordy post, but we are just now working through our feelings from everything last week. Thanks for hanging with me, friends. 🙂
Love Rach

50 responses to “A humbling experience

  1. This is amazing and it sounds like you did deserve this even though you said you didn’t 🙂 I cannot wait to watch your episode!

  2. I love this post and I love your answer to the question. And believe me, I think 99% of us don’t look natural on camera!

  3. oh rachel, your big huge heart is so beautiful ❤ love your response, and cannot wait to see this episode L(

  4. I love that you were completely honest and said well now that you mention it…others deserve this more than we do. That is so awesome and I’m sure that they really liked how humble you were – that’s great, heart-warming TV. 🙂 I’m excited for the episode!

  5. You guys are so sweet! I’m so glad that they chose you for a renovation project…I can’t wait to see how it turned out!

  6. Aw I can’t wait until the show airs! Did they give yall a date it would be on? They were talking about this show on the news yesterday actually. They redid a room for the widow of the contractor who was killed in Memphis last year. I wonder how many in Memphis they chose for this.

    • No, we don’t have an air date yet. They said it would probably be between now and December. So we’ll see! And yeah! I saw that news article too! I’m so glad they chose her! Stories like hers were exactly why we told them that we didn’t actually deserve this renovation. But we are definitely so grateful for all they did for us. 🙂

  7. that would have been my response as well…i look at a lot of the things i’ve had at life and often find myself thinking “i totally don’t deserve this” and i bet y’alls honesty was incredibly refreshing and rewarding for them!
    SOOOO EXCITED to see y’alls episode!

  8. What!! that is awesome. I don’t really know you but I am so happy for you!! I can’t wait to hear more about it. Thanks for the kind words on the blog earlier too, so sweet!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

    • Haha! It’s always funny when exciting things or big changes happen for a blogger just as you begin reading their blog. You’re like “yay! That’s so great! But I just met you. But it’s still cool!” haha! I totally understand. 😉

  9. THIS IS SO AWESOME!! You are going to be on TV! This is so exciting. You have to tell me when it is on!!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  10. YAY!!!! Thats like the best thing ever. Can’t wait to watch. My sister was on a remodel show for HGTV and their redo was amazing.

  11. that is SO cool that you guys got to film an episode that show! congrats!

  12. I have a feeling I know exactly why they chose you! 🙂

    Enjoy that room and I hope you love it!

  13. Your honesty and wonderful spirits got you this renovation!! You two deserve it despite not thinking you do. I totally get what you’re saying, but sometimes even people that don’t “need” something still deserve it!

  14. You guys are so sweet! And while you may not think that you deserved it, so many other people think that you do! I didn’t mind the “wordy” post haha I loved hearing about your experience. I know I won’t be able to catch the episode, but I told my mom to watch it 🙂

    Hope you have a great weekend! xx

  15. That’s awesome!! I kindof wish I was still in Memphis so I could go to your house and see it in person!!

  16. that is SOO sweet! i can’t wait to see it!!

  17. So awesome!!! I can’t wait to see it!!!

  18. They were probably shocked by your honesty! I need to find where this show plays so I can watch your episode!!

  19. That is so awesome and I love your honesty!

  20. You and Christopher deserve this… because you’re YOU! And because – unlike many people – you didn’t feel as though you did deserve it. You’re always thinking about others. 🙂
    I don’t think the show does air here in New England. I’m SO crazy sad about that, and I really hope that episodes will be listed online. I really, REALLY want to watch it!!!!!

  21. So so awesome! I learned while filming my commercial/s that people actually seem to drawn to awkward people, so we have that going for us if you ask me. 😉 Ps definitely think the home makeover was completely deserved!

  22. I’m so glad they chose you…your answer to that question was so honest and humble…how could they not? I can’t wait to see your episode when it’s released!! 🙂

  23. Can’t wait to see it! 🙂

  24. I absolutely love your answer. Angel and I have been talking recently about how we really don’t deserve the awesome blessings we’ve been getting recently–and that’s what grace is all about, being given something you don’t deserve. That grace is some pretty powerful stuff.

  25. Pingback: Well… we were on TV today… |

  26. Pingback: Bricks in the Wall {Fix It & Finish It} |

Leave a Reply

