Donkey Basketball

For those who don’t know… there is such a thing as donkey basketball.

donkey basketballAnd that’s our friend, Jacob, playing it.

Yeah, so, apparently there’s this “sport” called donkey basketball that involves actual real-live donkeys on a basketball court. And the city of Brighton just outside Memphis celebrated it’s founder’s day this past weekend with a friendly donkey basketball tournament. A friend of ours, Jacob, teaches for the middle school there so he found himself roped into it. And it was awesome. You can’t understand donkey basketball just from the photos so here are some videos I took to help you understand:

 Naturally you still start with the national anthem as you do with most sports in the States. However at a donkey basketball game, instead of a marching band, there are kids riding donkeys. Naturally.

 And of course there is half time entertainment. Like a friendly game of “musical donkeys”… (the guy in white totally should’ve won that!)

 And there’s the game for you. It’s hilarious because basketball is such a fast paced sport normally, but there were no “fast breaks” down the court because you had to take your donkey with you and most of the time he didn’t want to go. 😉 (the very end of that video cracks me up when the donkey takes off running the wrong direction after his rider hopped on)

I was a little concerned about the donkeys being injured (I know, I know… I am so that person), but they had several people out there “reffing” the game who were really just making sure the donkeys were okay. For the most part, the donkeys took care of themselves just fine. If they decided that they were done with you being on them, they’d buck you right off. Thankfully no one was injured (other than maybe some pride, haha)! I have to tell you guys, we laughed so hard. Everything about it just looked ridiculous and it was just hilarious.

So tell me… would you play donkey basketball?
Love Rach

22 responses to “Donkey Basketball

  1. I don’t know that I’d play donkey basketball… But you can be sure that I’d get a kick out of watching it!! Ha, ha. 🙂

  2. Hilarious! That’s an entertaining game, for sure!

  3. I don’t even know what to say about this other than WHAT??!!! Most bizarre thing I have heard in a while!!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  4. Haha. My middle school teachers had a yearly donkey basketball competition with our rival middle school’s teachers and it was always so fun to attend!!! 🙂

  5. I haven’t even heard of this before, but I would totally play it. It looks hilarious.

  6. Bahaha this is crazy.

  7. That sounds like a hilarious night!!! I’m sure I would have laughed til I cried, such fun- and who comes up with this stuff?!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

  8. Okay, yeah, this is something I have never heard of in my life…never expected to hear of in my life…and it’s possibly a sport I would actually enjoy watching because of my love for the strange and unexpected…

  9. Never heard of this! Cracks me up!

  10. Oh goodness, this is so cute!! I was totally concerned about the donkeys as I was watching the videos…then I giggled when I scrolled down and read that you were too. This is so much more fun than regular basketball!! Also, the American anthem makes any event sound like the most serious thing in the world haha.

Leave a Reply

